mtPaint development

What features/apps/bugfixes needed in a future Puppy
Message
Author
wjaguar
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed 21 Jun 2006, 14:16

#76 Post by wjaguar »

big_bass wrote:A suggestion compile a slackware package
and or re post how you want it compiled correctly I'll happily compile it on slackware
since the new woof format allows for slackware.tgz
I have precompiled Slackware packages of mtPaint 3.30 on Sourceforge (naturally, since I'm running Slackware myself). But compiling mtPaint properly isn't hard to do - "./configure --prefix=/usr intl release" should be proper settings for Puppy (omit "intl" if you don't need internationalized version). The "release" switch does several things - it enables select optimizations which really do improve speed, tells linker not to add unneeded dependencies, and disables debug code GTK+ would otherwise add. Overall, this makes the executable smaller, faster, and more portable. The target architecture is chosen to be i386, because later architectures just increase the binary size without any noticeable improvement in performance.
I can quickly make it a pet and upload it to puppylinux.ca
and I include the docs since they are usually small anyway
If you can do this once I released version 3.31, it'll be greatly appreciated.

BTW, mtPaint 3.31 prerelease version source is here: http://mtpaint.sourceforge.net/temp/mtp ... 05.tar.bz2
UPDATED just patched and recompiled but the background was still black on the start up screen
Should not happen. Maybe the patch hadn't applied correctly? It needs to be applied from within the "src" subdirectory, or it won't find the file to patch.

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#77 Post by big_bass »

wjaguar
If you can do this once I released version 3.31, it'll be greatly appreciated.

I'll stick to the plan and leave it all original it compiled perfectly
without the patch * I will not add the patch to the official package that's your call *and yes you were correct the final mtpaint.bin was smaller
using your configure options 8)


and when 3.31 comes out I'll upload the pet :D

big_bass

amigo
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 06:52

#78 Post by amigo »

wjaguar, thanks for the tip about the configuration options. I keep pretty up-to-date with mtapint and sometimes make packages available on my site, so it is good to have the heads-up from you on the options. I'll upload again soon and will put up a version with the patch as well. My site is full of 'example' builds of software which is packaged with my 'src2pkg' program, so the sources, patches and build scripts are always right there with any package.

User avatar
synth
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed 18 Mar 2009, 17:51

#79 Post by synth »

There's a problem with the screenshot capture of mtPaint 3.30 / Puppy 4.2.

Bug reported by panzerpuppy:
When capturing a desktop screenshot with mtPaint, the process doesn't terminate after closing the mtPaint window.
You'll have to end it manually with Pprocess.

wjaguar
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed 21 Jun 2006, 14:16

#80 Post by wjaguar »

synth wrote:There's a problem with the screenshot capture of mtPaint 3.30 / Puppy 4.2.
Unless a step-by-step procedure of reproducing the problem is given, I can only answer thusly: "There aren't any problems with the screenshot capture of mtPaint (any version) / Slackware 12.1" ;-)

User avatar
Dougal
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 13:06
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

#81 Post by Dougal »

Maybe it's something to do with the fact that it is run by a shell-wrapper (which gives a dialog telling you you have 10 seconds, then runs mtpaint).
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

wjaguar
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed 21 Jun 2006, 14:16

#82 Post by wjaguar »

Dougal wrote:Maybe it's something to do with the fact that it is run by a shell-wrapper
Naturally, it is - but in which way precisely?
Without seeing the wrapper script itself, and the output of 'ps aux' with said problem present, it is useless even to guess.

User avatar
Dougal
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 13:06
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

#83 Post by Dougal »

wjaguar wrote:Naturally, it is - but in which way precisely?
I meant it's probably the shell-wrapper that's responsible.
I don't know if they changed it in 4.20, but it used to be an xmessage with a 8 sec. timeout running in the background, then sleep 10, then "exec mtpaint -s".
Could be the xmessage doesn't terminate properly or something (maybe they changed it to gtkdialog, which is known to have a problem with processes going on if you close it from the titlebar...
The output of ps is obviously what you need... (I don't seem to have that problem with 4.12)
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

panzerpuppy
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue 02 Oct 2007, 07:39

#84 Post by panzerpuppy »

Dougal wrote:
wjaguar wrote:Naturally, it is - but in which way precisely?
I meant it's probably the shell-wrapper that's responsible.
I don't know if they changed it in 4.20, but it used to be an xmessage with a 8 sec. timeout running in the background, then sleep 10, then "exec mtpaint -s".
Could be the xmessage doesn't terminate properly or something (maybe they changed it to gtkdialog, which is known to have a problem with processes going on if you close it from the titlebar...
The output of ps is obviously what you need... (I don't seem to have that problem with 4.12)
Looks like the tcl shell script is the source of the problem,not mtPaint.

Code: Select all

tclsh /usr/bin/mtpaintsnapshot.sh
The script executes mtPaint and takes a screenshot after a specified delay.
After editing the image and closing the window,the mtPaint process ends nicely. The tcl shell script remains as an active process (isn't terminated).
After making 100 screenshots with mtPaint,you get 100 instances of the shell script running in the background,wasting precious resources.
------

User avatar
Dougal
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 13:06
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

#85 Post by Dougal »

panzerpuppy wrote:After making 100 screenshots with mtPaint,you get 100 instances of the shell script running in the background,wasting precious resources.
------
That's just grand... gotta love it when people complicate something and not do it properly.
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

wjaguar
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed 21 Jun 2006, 14:16

#86 Post by wjaguar »

Dougal wrote:That's just grand... gotta love it when people complicate something and not do it properly.
Seconded.
From curiosity, I looked at this script - and here is what is wrong with it:

The silly thing is lacking any "exit" statements!

It needs three of them - one on the "Cancel" line, instead of "$win delete", and one after each "exec mtpaint -s".

And if I can see it immediately, without writing one line of Tcl in my whole life, then I wonder what the script's author was thinking... :-(
Attachments
mtpaintsnapshot.sh.gz
Gzipped script with "exit"s added
(426 Bytes) Downloaded 874 times

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

#87 Post by WhoDo »

wjaguar wrote:
Dougal wrote:That's just grand... gotta love it when people complicate something and not do it properly.
Seconded.
From curiosity, I looked at this script - and here is what is wrong with it:
Thanks, Dmitry. I have added your fix to the Official Patches & Updates thread that is stickied at the top of Additional Software (Pups n Stuff) forum. 8)

The script developer had the right idea, in that he was offering a broader choice of options in a simpler package, but as with any community there is a wide variety of abilities and sometimes we fall victim to that. :oops: Still I'd rather have 20 such problems, quickly resolved, than miss out on one really innovative approach that makes a big difference to the usability of our little distribution. After all, that's why we are so attached to mtPaint, isn't it? :wink:
[i]Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't![/i]
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#88 Post by ttuuxxx »

Hi here's some icons I changed in the latest version
ttuuxxx
Attachments
mtpaint.jpg
(46.23 KiB) Downloaded 983 times
graphics.tar.gz
(34 KiB) Downloaded 585 times
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#89 Post by ttuuxxx »

I updated the gtk theme I did a few years back for compiling, Looks better :)
ttuuxxx
Attachments
Gtk-Icons-1.1.tar.gz
(32.04 KiB) Downloaded 348 times
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#90 Post by darkcity »

Thanks for the icons, mtpaint is one of my favourite programs 8)

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#91 Post by ASRI éducation »

ttuuxxx wrote:I updated the gtk theme I did a few years back for compiling, Looks better :)
Hello.
My brain is not performing today...
I do not understand how to use the archive Gtk-Icons-1.1.tar.gz
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#92 Post by ttuuxxx »

You need to compile the latest version and follow the instructions located in mtPaint-3.44.89-1/src/icons1/README
which reads
This directory contains icons and mouse pointers that are compiled into mtPaint. It is possible to create custom icon sets to suit personal taste. For example in order to create and build a new set try:

1) cp -r icons1 icons-new
2) Edit the icons and pointers in icons-new as required (this is where you copy the new icons to the new icons-new folder) Then
3) ./configure icons-new
4) make
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
rg66
Posts: 1158
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 05:53
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

#93 Post by rg66 »

ttuuxxx wrote:You need to compile the latest version and follow the instructions located in mtPaint-3.44.89-1/src/icons1/README
which reads
This directory contains icons and mouse pointers that are compiled into mtPaint. It is possible to create custom icon sets to suit personal taste. For example in order to create and build a new set try:

1) cp -r icons1 icons-new
2) Edit the icons and pointers in icons-new as required (this is where you copy the new icons to the new icons-new folder) Then
3) ./configure icons-new
4) make
I downloaded your icons and just dumped them over top of the originals and compiled without "icons-new" and it worked without probs.
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
[url=http://smokey01.com/rg66/]X-series repo[/url]

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#94 Post by ttuuxxx »

rg66 wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:You need to compile the latest version and follow the instructions located in mtPaint-3.44.89-1/src/icons1/README
which reads
This directory contains icons and mouse pointers that are compiled into mtPaint. It is possible to create custom icon sets to suit personal taste. For example in order to create and build a new set try:

1) cp -r icons1 icons-new
2) Edit the icons and pointers in icons-new as required (this is where you copy the new icons to the new icons-new folder) Then
3) ./configure icons-new
4) make
I downloaded your icons and just dumped them over top of the originals and compiled without "icons-new" and it worked without probs.
Cool glad they worked, It took a lot of effort to get them looking that well. The format he uses doesn't display shadows/transparent images. Basically full pixel colour.
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
rg66
Posts: 1158
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 05:53
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

#95 Post by rg66 »

ttuuxxx wrote: Cool glad they worked, It took a lot of effort to get them looking that well. ttuuxxx
Sorry, I forgot to say thanks for the icons. They look much better, appreciate the effort.
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
[url=http://smokey01.com/rg66/]X-series repo[/url]

Post Reply