Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 13:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
aspire one puppy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 12:49    Post subject:  

edit my bad
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Wed 02 Dec 2009, 07:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 22:20    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. Device 1062 (rev c0)

That's an Attansic (owned by Atheros) ethernet device, supported in Puppy 4.3.x by the atl1c driver ...
but this official kernel driver is reported to be unreliable with modern versions of the Atheros/Attansic chipset,
so you will likely get a better result with the proprietary version of the atl1e driver contributed by forum member jemimah here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=357449#357449
(as I suggested several posts earlier).
Make sure you install the atl1e-1c "fix" as well.


nooby wrote:
01:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)

That's a Broadcom wifi device, probably supported by Puppy's b43 driver ...
but again, the proprietary "wl" Broadcom wifi driver is likely to work better. Get it here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=346454#346454
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 02:04    Post subject:  

yes very valueable info and yes I remember.

But as I tell everybody. Such only works if one knows how to install it.

The acer puppy is on an usb stick thumb and are live not installed on HDD

I have no access to the internet on that computer with that program on.

So either I should download the drivers with windows and transfer them to the stick that way or or take the down on the hdd and retrieve from hdd with puppy fired up on that machine.

Edit first stumble block.

I am Asperger Syndrome. I fail to read abstract texts that is too unfamiliar.

All the links are about .pet and Idon't have the know how to use such in win 7 program.

Are they not supposed to work by beingklicked on by the puppy program one need them in and that one can not reach them due to know working connection. end of edit

One most likely must also know how to activate them in the right folder?

All this makes one very dependent on those who knows how to do such detailed things.



Dont get me wrong

I really do appreciate the help but it makes me even more dependent on more help on how to do what you suggested.

I am on win7 now. can win7 download those needed files and then acer puppy reach tehm through the acer hdd?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 02:18    Post subject:  

how was I supposed to do the fix? Did that one work on its own?

It worked well to click on the pets but it failed to get the LAN working

Should I try to ndiswrapper also? I mean the win 7 just works so if I could find it that would be great

But I have no idea where to to find it. I end up in root and see no ndiswrapper there

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 23:47    Post subject:  

Bad Puppy! BAAAD!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 15:40    Post subject:  

wanted to ask about ndiswrapper.

Would not that one solve my problems with wifi? How does one get that one going?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Wed 02 Dec 2009, 08:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 19:18    Post subject:  

pupeee did work with wired but not wireless network.
I have acer AAO D250 so I would love the Acerpup to work on it too.

I mean if Acerpup take care of fan and cpu better and longer battery life and so on.

What is it in Pupeee that makes that one even work better in Acer than the Acerpup does?

What am I suppose to do to make working for any of wireless and wired. Hopefully both but if I have to choose I take wireless.

Any kind suggestion. I don't want to give up on puppy.

Crunchbang says it works on wifi, I see two of my neighbors nets but them locked I have no way to test if I actually an connect with internet.

I have to travel to the library to test such. But Acerpup don't even show there are any networs at all.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mpierrat25


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Posts: 105
Location: France (25)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Dec 2009, 11:09    Post subject: Puppy on AA0
Subject description: Mine works..;
 

Nooby,

Try Lxde puplet which use a better kernel.

For me it's OK

I made a full install using Linpus / Puppy LXDE. Both works correctly. I use Linpus most of the time on my AA0 110 even I'm a Puppy lover.. but it works nice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 05 Dec 2009, 13:23    Post subject:  

I have to find Puppy LXDE then. I get back within one or two days and tell if it worked here.

I am not sure of which one you refer to. Where did you download the iso?

Is it this one Lighthouse Pup 4.43b k2.6.30.5
LXDE GIMP Gslapt Mplayer Audacious Wine. Add-ons: FF Opera KDE3+4 K3b Amarok Compiz-Fusion Games...

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47588

or this one

Unnamed puplet 1.1 (puppy411 kernel-2.6.28.5 Xorg-7.4 LXDE)
aka ultrapup (UTF-8, SMP, load up to 40 SFS, multilang, OpenGL, more)

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39154

or some third or fouth one?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hayagix

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sat 05 Dec 2009, 14:30    Post subject:  

You can try Puppy or puplets with latest kernel which is 2.6.30.5.

You can download the .pets tempestuos pointed out to you with windows. Transfer them to Puppy with via usb flash drive. .pets are just like windows .exe. Click on them and they install - just like that.

You may need to reboot and if this is the case you need to "save" if you are running live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 05 Dec 2009, 14:45    Post subject:  

Yes thanks very good advices. But it only works if one knows how to do such things. I did dl the pets and installed and tried to blacklist and whitelist and so on. and still failed. So not sure what goes wrong.

Many Linux enthusiasts say it is me that are the error or wrong guy behind the machine.

That is certainly tru but that doesn't change the fact that some distros just work out of the boxes. No need to be a good linux user to use these distros.

Is it the Exton LDXE we are talking about? I did dl that one and are now using unetbootin to make a usb live install on it. Seems to take time.

I tell if that one work here soon.
seems to have Linux kernel 2.6.27.5 i686

But should not AAO D250 have a 386 something?

Nope! Tested all drivers that had Broadcom or Atheros in name.

this distro even failed to shut down which all other puppies I have tested this year has been able to do so not a good one at all.

I tested this one now.

LighthousePup-4.43-b.iso

It says that it has connected to my LAN card but browser still fails.

what is it about Kuki linux and pupeee that makes them work while others fail?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mpierrat25


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Posts: 105
Location: France (25)

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2009, 12:25    Post subject: lxde  

Nooby,

Have look here :

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=39154

I guess, there is the pupplet I used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2009, 14:44    Post subject:  

I did download this one most likely Saturday and tested it and it did not work.

I tested two versions of LXDE puppy version. the other was the Exton version. None of them worked within either wired nor wireless.

And look here

Quote

Posted by Wow: Mon 02 Mar 2009, 18:09 Post subject: Re: Wireless
Barburo wrote:

I rebooted and nothing came up for wireless nor can I connect again. Any idea what's going on here? Why did connection work once but not again?

Answer:
Sorry, I can't help you with this 'cause I don't have any wireless device, nor the knowledge about them.
end quote

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jan 2010, 12:10    Post subject:  

Hardware Hack!

Here's a useful article for any AAO users

speed up your AAO/increase storage with an ipod 1.8" hdd

http://tnkgrl.wordpress.com/2008/08/16/modding-the-acer-aspire-one-hard-drive/

It will use a bit more power, but swings & roundabouts, as they say

The reason it speeds it up is because writes are faster to the hdd than the stock ssd, atm, though this may change - they are getting faster

Check out OCZ SSDs

Quote:
Available in 16GB to 64GB capacities
Read: up to 45 MB/sec
Write: up to 35 MB/sec
Sustained Write: up to 20 MB/sec


http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/solid_state_drives/ocz_minipci_express_ssd-pata_

[don't know if there's any SATA mods, ....even quicker]

Also see here

http://www.netbooks.ph/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=451

have fun

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tofi

Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue 09 Feb 2010, 08:45    Post subject:  

Download location?
Where can I download the Puppy made for Acer Aspire one?
This link ftp://ftp.servage.net/aspireone/acer-puppy-410-27.iso
requires a password. Maybe there is a never version of the puoppy too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0788s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]