Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 06:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Problem networking Puppies
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
claude


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 13:08    Post subject:  Problem networking Puppies
Subject description: Network and bridge
 

I am looking for a solution to my problem:

Here is my home lan network:

PC1 (ip=x.y.1.20, gw=x.y.1.100
-------- -------- --------
| |---------- wireless---------| | router (ip=x.y.1.100)----> | |
-------- -------- --------
ca ble modem

PC2 (eth0+eth1=bridge (ip=x.y.1.7,gw=x.y.1.100))
-------
| |------------- eth0 -------> hub
-------------------- eth1 (wireless)
bridge (ip=x.y.1.7,gw=x.y.1.100)

PC3 (ip=x.y.1.2, gw=x.y.1.7)
-------
| |--------------eth0 -------> hub
-------

PC1 is running Puppy Dingo 4.1.1 (kernel 2.6.21.7)
PC2 is running Skinny 4.0 with bridge-utils-1.2 installed (including llc module)
PC3 is running Puppy Dingo 4.1.1 (kernel 2.6.21.7)

from PC2, I ping with success PC1, PC3 and router
from PC1 and PC3, I cannot ping PC3 , PC1 and router
for accessing internet through my router, I have to define /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward to 1 (packet forwarding on) in PC2

Any solution to be able to ping PC1 and PC3 from PC3 and PC1 and sharing files between PC1 and PC3. The shares work fine between PC1, PC3 and PC2 (samba server)

Thank you very much.

Claude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sa110_mk

Joined: 25 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 09:21    Post subject: LLC Modules
Subject description: LLC Moudles required for 4.1.2 install
 

In a posting (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36909&sid=90844f1788d0c4dda1ddbc84ed1f535e), you said you had the LLC modules installed on your Puppy Linux 4 installation. Is there any chance you can tell me where to get them from? I am looking for these for my 4.1.2. install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claude


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 11:17    Post subject: llc modules  

Hi Paul,

I sent you (through email) the llc modules you were looking for.

Best Regards.

Claude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2009, 01:50    Post subject:  

Could either of you guys send me that llc module? I've been searching everywhere and once again the puppy forum is the place to go!

Thanks

Mick

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
claude


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2009, 16:41    Post subject:  llc modules for bridge  

Hi Mick,

Here is the llc modules you were looking for. They work for kernel 2.6.21.7.

Best regards.

Claude
llc_modules2Bbrctl-bridging.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  llc_modules2Bbrctl-bridging.tar.gz 
Filesize  66.98 KB 
Downloaded  252 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2009, 18:38    Post subject:  

Thanks Claude.
Did you resolve your issue in the original post?

Mick

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
claude


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2009, 22:48    Post subject:  problem networking Puppies
Subject description: routing definition
 

Hi Mick,

Yes, the issue was solved: it was a route definition missing between my two subnets.

It was a pleasure to give you the information you were requested.

Best regards.

Claude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0490s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]