Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 04:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy Swap File Questions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
hakar

Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 04:43    Post subject:  

how to make Puppy 4.2 to use the Linux-swap partition, the partition is (512 MB) as sda2 is mounted by Puppy but unused. 'Conky System Monitor' shows on 0 !! use
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 16:59    Post subject:  

Hakar

If you have reasonably large ram it may not get used unless you are doing something intensive, like compiling or video editing,

or maybe just conky not displaying it

I have 1 Gb ram and it's split between virtual puppy 214x9 and xp, I am on here, listening to CD, browsing with several tabs open, and it's still not using swap, as shown in Htop

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 18:03    Post subject:  

Use the "free" command in a console window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3613
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 18:20    Post subject: Puppy Swap File Questions
Subject description: Swap file detection and use
 

Does Puppy "automatically" look for and know to use a SWAP partition on disk when he's running from LiveCD?
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 18:40    Post subject: Re: Puppy Swap File Questions
Subject description: Swap file detection and use
 

gcmartin wrote:
Does Puppy "automatically" look for and know to use a SWAP partition on disk when he's running from LiveCD?


Yes

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hakar

Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 03:52    Post subject:  

Aitch,
my machine is a Pentium II 350 MHz owerklock 392 MHz, 131 MB of RAM only Crying or Very sad .
PaulBx1 - big thanks, but there's nothing like the console, Puppy started using the SWAP partition, instead of using the command swapon -a / dev/sda3 Exclamation , But reluctant to use it (488kB) - Puppy is great Very Happy - now all about
Conki shows the use of swaps in the subtitles is not a bar graphic.

Thanks again for your prompt assistance and interest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 23:08    Post subject:  

hakar,

can you post the result of menu/system/xproc/memory?

and in gparted, does the swap partition show as FS type 82?

Is not using the swap partition actually causing a problem, or is this a conky thing??

If it IS a swap thing, you could try a swapfile, to test it

You can use a regular file in an ordinary partition. All you have to do is create a file of the size you want

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/var/pupswap,swp bs=1024 count=131072
and activate it
mkswap -f /var/pupswap.swp
swapon /var/pupswap.swp


This invocation creates a file called pupswap.swp in /var.
It is 128 Mb long (128 x 1024 = 131072). Initially, it is filled with zeros. However, mkswap marks it as swap space and swapon tells the kernel to start using it as swap space.
When you are done with it,
Code:
swapoff /var/pupswap.swp
rm /var/pupswap.swp


I believe that should work, though I haven't tried it, as I'm using virtual puppy and don't need it
I used /var as I'm not sure of your install type
- it maybe should be root...?

Better yet, see Bruce B's method here, as there seems some doubt about it, and whether puppy will create it

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36856

good luck

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hakar

Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 21 Oct 2009, 02:40    Post subject:  

Aitch thanks Wink
You're right in a previous post. The puppy is doing well from memory. SWAP is used only as really needed. Conky good, but how little Puppy uses SWAP is not visible in a graphical bar Embarassed . I ran many programs (browser, java, convert mp3, photo viewer) Puppy benefited from SWAP (4%), John M. knew what he was doing, and I will not Puppy be corrected on this.

Yours and thanks for the quick response
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 17:23    Post subject: How to move the swap partition?  

I want to change the position of the swap partition. Under a puppy live-cd the gparted refuses to swapoff the partition.

In which way is it possible to swapoff this partition? Booting with pfix=ram was no solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 17:45    Post subject:  

With the swapoff command
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 17:47    Post subject:  

swapoff is rejected with error code.

I managed it with another noname linux rescue cd. There swapoff was possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0588s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]