(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Sep 2020, 18:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Firefox for multi users
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
stevoomba


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 78
Location: Rye Park NSW

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 18:17    Post subject:  Firefox for multi users
Subject description: Setting up your desktop so firefox acts differently for different household members
 

I wanted to set Puppy up so that when my girlfriend switches on the pc before making her breakfast it will boot into Firefox and have the weather and 9 funny photo sites set as home pages and all loaded by the time she sits down. However, I didn't want the Firefox desktop launcher to load all those home pages every time someone else wants to launch Firefox later in the day.

I've had an icon for my own page with tetris and all my own links for a while because the actual page is on my hard drive, but for other people it was harder - so I made a page called "startpage.html" with linked screenshots for 9 common sites that we (there are 4 of us) commonly go to. It loads fast because it doesn't have to get any content from the web except our gmail accounts and forecastfox. It's just marked "Firefox" on the desktop so everyone thinks they're just launching the browser rather than some odd page they don't understand.

You can make several of these pages if you want different ones for different members of the household.

My version of it looks like this:


Here's a genericised copy of the code:
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
    <title>Startpage</title>
    <link rel="Shortcut Icon" type="image/ico" href="pic.ico.png" />
</head>
<body>
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
<a href="http://www.link.com"><img src="pic.png" />
</body>
</html>


Save it as startpage.html or whatever you like. Just load up all the pages and take screenshots of them, and in Mtpaint select "resize canvas" and change them to 300x175 (for a 1024x768 screen res) so it shows the top right corner where most page logos are. Save them in the same folder as the startpage.html page, plus a favicon ("pic.ico.png") if you want. I haven't bothered about style or css as the page looks okay as is. Don't forget to re-code the links!

Maybe I'm a fuss-pot for bothering to do this, but it solves an issue for my particular household and makes life a teensy bit easier for us, so I thought I'd share it in case anyone else is needing a similar solution...

Cheers,
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
E2001


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu 18 Dec 2008, 12:53    Post subject:  

Great Idea! I used to setup my Windows Internet Exploder homepage in a similar way, back in my pre-firefox days. But since I don't have to worry about multi-user homepages, I just use this:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4810

Should make the Opera fans happy. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stevoomba


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 78
Location: Rye Park NSW

PostPosted: Thu 18 Dec 2008, 17:06    Post subject:  

I've tried Speed dial and I think there have been others like it before. The 2 things that don't suit about them are that it needs to be set as the home page, but I've got about 10 home pages that load on startup, and also it loads all the pages from the web, which is slow whereas my startpage is just images stored on my hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
E2001


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri 19 Dec 2008, 18:25    Post subject:  

I don't have it set as my homepage. My homepage is Google. And it defaults to auto update thumbnails once per-day; but you can set each pages update rate however you want. Most, I set at 90 days. Doesn't interfere at all. Maybe that's a feature of later versions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
E2001


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri 19 Dec 2008, 18:31    Post subject:  

Heh... You wanna talk slow... Throw up a bunch of flash-based widgets on your iGoogle homepage, and try to load it on a Pentium III 500... THAT's sssslllllooooooowww!!! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
E2001


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 10:47    Post subject:  

stevoomba wrote:
loads all the pages from the web, which is slow


I'm afraid I have to apologize for my former assertion. I just upgraded Firefox to the latest 3.x.x.x version; and now SpeedDial is indeed much slower now than it was on 2.x.x.x. I wonder why that is?

Anyhow... you were right. I might just have to trash this plugin after all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0589s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0299s) ][ GZIP on ]