Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 10:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Unable to set wireless or usb broadband.(Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2008, 18:05    Post_subject:  Unable to set wireless or usb broadband.(Solved)
Sub_title: Trying to 'hook-up' to the internet??
 

It looks like it should be easy but I can't connect to the internet. I am new to Puppy so I am still 'feeling' my way. I like the compactness of the concept and see many appealing and desireable aspects. It looks good!

I'm Running 4.1.1 from a DVD on a Laptop, Acer Aspire 5315, Celeron 560 and 1GB Ram. I normally use Ubuntu 8.04 and all runs OK.

It looks like I need to get Eth1 up but I don't seem to be able to do it. I have a Broadcom interface...bcm4312 but it is ignored when i try to configure the connection.

I don't know my way around the 'terminal' so detailed help would be appreciated.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2008, 18:59    Post_subject:  

Welcome to the club of bcm43xx affected people.
The last weeks there are cries for help.
There have been replies, but I didn't follow closely.

I only can say search for bcm43 withe yhe puppysearch link in my sig and plow through the multitude of posts.

Also read the last pages of this thread.
You'll see that Dougal is the expert.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2008, 04:59    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the guidance, Beem. Trying to access drivers and things is almost impossible when you don't have the internet. I'm operating from a DVD and have to shut down and reboot everytime just to get to the internet for more info.

I am going to try to GnomePPP onto the Puppy disc to see if I can get my usb 'dongle' to connect via mobile broadband.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2008, 07:03    Post_subject:  

Careful Béèm, plumtreed is talking about the Broadcom ethernet interface, not wifi. It should be supported by Puppy's "tg3" module.
plumtreed wrote:
I don't know my way around the 'terminal' so detailed help would be appreciated.

Don't assume that the terminal is necessary. Puppy's Network Wizard should suffice.

Your wifi device, incidentally, is the infamous Atheros AR5007EG chipset which requires the special driver from here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=237740#237740
This has been discussed several times on the forum before.
plumtreed wrote:
I'm operating from a DVD and have to shut down and reboot everytime just to get to the internet for more info.

Save the wifi driver to your Windows NTFS partition or USB drive, then reboot into Puppy and mount this drive to access the new driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2008, 09:56    Post_subject:  

plumtreed wrote:
I am going to try to GnomePPP onto the Puppy disc to see if I can get my usb 'dongle' to connect via mobile broadband.

Wireless modems require special dial-up configurations, which Puppy accommodates via the "Internet by wireless GPRS modem ..." option in the Connection wizard.

There is an overview of the different classes of wireless modems (and their requisite drivers) here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=254448#254448
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2008, 10:41    Post_subject:  

Thanks Temp, you have given a lot of leads for me to follow. I'll get back as soon as I have had a chance to work through those ideas. Back soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 16:19    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Careful Béèm, plumtreed is talking about the Broadcom ethernet interface, not wifi. It should be supported by Puppy's "tg3" module.
plumtreed wrote:
I don't know my way around the 'terminal' so detailed help would be appreciated.

Don't assume that the terminal is necessary. Puppy's Network Wizard should suffice.

Your wifi device, incidentally, is the infamous Atheros AR5007EG chipset which requires the special driver from here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=237740#237740
This has been discussed several times on the forum before.
plumtreed wrote:
I'm operating from a DVD and have to shut down and reboot everytime just to get to the internet for more info.

Save the wifi driver to your Windows NTFS partition or USB drive, then reboot into Puppy and mount this drive to access the new driver.


I have got to the point where I have the 'driver', as a tar.giz, on a usb drive but I don't know, nor can I figure out, the 'next step'?

Please, can I get some advice on how to get the driver to a place where I can use it??
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 16:19    Post_subject:  

Doubled up!!!! Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 17:21    Post_subject:  

plumtreed wrote:
I have got to the point where I have the 'driver', as a tar.giz

What driver? From where? Surely you didn't download the source code?
The special MADWiFi driver for Atheros AR5007EG devices is a dotpet attached to the post I referenced:
madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r3861-k2.6.25.16.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 18:21    Post_subject:  

No, I have the 'pet' file but I still don't know what to do with it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 13 Dec 2008, 03:50    Post_subject:  

Dotpets will fail to install if they are located in a directory (or directory path) which contains a space in its name.
There is a fix being discussed here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=256919#256919

But a quick fix is obviously to locate the dotpet in a suitably named directory, or even the root path of a drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 10:06    Post_subject:  

I have got mobile broadband up & running, courtesy of the wisdom gathered from this forum, so I can now download applications and pets.

I have also got 4.1.2 on a USB 2GB dongle and, most importantly, I'm really starting to enjoy Puppy.

I am still unable to set up wireless on puppy. I have bcm4312, which appears to have the Atheros AR5007EG chip set. At Tempetuous' suggestion I've downloaded 'madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r3861-k2.6.25.16.pet' but have not been able to make anything respond favourably.

What should I do to activate 'madwifi etc' to cause my wireless to repond? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 12:09    Post_subject:  

Click on the madWifi pet and it should auto install a new interface which will them be visible in the connect wizard. To be sure turn off wlan in the bios before installing into a pup_save endowed puppy.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
plumtreed

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 13:52    Post_subject:  

Great stuff Aarf, your first sentence is clear and the sort of thing a dumb bloke like me understands. I haven't looked yet because I think I need some clarification on sentance #2?

I don't understand what it means Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 17:24    Post_subject:  

plumtreed wrote:
I have bcm4312, which appears to have the Atheros AR5007EG chip set.

No. The BCM4312 is Broadcom, the AR5007EG is Atheros. I see now that the Acer Aspire 5315 can be supplied with either wifi device - possibly a difference between European and U.S. specification.

OK, I think those recent Broadcom wifi chips require the proprietary Broadcom driver. Get it here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=251942#251942
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0783s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]