Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 19:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Unnamed pupplet (puppy411 kernel-2.6.27.5 Xorg-7.4 LXDE)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 17 [249 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 980
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Thu 18 Dec 2008, 22:43    Post subject:  

magerlab wrote:
i also tryed to boot on EEE PC( wifi is recognized but tuochpad do not work properly)

Try to copy more input drivers from
Xorg-7.4-video-input-apps-i686.sfs/usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/input to /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/input
and:
Xorg-7.4-video-input-apps-i686.sfs/usr/X11R7/bin/* to /usr/X11R7/bin

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 19 Dec 2008, 04:40    Post subject:  

This one may be of interest:
http://www.zevenos.com/
also using the LXPanel? Will try it later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Fri 19 Dec 2008, 06:10    Post subject:  

Installed Firefox with the .pet package manager: it starts only from the terminal although its icon appeared immediately in the menu (probably I should reboot, but I'm just doing a quick test now).

Changed background effortlessly, pic viewer works fine etc. -- but everything seems a little slower than with the regular Puppy; possibly lxde's fault?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 19 Dec 2008, 06:21    Post subject:  

while I am away, I will try to make a pet or sfs with icewm.
So you can get a desktop that resembles Puppys standard desktop.
Then we also can compare the speed, too.
One thing to speed things up:
deactivate xcompmgr in the openbox configuration.
That is the tool that draws the shadows.
It really can slow things down on older computers like mine (Pentium 700).
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
techtype

Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Fri 19 Dec 2008, 15:56    Post subject: Setting DPI  

I've got most everything working now, but how do you set the DPI after adding the nvidia drivers?

Edit: here is the answer-- edit xorg.conf as follows, by uncommenting the line that you want --

The formula for calculating the DisplaySize values is Width (in inches) x 25.4 / DPI and Height (in inches) x 25.4 / DPI. If you're running Xorg with a resolution of 1024x768 and want a DPI of 96, use 1024 x 25.4 / 96 and 768 x 25.4 / 96. Round numbers down. (xorg.conf expects width/height specifications to be given in milimeters. There are 25.4 milimeters per inch, thus the need to multiply by 25.4)


# calc: (x|y)pixels * 25.4 / dpi
# DisplaySize 168 126 # 96 DPI @ 640x480
# DisplaySize 210 157 # 96 DPI @ 800x600
# DisplaySize 269 201 # 96 DPI @ 1024x768
# DisplaySize 302 227 # 96 DPI @ 1152x864
# DisplaySize 336 252 # 96 DPI @ 1280x960
# DisplaySize 336 210 # 96 DPI @ 1280x800 (non 4:3 aspect)
# DisplaySize 339 271 # 96 DPI @ 1280x1024 (non 4:3 aspect)
# DisplaySize 370 277 # 96 DPI @ 1400x1050
# DisplaySize 380 238 # 96 DPI @ 1440x900 (non 4:3 aspect)
# DisplaySize 420 315 # 96 DPI @ 1600x1200
# DisplaySize 444 277 # 96 DPI @ 1680x1050 (non 4:3 aspect)
# DisplaySize 506 315 # 96 DPI @ 1920x1200 (non 4:3 aspect)


In case X ignores your DisplaySize setting (known bug) add the following line in the Device section.
Option "NoDDC" "true"


For nVidia drivers you may have to disable automatic detection of DPI to set it manually. There is also an easier way to set DPI on these cards. Either or both of the following lines can be set in the device section for your nVidia card.
Option "UseEdidDpi" "false"
Option "DPI" "96 x 96"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 980
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Fri 19 Dec 2008, 21:07    Post subject:  

Here is a modified devx, add pyrex if you want to install Compiz Fusion from source:

[devx-Xorg7.4-gtk2.14.4-r1.sfs] [65.8 MB] compiling addon

md5sum:
Code:
f283c4eaa4a0f4258ab5e00eb8fc95e8  devx-Xorg7.4-gtk+2.14.4-r1.sfs

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 07:16    Post subject:  

Quote:
ok Lobster, I updated the xara sfs


Thanks Mark - have not tried it in UP yet
but good news - I renamed the 4.11 part of the SFS to 4.12
and it is working in Puppy 4.1.2

Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 10:45    Post subject:  

Now here is an interesting anomaly.

Screenshot: http://i39.tinypic.com/6hixj5.png

I booted wow's Puplet, live-CD, without specifying any puppy pfix parameter. Previously I had booted wow's live-CD using puppy pfix=ram without difficulty. Thanks, wow, for the new XOrg and Mesa!

There are eight assorted Puppies on this machine, including a frugal install of Puppy 4.11 on sda1 which has no pup_save.sfs of its own. It happens to carry a 2.6.27.5 kernel which I grafted-in myself.

The sda1 frugal install of 4.11, is what came up, when I booted the wow's-Puplet live-CD with no pfix parameters.

Ehh, I must conclude that something ain't right with the init script. Unfortunately, as a bash scripting guru I am not yet gu enough to tackle this. sda1 is ext3, maybe that is a clue, maybe not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
techtype

Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 12:02    Post subject: Setting DPI  

Well, everything that I posted above about setting DPI should work ---- but does not for UltraPup. It seems that the setting for DPI in ~/.Xresources overrides all others. So change the line in that file to the DPI that you want: Xft.dpi: 96 does it for me. Finally!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
techtype

Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 14:57    Post subject: Adding Themes  

I can find some nice blue GTK themes and put them in the "Themes" folder. They are then recognized and available to select. But picking different themes and applying them does not seem to change much, certainly not to any colors other than grey. Suggestions ??? LXDE.org shows some beautiful themes, but they don't work for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 19:08    Post subject: Menus and icons - for Wine-sfs-additions?  

G'day,
Running this unnamed/ultra Pup as a frugal on a dual core desk top.
Very nice.
I had created a combined wine1.1.7+Excel+Word+Mailwasher+RootsMagic+PAF5+Ocad+7Zip sfs for use with all my frugals (needed for those Pups with just the 3 sfs options). This combined sfs runs quite well in U-Pup, except....

the U-Pup desktop displays the wine-generated Desktop directory of links to these Windows programs with text but blanks where the icons should be. If I click on the blank space above the text-line (that is, where the icon is normally), the program starts. The .xpm icons are there as images if I explore the wine-Desktop with Rox.

How can I get these icons to display on the desktop?

I have not been able to find where the data for the drop-down menus are. Winecfg and uninstall menu options are also without their mini-icons. And if I could, I would like to add these Windows-wine programs to the U-Pup menus - wherever they are hiding.

Thanks,
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 980
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2008, 21:18    Post subject:  

@Sit Heel Speak: If you boot any recent puppy version (x.xx) from CD it will search for pup_xxx.sfs on hard drive if available.

@techtype: You'll need more GTK+ engines (this iso has pixmap and murrine engines), there are some .pets in "Additional Software(pups 'n stuff)".
davids45 wrote:
How can I get these icons to display on the desktop?

Try to add the full path to the icon, open any of those files with leafpad and edit it. To add icons to wine programs in my modified lxpanel's Menu copy the .desktop file to /usr/share/applications, open the file with any text editor and change the category to "Wine;"
Example, I moved "something.desktop" from the Desktop to the "/usr/share/applications/wine" folder and edited "something.desktop" with leafpad like this:
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=something
Icon=/usr/share/icons/something.xpm
Comment=something
Exec=something
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Wine;
GenericName=something

To refresh the Main Menu wait few seconds or run this command in a terminal window:
Code:
update-desktop-database


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
techtype

Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 12:28    Post subject:  

wow wrote:

@techtype: You'll need more GTK+ engines (this iso has pixmap and murrine engines), there are some .pets in "Additional Software(pups 'n stuff)".


Thanks, I just added the GTK Toolkit so far and that seemed to do it. I'll post a screenshot when I get all done.

Edit: the GTK toolkit destabilizes Ultrapup, it took a lot of testing before I identified it as it's subtle.

Last edited by techtype on Wed 24 Dec 2008, 16:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 19:07    Post subject:  

G'day wow,
Thanks for the advice on modifying the menu to take the wine sfs programs.
All are now menued and working.
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
logimax

Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 22 Dec 2008, 07:45    Post subject: wbar  

Anyone tried to install wbar on UP? Im kinda noob, and can't get it to work.
Installed wbar1.3.3.pet and a lib, placed the lib in my-applications/libs, and it seems to have found it, but now it complains about
/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/console48.png -> Image not found. Maybe using relative path.
i have browsed my fs, and the image is exactly on that place, but wbar seems to not see it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 17 [249 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0850s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0132s) ][ GZIP on ]