Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 04:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
pWidgets 2.5.6
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 206 of 207 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 204, 205, 206, 207 Next
Author Message
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2594
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 07:43    Post_subject:  

Two small problems (nothing serious).

1 - I can not view configuration files.
2 - Options GUI: langauge => language.

Regards
pwidgets-2.5.1_language.png
 Description   
 Filesize   17.19 KB
 Viewed   656 Time(s)

pwidgets-2.5.1_language.png

pwidgets-2.5.1_show_config_files.png
 Description   
 Filesize   76.25 KB
 Viewed   654 Time(s)

pwidgets-2.5.1_show_config_files.png


_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 10:07    Post_subject:  

Version 2.5.2
See main post

Changelog
- transparent processes widget (thanks to david45)
- more adjustments of widgets
- fix 'show config' (thanks to ASRI éducation)
- fix download link for NLS files (thanks to ASRI éducation)

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 10:10    Post_subject: Re: black backgrounds?
Sub_title: combine RAM & CPU bars
 

davids45 wrote:
A combined RAM & CPU bar widget saves vertical space on my wide 16:9 monitor.
Be aware that you are NOT limited to one widgets setup. The Cluster plugin let you run several setups, and you can have ie. widgets at both sides of the screen.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 10:14    Post_subject: Re: Dude on supersulu  

Pelo wrote:
Dude on supersulu. J'aime le desktop Dude, ses icons, son Wallpaper, sa wbar, see the show by clicking here.
I will continue installaing this DUde desktop environment in 2014, yes, I will ! Very Happy
Hello Pelo
I am glad you like DuDE, but please note that most of its features are now supported by the new alternative jwm_config tool together with pTheme and pWidgets. Please check out this
The new tools are updated to work with more recent Puppies, are more powerful, and uses less cpu.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 03:04    Post_subject:  

Version 2.5.3
See main post

Fixed the weather widgets, worldclock and downspeed

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1738
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:56    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Version 2.5.3
See main post

Seems to link to the 2.5.2 version
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 05:07    Post_subject:  

tlchost wrote:
zigbert wrote:
Version 2.5.3
See main post

Seems to link to the 2.5.2 version
Fixed
Thank you

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 09:12    Post_subject:  

Just installed pWidgets 2.5.3 in Slacko 5.9.3.

Had to reset permissions on /root/.pwidgets/pwidgets-exec, /root/.pwidgets/pwidgets-exec_conky and /root/.pwidgets/pwidgets-exec_xonclock to get it working.

Will do some configuring later, have to go now.

Thanks Zigbert for resurrecting pWidgets. Its a great app! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5392
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Sep 2014, 01:22    Post_subject:  

Using Slacko 5.7 full install.

Pwidgets 2.5.3

This is what I see on next boot after setting up Pwidgets.
A black background around Pwidgets.

I think this has something to do with when Pwidgets starts.
Slacko 5.7 goes to a black screen just before the desktop appears.
I think Pwidgets starts up while the black screen is visible and picks it up as the desktop background.

Maybe a start time delay in Pwidgets would fix this?
Maybe a start delay setting in the root/startup/0_show_widgets?
Screenshot(8).png
 Description   
 Filesize   74.42 KB
 Viewed   245 Time(s)

Screenshot(8).png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 09 Sep 2014, 00:10    Post_subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Maybe a start delay setting in the root/startup/0_show_widgets?


Code:
sleep 3
fixwidgets -boot &

Works for me. Very Happy I saw the problem but liked the black background.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5392
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Sep 2014, 18:39    Post_subject:  

jrb wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Maybe a start delay setting in the root/startup/0_show_widgets?


Code:
sleep 3
fixwidgets -boot &

Works for me. Very Happy I saw the problem but liked the black background.

That time delay solved the problem for me too.
The normal desktop appears and after a small delay a normal looking Pwidgets appears.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2014, 08:10    Post_subject:  

Version 2.5.4
See main post

Changelog
Bugfix: Widgets shows up with background at boot. (thanks to jrb)

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1738
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2014, 16:58    Post_subject:  

pwidgets 2,5.2 through 2.5.4 seem to install correctly in ovprecise on a bootable USB drive.

however .pwidgets is NOT written to /mnt/home.

Versions 2.5.1 and lower write the .pwidgets folder to /mnt/home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2014, 12:40    Post_subject:  

tlchost
I checked the install script and the install directory of 2.5.1 and 2.5.4.
I can not see any difference.

I don't know the different installation modes of Puppy, but the .pwidgets directory should install itself to $HOME (/root/), - not /mnt/home
Do you have any other observations?
Are you running 32/64 bit?


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1738
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2014, 04:27    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:
tlchost

I don't know the different installation modes of Puppy, but the .pwidgets directory should install itself to $HOME (/root/), - not /mnt/home
Do you have any other observations?
Are you running 32/64 bit?


I'm sorry...my error....the previous versions install to /root .... the latest versions do not.

I am using 32 bit on a bootable USB drive with a FAT format

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 206 of 207 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 204, 205, 206, 207 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1142s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0411s) ][ GZIP on ]