Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 08 Dec 2019, 05:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Need suggestions for installation type
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
_MegadetH_

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2008, 06:27    Post subject:  Need suggestions for installation type  

Hi! I'm new to Puppy Linux. I think it's very good and fast, better than Xubuntu.
I have a pentium III 650 Mhz with 320Mb ram.

1) Which installation type is better for my computer? I'd like to install to hard disc to run without cd inserted.

2) After the Hd installation will my system run faster or lower than boot cd live?

3) I'd like to know there are advantages or not having an hd installation.

thanks in advance
smokey01

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2008, 07:01    Post subject: Re: Need suggestions for installation type  

_MegadetH_ wrote:
Hi! I'm new to Puppy Linux. I think it's very good and fast, better than Xubuntu.
I have a pentium III 650 Mhz with 320Mb ram.

1) Which installation type is better for my computer? I'd like to install to hard disc to run without cd inserted.

2) After the Hd installation will my system run faster or lower than boot cd live?

3) I'd like to know there are advantages or not having an hd installation.

thanks in advance

_MegadetH,

A full HD installation is likely to be the fastest however the frugal install is by far the easiest to maintain. The frugal will be faster than the CD boot. 4.1RC boots on my machine in just under 30 seconds.

_MegadetH_

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2008, 07:18    Post subject: Re: Need suggestions for installation type