Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
  New Forum: http://forum.puppylinux.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 15 Aug 2020, 01:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
How do you save new card settings?
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
WurlPuppy

Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 17:10    Post subject:  How do you save new card settings?
Subject description: Need to save settings found using modprobe
 

I have been successful in getting modprobe to load the eepro module for my Kalex 94V ethernet card however the settings are not saved so I have to run modprobe each time I boot.

How do I get Puppy to save the configuration data?
===============

EDIT: I am running Puppy 4.0 and after entering the modprobe eepro autodetect=-1 I then used the Wizard to test and run DHCP.

At the end of the DHCP Wizard I am asked if I want to save these setting to be used when the PC boots. I click on Yes but it does not seem to save anything as on the next boot the ethernet card is not connected.

The Wizard would never make the initial module to card connection and only modprobe could achieve that.

Thanks,
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 18:45    Post subject:  

You could put
Code:
modprobe eepro autodetect=-1
in rc.local and it will be loaded at boot.
When you run then the NW Wizard and save the session, hopefully it'll stick this time.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WurlPuppy

Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 14:38    Post subject:  

Thanks! While I could not get the modprobe eepro autodetect=-1 to do anything in the directory/file you suggested, I was able to get it to at least connect to the card by placing the modprobe..... statement in a new file \startup\startnetwork.

Once that was done, at least the connect wizard would show the card connected and gave me the opportunity to run DHCP.

I then went back to my new startnetwork file and added
dhcpcd -d eth0

I saved and rebooted and all is well.

Thanks again,
Craig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0659s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]