Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile       

The time now is Mon 10 Aug 2020, 01:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
[SOLVED] wlan0, wifi0 seem to be working, but no network...
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
geodescent

Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2009, 12:23    Post subject:  

Thanks for your input. The forum link you gave was of immense help.
Given the newfound info, here is what is happening.

    Removed hostap_cs from SKIPLIST and rebooted.
    Removed encryption from my wireless AP and successfully connected and browsed after going through Puppy's network wizard.
    Re-enabled encryption and rebooted.
    Used Geany to open /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf
    Changed ssid variable to my AP (yimmy)
    Changed psk variable to my WPA password and saved file.
    Launched rxvt and issued the following (output is included)


Code:
# ifconfig wlan0 up
# rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*
# rm: cannot remove `/var/run/wpa_supplicant/*': No such file or directory
# wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D hostap -c /etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'hostap' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ap_scan=1
update_config=1
Line: 5 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=5):
       79 69 6d 6d 79                     yimmy
scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=8): [REMOVED]
proto: 0x1
key_mgmt: 0x2
pairwise: 0x8
group: 0x8
PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
Priority group 0
     id=0 ssid='yimmy'
Initializing interface (2) 'wlan0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=18 enc_capa=0xf
      capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
Added alternative ifindex 5 (wifi0) for wireless events
Own MAC address: 00:09:5b:4a:c4:c2
wpa_driver_hostap_set_wpa: enabled=1
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
Driver does not support WPA.
wpa_driver_hostap_set_key: alg=none key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_hostap_set_key: alg=none key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_hostap_set_key: alg=none key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_hostap_set_key: alg=none key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_hostap_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_hostap_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Added interface wlan0
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11043 ([UP][RUNNING][LOWER_UP])
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
State: DISCONNECTED -> SCANNING
Starting AP scan (specific SSID)
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=5):
      79 69 6d 6d 79                  yimmy
Trying to get current scan results first without requesting a new scan to speed up initial association
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BBSes)
Scan results: 0
Selecting BBS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable AP found.


wpa_supplicant then goes on to search all AP's repeatedly until I CTRL+C. It seems that the issue is with the following output:

Code:
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
Driver does not support WPA.


So I pull the card out of the PCMCIA slot and carefully study it. It is definitely a 16-bit 802.11b PCMCIA MA401 Rev.D v2.5, which according to extensive googling should support WPA, as opposed to the MA401RA version, which uses the orinoco chipset and only supports WEP.

Would it be worthwhile to try the official puppy distro instead? I can only try small distros because the DVD-ROM drive has major problems reading burned discs so typically distros larger than 200MB won't install correctly (seems the laser won't work the farther out it gets, I dunno.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geodescent

Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2009, 13:03    Post subject:  

Ah yes, here's the best part. I read on another forum that someone discovered their card was bad by trying it in different PCs. So I went ahead and plugged the card into my Dell Inspiron 600m running Windows XP and was promptly informed that the card is a MA401RA!

Thus, only WEP can be used I believe. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 1088
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Nov 2009, 23:09    Post subject: Cannot connect to network with weak signal  

Two laptops (200 and 333MHz), two wireless cards (airo pcmcia and ath_pci wireless), both identified and modules loaded, wireless scan finds several networks, I choose the strongest (signal strength 58/70), and auto DHCP assigns some irrelevant IP number (169...?). Netgear router is 192.168.0.1, in the neighbor's house and I am on her deck. Manual assignment of IP number does not let me ping her. Inside my own house I can connect to my own Netgear network (not internet-equipped) which is signal strength 70/70, and it assigns the correct IP number and I can ping or access the router via browser. The same laptops (with airo) both connect just fine on the deck with another OS (basiclinux). What is puppy doing differently that it refuses a weak connection? Can I change some setting? The connection with basiclinux and airo does cut out sometimes but is far better than dialup (on average). I can't easily post details since I cannot get online with puppy while attempting to connect on the deck but I could set up both laptops and type them in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 1088
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 15:53    Post subject: Cannot cCannot connect to network
Subject description: wrongly identified as encrypted
 

Puppy connects on the same hardware to the library network, identifed as not encrypted, with 41% signal strength (and 600K/s download speed). The neighbor's network is misidentified as encrypted when it is not (I connect to it with another OS without encryption). I cannot use it.

airo_cs and ath_pci cards work fine in here but a known good MN-520 orinoco_cs is identifed as hostp_cs and does not find a network. I manually loaded orinoco_cs and it also did not work. What next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1086s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0545s) ][ GZIP on ]