Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 09:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Project Ripple [in development]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 7 [104 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 13:21    Post subject:  

Hi Dinky,

Here a link on my mirror in Florida.

http://puppylinux.igsobe.com/puppylinux/tpp/Ripple/iso/test_iso/

Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 14:06    Post subject:  

ripple_06.2
GPRS connect works but you must have a pup_save file active to see the "PGPRS Connect" and "PGPRS Setup" links in the network menu. If you dont have a pup_save file then you need to do as per the attached images.

from menu>Setup>wizard wizard>connet to internet>intenet by wireless GPRS modem> (now look at attached images gprs.internet.png) > then in a terminal/consol (now look at attached images pgprs-connect.png)
pgprs-connect.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.95 KB
 Viewed   1435 Time(s)

pgprs-connect.png

gprs.internet.png
 Description   
 Filesize   64.41 KB
 Viewed   1446 Time(s)

gprs.internet.png


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 16:34    Post subject:  

Ripple6.3 Emerald still needs to use the ctl+alt+backspace to do a selection.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>

Last edited by aarf on Sat 22 Nov 2008, 00:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LaneLester

Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Rural Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 17:01    Post subject:  

dinky wrote:
Hi folks! Test iso ripple_06-3.iso uploading now. This is my first attempt at integrating proprietry Nvidia & ATI drivers into Ripple. Testers please!

*Remember, Ripple won't work unless you choose the x24 resolution in the xorgwizard, REGARDLESS of what support your graphics card has. i.e., this would be 1024x768x24 NOT 1024x768x16.

No joy, dinky! The same as with 06-2, it recognized my nVidia card and offered to install the driver. But I still didn't have window manipulation stuff.

And this time I "remembered" to select 24-bit graphics. The quotation marks are because I failed to see that tip before.

Lane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 19:38    Post subject:  

Hi Lane, I know you've done it before, but can you post your graphics card again? I'll do some research over the next wee and see what I come up with.

@aarf
Thanks for all that info! I'll reply soon.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LaneLester

Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Rural Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 21:00    Post subject:  

dinky wrote:
Hi Lane, I know you've done it before, but can you post your graphics card again? I'll do some research over the next wee and see what I come up with.

I don't mind at all. I just know it as a generic 5500, but Ripple reports it to be a:
NV34 [GeForce FX 5500]
and it says it's going to install:
nvidia - 173.14.12
for the driver.

I know it's an older card, but the drivers exist since Ubuntu Intrepid will install a proprietary driver for it.

Later: I just found this on Wikipedia which is not encouraging:
The GeForce FX series is no longer supported by the binary NVidia drivers as of version 177.80. Owners of GeForce FX hardware now have to use the legacy drivers, which cannot be used at the same time as the regular drivers and will not be updated to work with newer Linux kernels or Xorg releases.

I may have to buy a new card, but I'm reluctant because I don't do any gaming, and I didn't like Compiz in Ubuntu. Essentially, it seemed too elitest, designed for people who didn't have a life and spent all their time tweaking their desktops. There were a zillion options and no clue as to what they did (in plain English) or what settings might be useful.

Off-topic remark: I found the 60-2 background much more engaging than the 60-3. The minute it popped on the screen I called my wife to come enjoy it with me.

Lane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 21:40    Post subject:  

<removed false suggestion>
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>

Last edited by aarf on Sat 22 Nov 2008, 00:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Fri 21 Nov 2008, 23:15    Post subject:  

@ aarf. I don't think so... but we can try. As far as I know the vmlinuz is made differently when rebuilt from unleashed, and the initrd.gz has also changed. It's not particularly hard to download an iso, so I'm unlikley to do that.

@ LaneLester
Try manual configuration, and choose the earlier card drivers (96.something-or-other) If you got it working in Ubuntu, we'll get it working in Ripple. Does wNOP or TigerPup work on that card? Yeah, I think I prefer the 06-2 config as well.. someone had mentioned a dockbar that didn't autohide, so I thought I'd play around with other settings. Cheers.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LaneLester

Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Rural Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Nov 2008, 10:58    Post subject:  

dinky wrote:
@ LaneLester
Try manual configuration, and choose the earlier card drivers (96.something-or-other) If you got it working in Ubuntu, we'll get it working in Ripple. Does wNOP or TigerPup work on that card?

I tried manual configuration, but when I selected nVidia, it immediately proceeded without offering me a choice of drivers.

I discovered that Ubuntu is using driver "173".

TigerPup works fine with all window goodies. I observed that it is using driver 100.14.19.

Lane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 22 Nov 2008, 11:46    Post subject:  

Compiz Icon>configure compiz>General>general options>edge trigger delay needs to be moved above zero to say 2 or 3. With this setting both emerald and compriz management become easier in small screens. Double clicking the quit button in emerald is made possible.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sat 22 Nov 2008, 22:00    Post subject:  

Thanks aarf. I'll have a look at the drivers shortly ane, no time for the next day or two however. Thanks for sticking with it, I'll try and get a fix happening. I'm sure we'll get it working. I'll answer all the above in more detail in the next few days. Thans for your enthusiasm folks!
~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 24 Nov 2008, 01:02    Post subject:  

until the graphic designers/artist do their magic:
attached GPRS icon.
Note that GPRS isn't supported in native Xandros on eeePC 701 so GPRS is a definite selling point for ripple.
test2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   1.87 KB
 Viewed   1273 Time(s)

test2.png


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Mon 24 Nov 2008, 04:32    Post subject:  

Thanks aarf. Can you explain to me what gprs is? I'm woefully ignorant. Cheers.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 24 Nov 2008, 07:05    Post subject:  

@dinky Gprs lets you connect your laptop to the internet via cable or bluetooth to/with your mobile phone at any location you can use your mobile phone . Gprs/EDGE is a pre 3G technology that is still the only one used in large parts of some countries. The same connection scripts can also be used to do the same for 3G at least in Knoppix so I assume in puppy too.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Mon 24 Nov 2008, 08:15    Post subject:  

That's really awesome! I'll have to try it when I get a chance, though I'm not sure how to do it with my mobile. Data cable works fine... anyway... will have a play. That really makes the eeepc's extremely portable with Ripple. I'm wanting to integrate wep cracking software into Ripple's next release as well, to... um... test your own home secruity. I suppose this is the first real release we're working towards. Can you be in charge of the Gprs integration? I know nothing about it, and it would be great if someone else culd take this onboard. What this means is probably just creating some user docs for it, and helping integrate it into the user interface. Sounds like it could be good to have that icon you made on the dock bar.

I'd like to start pushing Ripple out more on other forums as well (there was a live cd starting up on the compiz-fusion thread.. we've just done it), but currently it comes down to time. I want to be developing this stuff, not talking about it to others. We aso need more testers for the latest beta version, to see if the cfwizard is working at al. Anyway, cheers for that.
~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 7 [104 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0679s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]