Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 06:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Ripple Releases (Puppy with Compiz-fusion, more)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 22 [330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 Next
Author Message
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 06:15    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
there is a difficulty in determining what graphics card is actually in an unknown computer. else it would be easier to test ripple in icafes or showrooms.

With Woof Alpha2 I get the right info of my graphics card in the area 'PCI device' from Hardinfo Wink
Maybe this helps.

~ Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 06:58    Post subject:  

What kernel is Barry using for woof Alpha2? Havn't gotten around to making a build from it myself yet. My plan is to use woof to make the Ubuntu version, then see if I can get compiz-fusion with the Ripple scripts working on it. I think we might solve some of our issues with packages from the ubuntu repositories regarding support for the atom chipsets... as wwell as other hardware issues. Will be a heck of a lot easier to find packages and test what works at any rate. Anyone keen to have a go before I get to it I'm happy to provide support. It might be another week or so before I can play around much. Cheers.

dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 07:15    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:

With Woof Alpha2 I get the right info of my graphics card in the area 'PCI device' from Hardinfo Wink
Maybe this helps.

~ Rolf

Thanks rhadon. ripple hardinfo looks like the attached image, which means nothing too me. is it that the info is only available in woof or do i need to interpret something.
PCI.png
 Description   
 Filesize   92.57 KB
 Viewed   1048 Time(s)

PCI.png


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 07:51    Post subject:  

@ dinky
Woof Alpha2 is build with kernel 2.6.27.4.
I have just only tested the iso. For now there are only Slackware, Woof and Puppy repos available.

@ aarf
This info I found only by Woof. Not with Puppy 4.2 and not with Ripple.

Glad to help
Rolf
Hardinfo-Woof_2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Hardinfo-Woof_2.png 
Filesize  88.91 KB 
Downloaded  250 Time(s) 

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 08:04    Post subject:  

Awesome. Woof alpha2 supports the package repositories form whatever distro it's built from... technically. It's only been tested on Slackware so far, but should work in theory for Ubuntu, Debian, etc.

Rolf, can you find the compiz thread, and follow tombh's instructions getting compiz fusion to work for woof alpha2's slackware iso? try and find the packages he recommends from slackware's repositories though... I think this might fix some of our problems. It would be useful to find out which versions of xorg are available from slackware, and which version we currently have in Puppy.

I'd recommend, rather than installing a windows manager that supports compositing, to copy the /usr/sbin/ripple script over and use that. You'll need to install cairo-dock for this. Good luck, and let me know how you go.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 08:30    Post subject:  

dinky wrote:
...and follow tombh's instructions getting compiz fusion to work for woof alpha2's slackware iso?

are you sure? Everything tombh wrote here in this forum since End of Nov.08 was posted in the Ripple section. I found nothing about Woof and compiz. Maybe you mean NewYearsPup and MU?

~Rolf
Edit: Since today Lobster is trying get compiz working with Woof2
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39195

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 08:59    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:
dinky wrote:
...and follow tombh's instructions getting compiz fusion to work for woof alpha2's slackware iso?

are you sure? Everything tombh wrote here in this forum since End of Nov.08 was posted in the Ripple section. I found nothing about Woof and compiz. Maybe you mean NewYearsPup and MU?

~Rolf
Edit: Since today Lobster is trying get compiz working with Woof2
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39195

this one ?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=32242

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 09:44    Post subject:  

Hi aarf,
I don't think so, because as I understand the problem with Atom chipset it's a problem of xorg7.3 instead of xorg7.4.
This thread is about Puppy till 4.1.2 with xorg7.3
Anyhow thank's for the answer.

@ dinky
with slackware pckage finder http://slackfind.net/en/
I can only find:
xorg-cf-files-1.0.2-noarch-1 (also in repo slackware-12.2-official of Woof)
xorg-server-1.3.0.0-i486-2 and
xorg-server-xvfb-1.4.0.90-i486-1

Rolf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2009, 16:40    Post subject:  

I had thought of using that thread aarf pointed you to, even though it's for an earlier version of xorg. i thought some of the same idea might have carried across... worth a try. Anyway, it's hard to know what, if anything, would be the equivalent within the slackware packages...

Looks like Lobster gave up on Compiz-fusion, finding it too hard. 2 other possibilities... look at Slackware and see how they are running compiz-fusion.... look at New Years Pup and look at either using (possibly difficult as we might need the later kernel) their xorg, or figuring out how to compile the latest version ourself. No idea what we'd need to do to get compositing working with various cards under 7.4. There may be documentation from it in the Xorg project, there may not be, tombh's thread may shed some light on it.

If you get a chance, see how you go tracking down the latest xorg, and what our options are: using a later kernel, rebuilding from woof, compiling a new xorg ourselves, etc. I think this is the first step, and we'll work on compiz from there. Cheers.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2009, 17:52    Post subject:  

Hi dinky,

it should be possible to use xorg7.4 with our kernel, i think this post from wow is a good start:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36592&start=121
Quote:
Quote:
Can the xorg from this puppy work on other puppies? If so what must be done to get it to work?

Yes, it should work (I compiled it in Puppy-4.10) as long as you have these dependencies already installed: dbus-1.2.6, dbus-glib-0.78, hal-0.5.11, hal-info (any recent package) and udev-130. If you want 3D acceleration: Mesa-7.2, drm-2.3.1(libs and kernel modules)

In this post wow also offers his xorg-7.4 binary package (maybe the best solution). My problem: I have no clue how to install/compile it. Embarassed
Kirk describes how to config xorg7.4 without HAL here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=32972&start=33

Today I build a SlackPuppy from tarball with Woof alpha2. It works Very Happy (my very first Puppy from tarball).
Great adventage: you can choose to build it with kernel2.6.25.16 or 2.6.27.4.
Then I tried to install CF. Installing was successful but it doesn't work because some libs and dependencies are missing. So I must find out were to find and maybe how to install (if not possible with Package Manager).
Also like to try it based on Ubuntu but too much all at once.
The speed of developing Woof is really impressing!
I believe Ripple made by Woof would be great! But I have no clue is it possible or when.
That's all for now (I'm tired)

~ Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 17:50    Post subject:  

Great! Thanks Rhadon. Really good work. I'm likley to use woof for the next build of Ripple. will play around with that more, and xorg, when I get the chance. Cheers.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Indras

Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 17:12    Post subject: Ripple on ASUS Eeepc 900A  

I cannot get Ripple working properly on the EeePC 900A. Near as I can tell, nobody else has reported problems with this. The 900A may have a different screen or video driver, but whatever the case, I simply cannot select 24 bit color.

I have a full Windows XP Install on the SSD, so I was looking for a fast distro to install on the SD card for home use. I can't remove the XP, since I use it at work, but frankly, I cannot stand how sluggish everything is. Oh, and just as an FYI, in Windows XP with the ASUS drivers, the screen displays in 1024x600x32. I can select 1024x768, but the desktop then scrolls for the other 168 pixels, which is annoying.

Anyway, when booting up Ripple (with no pup saves, just off a USB stick), the Xorgwizard runs. I select 1024x600 LCD screen. Then, I select 1024x600x24 and Test. The test runs properly. Then, for the compiz setup, I select "Manual" and then "Intel." It starts up the X server, I even get the little black X and I can move the cursor for a split second, then it drops to CLI. I've tried all sorts of other settings, like 800x600x24, 1024x768x24. No matter what I select, when I hit "test", it picks 1024x600x16. And you can't run Compiz on 16 bit color. The only way I can get a GUI is to use JWM, which is practically useless, since I have no window borders. Gets to be a pain in the butt to have to open a terminal and kill off a process just to close a window that I cannot move.

Any suggestions?

I'm going to try a stock version of Puppy 4.1.2 to see what results I get from it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 18:00    Post subject:  

Hi Indras. Keep in mind Ripple is still very experimental, and I haven't had much time to take it further. That said, I think Ripple works with the 900a. Try again, however DON'T choose the test option, and don't manually select the driver for Compiz-Fusion. If it works, it will be auto detected. You're right, you need 24 bit color. It's possible choosing test is stuffing something up. Ripple isn't configured to use jwm by default yet, though that's on the cards. Currently if you cant use compiz-fusion, you don't have a windows manager. good luck.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1291
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 19:20    Post subject:  

Hi Indra,

on myEeePc900 Ripple works fine. One difference to your model is the processor: 900 has Celeron, 900A has Atom. I don't know if there is a difference between graphic cards or not. If you know something about your graphics card, please post.

If X is down and I want to use jwm, the first time I must use 'xwin jwm' instead of 'xwin' to get borders and jwm working. Changing back to Compiz I must run 'xorgwizard' then 'cfwizard' then typing 'xwin cf'. But this is only like a workaround because Ripple without Compiz Fusion is no Ripple (my opinion).

greetings
Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Indras

Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 08 Mar 2009, 20:51    Post subject:  

Dinky/Rhadon:

Thank you both for the quick replies. I just finished putting Ripple back on my USB pen via Unetbootin, and got it booted up. I'm at the Unetbootin grub menu atm, so I'll go through this step by step.

Booting the kernel...
Select PS/2 for mouse (I have a USB mouse that I usually use, but I want to keep to a basic hardware setup for now) -> OK
Select US for keyboard -> OK
Select Xorg
(probing hardware)
Select B2, LCD Panel 1024x600 -> OK
Select 1024x600x24 (even though this dialog box suggests 1024x600x16 as a good choice in red at the top) -> OK
Start cfwizard, select Auto
Screen flickers, get a little black X in the middle of the screen, boom, back to CLI

(Just for grins this time, I tried Ctrl-Alt-F7 to see if maybe xorg was running but it just switched back to TTY1 for some bizarre reason, and it locked up. I have a blinking white cursor in the top left of the screen, but no keyboard functions seem to work.)

Anyway, are there any suggestions? There's no chance of being able to burn the ISO to CD and booting that way, I don't have an external CD-ROM drive. I really doubt that Unetbootin is the problem though, all distros that I've tried seem to handle it perfectly.

Maybe a log file would help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 22 [330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0800s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]