Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 10:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
4.1full install does not boot after power loss (USB related)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 11:29    Post subject:  

I guess that I can reformat the HDD and start truly fresh and in that way begin to eliminate the hardware as the source of the problem.

I am guessing that BIOS is not involved as this appears to be well after BIOS in the boot process.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stevo954

Joined: 27 Nov 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 22:31    Post subject:  

I don't know what causes this problem, but I know how to get the computer booted up again. At the prompt type startx, which will bring up the desktop, but you will not have USB or network capabilities. Go to the menu and reboot the system. At this point everything should be fine. This at least works for me, hopefully for you too. Running puppy 4.1, if that makes any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Feb 2009, 22:58    Post subject:  

Do you mean at the prompt for the Puppy boot disk or some other prompt, please?

I tried it at the Puppy prompt and got an error that such a kernel was not available - then it booted from the CD.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 00:24    Post subject:  

Replace your vmlinuz and intird.gz with the ones on the CD.

Also be sure that your Grub is pointing to the right one of these if you have several in puplet directories, and one outside of them. Look at your menu.lst carefully for typos.

Initrd.gz and vmlinuz must be the correct ones for your sfs version. Unfortunately they all have the same name.

I'm going to guess your vmlinuz is bad or wrong or not pointed to correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartCyber

Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Kenya

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 08:11    Post subject:  

Code:
#If we were not shutdown cleanly, try and recover
if [ -f /tmp/RUNNING ];then
 echo -n "(Cleaning up after unclean shutdown)" >/dev/console
 rm -f /var/log/X*
 rm -rf /tmp/*
 rm -f /var/lock/LCK*
 rm -f /var/run/*.pid
 rm -rf /root/tmp 2> /dev/null
 rm -rf /root/.thumbnails/* 2> /dev/null
fi

#create a file in tmp that should be deleted on a clean shutdown
echo 'this file is deleted during a clean shutdown' > /tmp/RUNNING


This seems to solve all my problems but one thing missing I don't see RUNNING in /tmp anyone?

SmartCyber

_________________
It is only a matterof time before you realize that am smarter than you....
Running on SmartCyber OS 4.1.2 - Full Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 12:56    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Replace your vmlinuz and intird.gz with the ones on the CD.
Also be sure that your Grub is pointing to the right one of these if you have several in puplet directories, and one outside of them. Look at your menu.lst carefully for typos.
Initrd.gz and vmlinuz must be the correct ones for your sfs version. Unfortunately they all have the same name.
I'm going to guess your vmlinuz is bad or wrong or not pointed to correctly.


OK, checked GRUB, all was well there.

Cleaned up all of the save file debris and any other non-essentials.

Verified that the operating files are all identical with the CD.

Lost of the installed non-stock apps and games and updates but the boot problem appear to be solved.

THANKS!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 13:25    Post subject:  

You're welcome edoc. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartCyber

Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Kenya

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2009, 15:07    Post subject:  

ok I took on this instead same but just outside /tmp

Code:
##############SHUTDOWN RECOVERY Add to /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit################
#If we were not shutdown cleanly, try and recover
if [ -f /RUNNING ];then
 echo -n "(Cleaning up after Unclean SHUTDOWN)" >/dev/console
 rm -f /var/log/X*
 rm -f /RUNNING
 rm -rf /tmp/*
 rm -f /var/lock/LCK*
 rm -f /var/run/*.pid
 rm -rf /root/tmp 2>/dev/null
 rm -rf /root/.thumbnails/* 2>/dev/null
fi

###################Detect Bad Shut######################
#create a file in tmp that should be deleted on a clean shutdown
if [ ! -f /RUNNING ];then
 echo 'this file is deleted during a clean shutdown' > /RUNNING
fi

Code:
###################### add to /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown#######################
rm -f /RUNNING
echo "Puppy is deleting RUNNING..." > /dev/console


Thanks


SmartCyber

_________________
It is only a matterof time before you realize that am smarter than you....
Running on SmartCyber OS 4.1.2 - Full Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bugman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 2131
Location: buffalo commons

PostPosted: Sat 28 Feb 2009, 13:12    Post subject:  

viperpiper wrote:
Code:
#If we were not shutdown cleanly, try and recover
if [ -f /tmp/RUNNING ];then
 echo -n "(Cleaning up after unclean shutdown)" >/dev/console
 rm -f /var/log/X*
 rm -rf /tmp/*
 rm -f /var/lock/LCK*
 rm -f /var/run/*.pid
 rm -rf /root/tmp 2> /dev/null
 rm -rf /root/.thumbnails/* 2> /dev/null
fi

#create a file in tmp that should be deleted on a clean shutdown
echo 'this file is deleted during a clean shutdown' > /tmp/RUNNING


PURE NICENESS!!!

[thanks]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DerakB

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jul 2009, 18:33    Post subject:  

I have tried all the tricks that you have suggested but I am still having trouble with the system "simply" restarting from an unexpected power-off. I am running a Gateway E-3400(very old) with only 128 meg of ram. I started with an USB Keyboard and a USB Mouse but this issue has caused me to use a PS2 keyboard and a USB mouse. I have set the grup to
timeout 5
Which will force the system to restart even if a usb keyboard is being used. In my case the system will reload to a command prompt but the USB will not function. I get this annoying
Waiting for modules to complete loading... usb 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 done
Which assures me that the USB is not working.

Next I enter a simple
reboot

When the computer comes up again the USB is working and all is well.

My wish is to have the USB reset and functioning without having to issue the additional "reboot" command and the boot time associated with it.

Does anyone know how to reset the "USB" to accomplish this?
Also, I noticed that if you have a USB keyboard when you do the initial boot-up the keyboard will not work to allow you to push the enter key. Do you know if there is a fix for this as well. I mentioned the Time-out adjustment in the grub but is there another way to get the job done.


I really love Puppy Linux and I will continue to use it. I really surprised how annoying this is to those of us that want to use a USB device.

Thanks Guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2009, 14:28    Post subject:  

DerakB/edoc

Hi guys, maybe this...

MU wrote:
Might be a filesystem-error.

run Puppy with the option

puppy pfix=ram

Then mount the drive that holds pup_save.2fs

Then run from a consolewindow:
e2fsck -p /mnt/hdax/pup_save.2fs

(hdax must be hda1 or so, depending where it is stored).

Since Puppy 3.02, a filesystemcheck is added again to the startup.
Mark


edoc

In your case it sounds as though the usb drivers aren't loading properly/early enough [if not corrupted and cured by Mark's suggestion]
Maybe someone knows where you could add a script to bring them, OHCI. & EHCI, up earlier

All

Re: unexpected power-off

try using an UPS Wink

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DerakB

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jul 2009, 13:44    Post subject:  

Thank you for the Response Aitch.

I have Puppy running on 6 Seperate antique computers with 128 meg of ram and from 400Mhz to 1Ghz.

I am running Version 4.2.1.

I have a variety of kids running Flash Games on them and they lock up frequently so Unclean Reboots are just a part of life.

Like I mentioned, what I would like is to be able to reset the USB and only have to power-off the unit and have it come up functional. Now I have to boot to a command prompt, then type reboot to have a functional unit.

Thanks if you have any additional thoughts.

Derak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jul 2009, 18:36    Post subject:  

Derak
2 thoughts - if possible try to upgrade the 128Mb ram, less likely to crash with any Puppy/kids use
I'd say fixing the browser/flash crashes, is probably worth a try, too

Have you tried ttuuxxx's firepup? I believe he sorted the flash/crash problem? and it runs faster, too, I can vouch for that

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=34876

Someone probably knows where/how to add a script to do a filesystem check/restore on reboot - but not me.... Sad
I also seem to remember a post about getting the usb module to load earlier, though I've seen USB keyboard/mouse problems with all sorts of OSes
Good Luck

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0829s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]