Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 04:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Icepup 301 alpha
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3201
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Wed 15 Oct 2008, 16:27    Post subject:  Icepup 301 alpha
Subject description: Icepup reborn
 

Very Happy Hello,
This is Icepup 301:


As many of you know, Todd Richardson, the original creator of Icepup, a 2.xx series minimalist Pup, has decided to concentrate his efforts elsewhere, and offered the Icepup name for developement. As I have always liked the name, I have taken it over...
Icepup 301 is a completely different thing. Based on FF301, and well equipped at 130mb, it is neither small nor minimalist..
This is the Alpha release, for testing, and includes:
Icewm, with custom theme
Icecat, with the "Arctic Glow" theme, and Forecastbar and Cooliris Previews add-on`s installed
Gdesklets
Mplayer
Textmaker
Fotox
Gslapt and Petch
Cpu Power Mode
3DCC
And a few other surprises!!!
As this is an Alpha, a few bugs may arise, especially with Icecat
It is available as Icepup301alpha.iso, along with the md5sum, from the meowplanet link in my signature below.
Any feedback/test results are always appreciated. Very Happy
.......Jay........aka Puppyluvr........

@ The problems with Icecat are being caused by the "Arctic Glow" theme I installed.. Embarassed Please disable it to correct any problems...Thx...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...

Last edited by puppyluvr on Sun 01 May 2011, 11:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bezeen

Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 17:32    Post subject:  

If you started a new icepup - why not 4.1?

I really like your desktop (gdesklets) but i think puppy 4.1 has some advantage over 3.01...

btw - Icepup 3.01 alpha is looking good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3413
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 18:02    Post subject:  

puppyluvr :

Love that bear pic.
Can i download it from somewhere?..........thanks.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 18:52    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Can i download it from somewhere?..........thanks.
Yes by reading carefully the initial post. Wink
Sorry, just realized you were talking about the beer, not the distro. Embarassed

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch

Last edited by Béèm on Fri 17 Oct 2008, 06:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3201
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 19:14    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
@cthisbear,
Cute, aint he. His name is Flocke. You can google him, and another named Knut, for some great polar bear cubs pics. Very Happy

@bezeen,
Yes, I agree, 4.01 has many advantages, and features, over 3.01..
However, its being very new, Ive had little time to work with / test it yet.
I have not yet set up the infrastructure for building with 4.01, heck, Ive barely gotten to test it!!
Actually, the Developers Edition will be my next toy, and my "roadmap" to 4.01..

OTOH, I have a complete dev. setup for 3.01, a ton of local packages/libs, and a tried and true 3.01 base to build upon. My other 3.01 Puppy, Transitions, has proven very stable and takes everything I throw at it in stride...
I think we have a lot more yet to get from 3.01..Oh, Ill eventually give in to temptation, and try a 4.01 built, probably from unleashed, but I`ll have to D/L a lot of new packages!!!
Meanwhile, I wanted to build Icepup from the "tried and true", and that with which Im the most familiar...
Ive had great results from it so far, once I change the Icecat theme, and hope to built it into a release people can get some use and enjoyment out of...
Remember, it is still an alpha to me....
THX... Very Happy

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 20:48    Post subject:  

Just finished a full install on my virtual (qemu) PC. It runs very well.
But there is a serious show stopper for international users.
There is no national keyboard support.
What do I do with my Belgian keyboard?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3201
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 21:23    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello Béèm,
Although I havnt ever tested it , nor would I know if it was correct anyhow, but the keyboard wizard shows Belgium as one of the available layouts.

If it doesnt work properly, Ill find out how to get it straightened out..

Last edited by puppyluvr on Fri 17 Oct 2008, 12:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 04:35    Post subject:  

Quote:
.. problems with Icecat are being caused by the "Arctic Glow" theme I installed.. Embarrassed Please disable it to correct any problems

How?!

Nice project which is going to appeal to many.

The display at 800x600 is seriously displaced. I suspect that, contrary to the protestations of M. tt**xxx, this is the default resolution used by most punters and will continue to be so in perpetuity for all the reasons rehearsed many, many times before {recall that BK had contemplating using a 640x480 default at one time, which probably accurately reflects the initial display for most folk looking at derivatives on their box-under-the-bed}.
And that brings us to your crime-for-today. You have violated the rules of this board by exceeding the permitted maximum sizing for your pictures! Naughty boy. Please correct.

Some of your system tray icons don't show text upon hovering.
Singularly unfortunate that you chose to offer a 'Power Off' icon so prominently. We all know that one of the major features of this genre is that Power Off doesn't on so many systems! Maybe you are going to be the guy to fix this once and for all?

But I like it. 4.1 should be fantastique.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3201
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 08:22    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
@Sage,
IDK, but it is the theme...If I re-enable it, Icecat will freeze up or just shut down...It seems to be related to Flash websites, and I thought it was strange, as I had tested it thoroughly..The only thing I had changed was the theme, so I removed it..Bingo..Flash websites all day long, 2 or 3 tabs worth, trying to kill it, and its still going. Very Happy .Im relieved, as I really thought Icecat was a great Browser for Icepup...

I thought 800/600 was the max, but no matter..Just wanted to show Beem what/where I had found..As soon as he responds, I`ll remove them anyways...

Thanks for the tip about the tray icons, Ill check it out..
As for the Poweroff button, Yes, 3.01 sometimes has shutdown probs, and on some machines, (Dell) wont shutdown at all, or leaves the user at the CLI or a blank screen every time..To save my ex dozers from the CLI "reboot or poweroff", I put a script on the desktop to run wmpoweroff directly.. Full shutdown in 15 seconds on my machine, including a 5 sec "sleep" for Arnold to say goodbye...Plus, it made it comvenient to include a "poweroff" sound... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 08:34    Post subject:  

puppyluvr wrote:
Very Happy Hello Béèm,
Although I havnt ever tested it , nor would I know if it was correct anyhow, but the keyboard wizard shows Belgium as one of the available layouts.
Pictures deleted.
If it doesnt work properly, Ill find out how to get it straightened out..
I have to say sorry Embarassed
But I am so used to have the keyboard selection at a new boot, that I never had to go into the keyboard selection manually, so I didn't think of it.
I did now and it's ok.
Another lesson learned.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Todd

Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 10:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
As many of you know, Todd Richardson, the original creator of Icepup, a 2.xx series minimalist Pup, has decided to concentrate his efforts elsewhere, and offered the Icepup name for developement.


I really love what you have done!

Todd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 14:37    Post subject:  

Some more comments.
1 - text appearing when hovering over:
No problems for the system tray icons. They all show text.
However for the series of icons above that, only connect shows text. Well in fact of the whole desktop connect is the only one.

2 - On next boot the clock was wrong, altho selected correctly previously. Had to go to select timezone via the menu, it was still selected correctly (Paris) and upon exit my clock showed the correct local time.

3 - Altho I can select the weather for my town (Brussels) on the website, entering this code in the desktop applet has no effect.
Not a big deal, but I would like to see my weather here.
Changing from Fahrenheit to Celsius doesn't stick between boots.

4 - clicking on Welcome to Icepup gives a file doesn't exist/can't access it message.

Will continue exploring.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3201
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 16:54    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
@Béèm,
Thanks for the feedback, it is very much appreciated.. Very Happy
Quote:
1 - text appearing when hovering over:

Boy am I glad you pointed that out!! I forgot to "install" my custom icon set!! Not only is it not linked to the defaults, (hence no hover), but I never even put them where they belong, and they are still in a folder in root!!! Embarassed It will be fixed!!

Quote:
On next boot the clock was wrong,

IDK if it has something to do with that, but I forgot to mention that Icepup boots acpi=off by default, to keep from smoking laptops...You might try changing it to "on" or "force"...
Although my Wifes Dell has no prob. , we have 3 Compaq lappys, and they all will burn down in about 10 minutes if acpi is left on. IDK how the CPU scaler works with acpi=off, but it does, and well...APM maybe? Keeps the Compaq much cooler... Very Happy


3 -
Quote:
Altho I can select the weather for my town (Brussels) on the website, entering this code in the desktop applet has no effect.

Did you try entering your Postal Zip Code??

Quote:
clicking on Welcome to Icepup gives a file doesn't exist/can't access it message.

Works for me..Live CD in ram...Hmmm..
The message is on the top level,"/", and is called Welcome.htm"..Is it there on yours??
That is the tip of an Iceberg in progress, as I intend to include a linked local doc with basic instructions for many items, and Puppy in general....

Thanks, and keep exploring!!! Very Happy
..............Jay...............[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 19:52    Post subject:  

Can you decode for me IDK?

Clock.
My PC is a virtual one. (qemu) Nevertheless I will see with acpi.

Weather
If I put my zip code it doesn't work.
The zip code is a Belgian one not a US one.
I can go the the weather site and select Brussels, Belgium. I can see a code something like EUR|BE|BE003|BRUSSELS, but when I enter this, no joy.
Does that location field accept only digits?


Welcome
No Welcome.htm in /
But there is one in /usr/share/examples/text

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2008, 20:14    Post subject:  

Did forget another thing.
The power off isn't correctly done.
When pushed I get the panel to save or not, but in a full install there is no save to do to a pup_save file.

Normally there is a message something like already saved
Send signal to the processes or the like
Then the PC powers of or there is a message system halted.

When I take no save, the PC I think some init script executes and I get the desktop again.

I tried the acpi=on and boot freezes at trying to get IP address from DHCP server (60sec timeout)...

EDIT
Must have been a coincidence. I did set acpi=on again and boot went ok. But still at power off I get the panel saying I booted from a CD and I am proposed to save.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0934s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]