Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 03:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
S-video in Laptop using Puppy 4.1.1.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2008, 15:45    Post_subject:  S-video in Laptop using Puppy 4.1.1.
Sub_title: How can I switch the monitor to a TV set?
 

Hi,

Hi, I have being using this amazing mini-giant OS for more than a year, and just upgraded my Presario 14XL250 (with trident cyberblade video card) to 4.1.1.

I bought an S-video cable for connecting my laptop to the TV, but cannot understand how to switch from my portable PC monitor to the external TV. In the forum I read theinfamousj's splendid post (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14261), but it was written for old Puppy versions, and the necessary 3D-Control-Center software (as described in http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=80309#80309) was – at the latest – for puppy 2.12.

Do I have to follow the same procedures for the last puppy version as well, as described in the aforementioned posts? Or is there any better (eg pre-installed TV-out features) way for using an external TV set with Puppy 4.1.1?

Thanks you for your help!

_________________
Open Letter to the Open Source Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 10:35    Post_subject: I found this on the net...  

... but am not sure it will work...

1. sudo nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules
and add

fbcon
vesafb
tridentfb

2. sudo update-initramfs -u

3. sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-framebuffer

in lines vesafb and tridentfb set a # at the beginning

4. Reboot


Is there anybody out there who has tackled and solved this problem?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2006
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 10:54    Post_subject:  

See Here
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0405s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]