Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 03:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
pWidgets 2.5.6
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 207 [3101 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, ..., 205, 206, 207 Next
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 13:25    Post subject:  

Finally back again, kept getting error 500 and just couldn't log on to forum.

Zigbert, I don't have dev sfs on the machine it only has alpha3 at the moment so I cannot make a pet.

Could someone please copy the Uptime and create a pet of it, tia.

Just got a faster machine back from repair, so I can now install a full distro and see how it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 14:08    Post subject:  

trio,

I really like the weather application that you've prepared for zigbert's great little pwidgets application.

One question, how do you change it to read degrees F instead of degrees C?

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pistoi0

Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 15:11    Post subject:  

@Jim1911
I have been meaning to post this tip for Farenheit users since it is not clear in the instructions.

WeatherIcon --> open as text and at Line 5, "METRIC=0 #Should be 0 or 1; 0 for F, 1 for C" and set METRIC to "0."

Then at Line 15 replace the existing code with:
curl -s "http://rss.accuweather.com/rss/liveweather_rss.asp?metric=$METRIC&locCode=$LOCCOD">/tmp/Weather.tmp

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 17:20    Post subject:  

pistoi0,

Thank you for your clear instructions that work perfectly.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1951
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 21:00    Post subject:  

Jim1911:

Sorry for the late reply... Very Happy glad you like it..and thank you pisto1 for explaining it...

tasmod:
I works fine in faster computers...and yes on some computers it appears below layers...just like the xonclock problem...I'll look in to it

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 21:52    Post subject:  

Added to Pwidgets HOWTO the farenheit instructions, should have before! Thanks guys.

Feel free to post any howto you like about Pwidgets on that thread. Smile Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 22:20    Post subject:  

Hi Tasmod,

I obliged your request.

Here it is...
Uptime.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Uptime.pet 
Filesize  944 Bytes 
Downloaded  292 Time(s) 
uptime.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   15.51 KB
 Viewed   1225 Time(s)

uptime.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 22:31    Post subject:  

Darn this slow Bransonet. Embarassed Double
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 06 Feb 2009, 22:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 22:31    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
Finally back again, kept getting error 500 and just couldn't log on to forum.

Zigbert, I don't have dev sfs on the machine it only has alpha3 at the moment so I cannot make a pet.

Could someone please copy the Uptime and create a pet of it, tia.

Just got a faster machine back from repair, so I can now install a full distro and see how it works.
Hey Tasmod, no need for devx_420.sfs to be loaded for 'dir2pet' to run. And you can just rename your devx_412 to devx_420.sfs to load on any 4.2 provided the kernel version it is intended for is the same.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1951
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 22:41    Post subject: only for pwidgets 0.6 (or above?)  

New TV WIDGET - compatible only with pwidgets-0.6 (or above?):

- Changelog:
put in the above layer parameter
mplayer now can recognize screen resolution, edit: not all the picture fit in the box for low res screen (like 1024x768)

-Dependencies:
mplayer + all codecs & plugins (from puppy package manager)
xwinwrap (included .pet)
Analog clock widget has to be selected also

README:
1. Not recommended for slow computers and slow internet connection
2. Make sure your mplayer works & don't add any skins. etc (mine doesn't work with that)
3. Applies TV from GUI right after installation
4. Be patient, TV window only appears when buffering is finished
5. Read tv widget config, and you may find instruction how to change url
6. STOP IT FROM RUNNING BY TYPING killall mplayer FROM TERMINAL

Please report bugs here..thanks

EDIT: I uploaded replacement .pet..last one was not working, sorry...this one works, uploaded version 03 works with pwidgets 0.6 & upcoming 0.7
TV_WIDGET_03.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  TV_WIDGET_03.pet 
Filesize  10.75 KB 
Downloaded  301 Time(s) 

Last edited by trio on Sun 08 Feb 2009, 08:34; edited 10 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1951
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 01:09    Post subject:  

a screenshot of the TV. I don't have to click or anything, just wait for it to appear
TV.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   13.5 KB
 Viewed   1233 Time(s)

TV.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 02:46    Post subject:  

trio wrote:
Please report bugs here..thanks

Ok, but not for the TV widget...

Using Puppy-4.2Alpha4 prebuild on a very fast P4.2 (dual core IOW Wink ) with 2Gb RAM - a clean Puppy build straight out of Unleashed - and Pwidgets-0.6:

If I add the weather widget while connected to the 'net, the widget starts to appear but then disappears immediately the screen refresh occurs. Sad All the other widgets stay visible where they were before the refresh.

I'm sure this is a timing or priority issue. The widget just ends up on the wrong level somehow.

Any ideas, fixes, suggestions ...? Confused

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com

Last edited by WhoDo on Sat 07 Feb 2009, 02:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 02:50    Post subject:  

trio wrote:
a screenshot of the TV. I don't have to click or anything, just wait for it to appear

This is great stuff, trio and 01micko! I think we need a new thread under "Additional Software (PUPs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy" exclusively for widgets. Each widget listed should have a screenshot and a download so people can pick and choose what they want.

@Lobster - we could also have a widgets page on the wikki, just like we do for Puppy games, couldn't we?

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1951
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 02:52    Post subject:  

WHODO:

Please check if the config file: own_window_type desktop or override? should be desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2009, 02:56    Post subject:  

trio wrote:
Please check if the config file: own_window_type desktop or override? should be desktop

It was override. I'll fix and test again. Thanks, trio! Cool

Update: Yep. My bad. I must have inadvertantly overwritten the original with an older incorrect version. Embarassed Fixed now, thanks.

Last edited by WhoDo on Sat 07 Feb 2009, 02:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 207 [3101 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, ..., 205, 206, 207 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0979s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0228s) ][ GZIP on ]