Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 15:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
aspire one puppy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
hayagix

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed 19 Nov 2008, 12:29    Post subject:  

Not sure if Network Wizard is the newest version in 4.1.1.

Quck and dirty way is to change .tgz to .pet and install. It will overwrite old version.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31522
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 19 Nov 2008, 14:18    Post subject:  

iscraigh wrote:
Hmm

Tuuxx That is what I would like to do but currently lack the knowledge and time (Time is the biggest impediment). Do you suggest I build from unleashed, I have never done that before. How do I identify needed modules? If I delete them and use the regular remaster would that work?
So many Questions Smile

Craig


Well if you go with unleashed I would backup the main repo, just encase, but first I would try remasters, Its quicker and then once you get it going maybe try the unleashed route.
I would first go and look at other acer one distro's and look at the repo for it and find the xorg modules and look at what they are including, then look at the puppy ones and compare drivers, then make a list of what is deleted and try deleting that.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tofi

Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed 19 Nov 2008, 15:18    Post subject: Wifi Howto?  

I am not able to get on the internet using Wifi in Puppy, thogh I can scan and find the network, fill inn the essid and the key. But I'm not sure that I am doing the right thing to get it working.
Should I load any of the drivers, I should I get directly to the wifi search in the network menu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Wed 19 Nov 2008, 17:45    Post subject:  

after using the network wizard to find it then press use this profile it takes you to the previous screen. On this screen select use dhcp.
If after a minitue it tells you it got an address then you are in business.

Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2008, 01:10    Post subject:  

Okay the good news

I have tried puppy with the 2.6.27 kenel done by MU (thanks)
The sd card readers both worked although I found if the card was inserted @ boot and then removed and reinserted it did not see it again. If inserted after boot both card readers worked.

Bad news
The not booting from external sd appears to be a bios limitation not a puppy thing.
http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=17695
So I suggest frugal installs if you want to keep your linspire intact.

So the plan (subject to change) is to base a remaster on the 27 kernel if I can get wireless working. Don't expect it for a couple of weeks(maybe sooner as time permits).

Plan b is to base it on the incredible boxpup if boxpup (has latest usb fixes) will read the sd cards.

Either way it will have openbox ,cairo-dock, opera, as well as the prebiously added programs. I also may try to start removing non AAO needed things.


Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sertse

Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2008, 02:18    Post subject:  

Posting to say thanks...love it on my aspire one. Good luck on the upcoming plans.

lol, Boxpup is also my favourite puplet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tofi

Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2008, 04:33    Post subject: Wifi 2  

It doesn't work, though i put in the WEP code it doesn't connect to the wlan. With Linpus there is no wifi trouble so i don't know what I maybe do wrong.
cable lan works ok in Puppy, the same does GPRS with my Nokia 6680.

The sum is that I am very pleased with Puppy - looks very promising. Guess that future versions will be even more out of the box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sertse

Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2008, 10:00    Post subject:  

Upon further playing around...

I think I'm similar to tofi

Wifi not working for WEP.

Scan detects my network, but connecting to it doesn't work,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2008, 11:05    Post subject:  

Ok my wireless is open so I will play around with wep and see if I can get it working.

Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2008, 13:12    Post subject:  

By the way WPA isn't working, although I' had it working with another plainer version of puppy.
Open wlan is fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tofi

Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2008, 16:04    Post subject: No WEP key from command line  

I try to set up wlan from command line:

setting essid - ok
setting "key open" value gives error: "Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (882A):
SET failed on device ath0; Invalid argument"

So it is'n possible to add the WEP key, and there is no connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alley

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth TX

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 15:49    Post subject: Thanks!
Subject description: Working fine
 

I just wanted to say Thanks - great work, and it works fine on my aspire one. I got the SD cards working after figuring out where to put acpi=off (syslinux.cfg for me), although it still won't boot if a card is already in the slot at boot time. I'm looking forward to the updated kernel tho as things run a little hotter now, and at shutdown it just halts doesn't shut all the way off.

Anybody for starting an open letter to Acer asking for a BIOS update that supports SD boot?

WPA and WPA2 are working fine for me with no tweaking.

And to put my resources where my mouth is, I'm willing to help host ftp if needed.

-Alley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iscraigh

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat 22 Nov 2008, 03:46    Post subject:  

With mu's 27 kernel beta iso wireless works on my open router, I have not had a chance to try wep yet. (This laptop is a gift for my son so I can only work on it when he is not around).

Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2474
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sat 22 Nov 2008, 13:28    Post subject: great saves me more time  

Just got one of these little guys after my full sized laptop died. THANKS for the work. mine came with XP and the version of linpuslite I downloaded was not acer-one version.
I was looking into Intels (free to use) toolset to recompile puppy kernel and main apps for the AtomCPU. It should gain speed and powersavings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alley

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Location: Dallas/Fort Worth TX

PostPosted: Sun 23 Nov 2008, 16:34    Post subject: batterymeter  

Sounds great - I really look forward to that now I've discovered turning acpi off also disables my battery meter, which is pretty critical for me. Is there any workaround for the card slots that doesn't disable acpi?

Thanks,
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0838s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0141s) ][ GZIP on ]