Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 22:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Official icewm package is broken
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 02:09    Post_subject:  

There's an official IceWM? Well I'll be danged. Need to pay more attention. And Mplayer too? Huh.

Quote:
Quite right - window manager .pets should pop up a window telling you what to do.
May be worth being considerate to people who want to use the package in Unleashed, and craft the pinstall.sh script so that it only brings up windows and stuff if it's being installed as a package, not during Unleashed.

Easy enough to do. If it's being installed as a package, pwd will return'/' because PETget runs them at /. If it's being run from Unleashed, it will return the path to puppy-unleashed/rootfs-complete/.

So do something like this:
Code:
if [ "$(pwd)" = "/" ]; then
  Xdialog --msgbox "Yo.  Go do stuff." 0 0
fi



As for batteries, JWM does it fine. I don't know where exactly the decision to show or not show it happens - never wondered about it before. If the applet itself doesn't handle that, then you could just look in /proc/acpi/battery/. If it's empty, then either there is no battery, the battery module isn't loaded (then there would be no /proc/acpi/battery directory either), or the battery doesn't use acpi.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 03:15    Post_subject:  

Pizzasgood said
Quote:
As for batteries, JWM does it fine. I don't know where exactly the decision to show or not show it happens - never wondered about it before. If the applet itself doesn't handle that, then you could just look in /proc/acpi/battery/. If it's empty, then either there is no battery, the battery module isn't loaded (then there would be no /proc/acpi/battery directory either), or the battery doesn't use acpi.

I checked, /root/.jwmrc-tray. Seems to work fine for me either on laptop with battery or desktop. I will edit my /root/.icewm/preferences file on my desky just to see if it works as it should. Back in a sec...
done, rebooted desktop, no battery meter, just as in JWM. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 05:14    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
rebooted desktop, no battery meter, just as in JWM. Wink
the battery meter is launched by jwm swallowing the script asapmshell.
Code:
<Swallow name="asapm">
    asapmshell -u 4
</Swallow>

This script contains
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#v3.99 bugfix by kirk
if [ -a /proc/apm ]; then
 if [ "$(cat /proc/apm | cut -d % -f 1 | awk '{print $(NF)}')" -lt "0" ] ; then
  exit
 fi
fi

#refinement by jeffrey...
# Skip loading apm for PC with no /proc/apm or if field 7 (battery percentage) is negative, eg
#    1.16ac 1.2 0x03 0x01 0xff 0x80 -1% -1 ?
#awk -F '[ %]+' '$7<0 {exit 1}' /proc/apm 2>/dev/null || exit

exec asapm $@

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Tue 11 Nov 2008, 14:04    Post_subject:  

icewm can show batteries and network status by itself
look at the preferences file
the line with this words
(for battery)
show apm status

as for asapm it has -withdrawn option to tray isertion( for example, works good with stalonetray)

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2008, 05:19    Post_subject:  

@ HairyWill, What kind of code (language? 'scuse my ignorance!) is this in .jwmrc-tray? I know a little html and it looks similar.

@ ttuuxxx, I have found to get the tray working exactly as I want on my lappy I must make sure this line =1 and uncommented,
Code:
#  Show network status on task bar (Linux only)
TaskBarShowNetStatus=1 # 0/1

and these lines look like this.
Code:
#  Show APM/ACPI/Battery/Power status monitor on task bar
 TaskBarShowAPMStatus=1 # 0/1

#  Show APM status on task bar in time-format
 TaskBarShowAPMTime=0 # 0/1


The 'time-format' line I don't like, I prefer a percentage. However it is easy enough changed.

The other thing is, to ensure it all starts at bootup, I created a symlink in /root/Startup/ to ~/icewm/startup Confused

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2008, 05:30    Post_subject:  

jwm configuration files are written an xml like format

I'm not sure why you are mixing up icewm and jwm. They are both window managers and you only use one at a time.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2008, 05:36    Post_subject:  

Not mixing things up at all. I was earlier making a comparison. Thanks for your reply. When you say xml 'like', is there several formats like xml and html?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Wed 03 Dec 2008, 16:51    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
disciple wrote:


BTW, why don't you ever use the new 1.3x series Icewm? Is it just that it won't compile?


To answer that, Yes it won't compile, I tried numerous of things under 4.0 to get it to work, And now I tried about 6 things in 4.1 and still doewsn't. grrrrrrrrrrrr
well atleast the one which I have already, runs great Smile
ttuuxxx


ttuxxx, I get this from the depot...

"please apply the attached patches to icewm-1.3.3 since on a modern
C++ compiler, const-correctness is checked thoroughly.

Helmut Jarausch."

Could you verify this info from Helmut, thank you in advance
YImage_const.patch_icewm1.3.3.zip
Description  icewm-1.3.3 Patch
zip

 Download 
Filename  YImage_const.patch_icewm1.3.3.zip 
Filesize  996 Bytes 
Downloaded  358 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0737s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]