Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 18 Nov 2018, 06:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
jfsutils-1.1.13
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Chewi


Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2009, 18:52    Post subject:  

Can't use a PCMCIA card like that, I'm afraid. It only takes 16-bit cards and there aren't any 16-bit USB (most likely the same for FireWire) cards in existence. Believe me, I searched for hours! I was desperately searching for a way to hook up an external mouse without the replicator and even tried to find an IrDA mouse to no avail. I didn't even consider Bluetooth at first because I thought there was no way there could be 16-bit cards for that. How wrong was I? Laughing

It's funny what I've managed to do with DOS. I've had the Bluetooth mouse working in that via DOSEMU but without X. I've even connected to the net through my wired Netgear card in real DOS with no emulation! Web browser, IRC and even SSH. FreeDOS is pretty funky. Very Happy That Cisco wireless card I have even has a DOS driver (supports WEP) but I haven't bothered trying that. There are limits to my madness.

_________________
Running Puppy 4.00 on a Toshiba Libretto 70CT. That's a Pentium 120MMX, 32MB RAM machine the size of a VHS cassette! It works like a charm. I even have wireless (WPA) and Bluetooth. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2009, 20:36    Post subject:  

This is fun. When I need a change of pace, a different screen-look, I boot my $50 Thinkpad 570 into DOS 6.22, set up a RAM disk holding Arachne browser and NewDeal Office Suite (the best Office software for DOS, IMHO), and Pine 3.96 (for AOL mail) and surf with my Orinoco card.

Yeah, 640K will really slow down the rendering, but I'm a news junkie, and going to text-only sites (m.cnn.com) is pretty much instant-on in a RAM disk.

Couldn't get the same DOS set-up working in the Libby for reasons unknown.

Aitch, when not in Puppy, how retro have you set up your 560?

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Chewi


Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2009, 20:47    Post subject:  

Yeah, Arachne was the browser. Very Happy FreeDOS works okay on the Libby though I did a fair bit of tweaking to the startup files. Can't remember if any of that tweaking was actually required to make it work.

All this is making me sound like a DOS junkie but my heart really lies in AmigaOS. *pats his Amiga 1200 with 128MB RAM* That's another story though. Wink

_________________
Running Puppy 4.00 on a Toshiba Libretto 70CT. That's a Pentium 120MMX, 32MB RAM machine the size of a VHS cassette! It works like a charm. I even have wireless (WPA) and Bluetooth. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6815
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 11:11    Post subject:  

jakfish

It's been awhile, but I too, used to dosbrowse bbses etc, possibly arachne, or lynx or some variant, can't honestly remember - I had a russian one that was quite good at graphics....
[hah, chewi, I had a cp/m trs80]

Had usb working OK, with an external harddrive & an external CD writer [only 2x, but worked OK] played with microdrives for extra ram effect, but once had hyperdisk working, a dos based ram utility which was quite fast

I used to trawl shell extension city for dos apps/tips though I eventually got a fairly solid W98SE+ME bits working quite well, and easy to repair; before discovering puppy, I'd tried allsorts of 'nixes from floppy up

Nowadays, I've gotten lazy, & too many failed ideas, I guess
Computers still aren't assembled right IMHO
All that processor power, & harddrive space not being used.....gggrr! Laughing

Never did get my clustered scsi boxes working, but I may get back to it....

Was there a reason you asked?

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 11:51    Post subject:  

No, I just wanted to know, since we all seemed to be on the same page. I have only seen pictures of the Trash 80, never one in the flesh. I'll still telnet/lynx even in Puppy 4.1.2 when I get too impatient w/ the bloat of graphics on the Internet.

Never heard of hyperdisk--I'm inspired to search it out Smile And I never could find a true screen blanker for DOS, just screen savers that were dark. It drove me crazy since I was using DOS to save battery to begin with.

The Thinkpad 570 has that built-in F3 screen blanker that truly does shut down the screen in DOS.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Chewi


Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Perth, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 11:56    Post subject:  

I should point out that DOSEMU actually boots much faster than real DOS on the Libby and seems faster in general. I guess it doesn't have to do any real hardware detection and benefits from Linux's better drivers underneath.
_________________
Running Puppy 4.00 on a Toshiba Libretto 70CT. That's a Pentium 120MMX, 32MB RAM machine the size of a VHS cassette! It works like a charm. I even have wireless (WPA) and Bluetooth. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6815
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 14:25    Post subject:  

hehe

The 570 was my second IBM, with a 4Gb hdd sporting W3.11, now in the 560, replaced by a 10Gb 5200rpm drive - much quicker [The 570 was saved from a company upgrade to 600s]

Just for fun - still active!

http://4dos.zzl.org/

& this may interest you: 4dos2unix commands

http://www.gci275.com/archive/jambtm02.zip

this gives upper memory info for dos speed

http://www.cubic.org/docs/configuring.htm

more tips

http://www.gci275.com/websites.shtml

Anyhow, enough history updates [I'm a boring ol' f*rt, really Wink ]

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DMcCunney

Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 894

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2009, 15:11    Post subject:  

Aitch wrote:
Had usb working OK, with an external harddrive & an external CD writer [only 2x, but worked OK] played with microdrives for extra ram effect, but once had hyperdisk working, a dos based ram utility which was quite fast

I still have my old XT clone sitting on a shelf. A NEC V20 CPU running at 10mhz, 640KB of main memory, and AST 6Pak card with a MB of EMS memory, of which 512K went to a ramdisk, 256K was disk cache, and 256K was used by various things that could address EMS. A ?Hercules graphics card drove an Amdek amber monitor. Two 20MB Seagate ST-225 hard drives completed the package.

My boot sequence copied COMMAND.COM and some other frequently used utilities to the ramdisk for instant access, and stuff that could be told what to use for temp files, like PKZIP, got pointed there. Sped stuff up a treat.

The secret weapon was the MKS Toolkit, from Mortice Kern Systems. The Toolkit provided DOS versions of most Unix commands that made sense in a single user, single tasking environment, including a remarkably complete version of the Korn shell, which had everything save asynchronous sub-processes (since DOS didn't do that.)

Installed in fullest Unix compatibility mode, the Toolkit replaced COMMAND.COM at boot with init.exe. Init ran, and printed a Login: prompt and optional password. When you entered an ID, it looked it up in a Unix compatible /etc/passwd file, and if it found it, it changed to whatever was that ID's home directory, and ran whatever was specified as the ID's shell.

I had IDs that used the Korn shell, JP Software's 4DOS, vanilla COMMAND.COM, and Desqview. If I exited the shell I was using, control returned to init, I'd get a login prompt, and could use a different ID. I could change environments without having to reboot the machine. When I was running the MKS Korn shell, it could be hard to tell it wasn't really a Unix machine, as all the usual Unix commands were there and everything largely worked the way it would on Unix.

I had a lot of fun seeing how much performance I could squeeze out of the box, and my setup produced a variety of "But you can't do taht in DOS!" comments.

I used a variety of the procedure when I moved to Win 3.1, and had custom logins that would diddle the Win 3.1 config files and run Win 3.1 with alternative desktops instead of the default Program Manager. The one I used most often was an IBM Employee written freeware offering that tried to make Windows look and act like OS/2's Workplace Shell. That didn't have Program Manager's 40 program group limitation, and allowed icons on the desktop, Moving to Win95 was painless for my SO, because she used the IBM environment under Win 3.1, and was already used to the new concepts.

Quote:
I used to trawl shell extension city for dos apps/tips though I eventually got a fairly solid W98SE+ME bits working quite well, and easy to repair; before discovering puppy, I'd tried allsorts of 'nixes from floppy up

Ahhh. Shell City has been one of my daily visits for years. Site owner Bob Helmer does a magnificent job of collecting interesting free stuff for Windows, and has links for stuff for other OSes as well.

I was delighted to finally migrate off Win98SE to Win2K. Despite everything I knew to keep it stable (and I knew a fair bit), it reached the point where I was rebooting five times a day. I held off as long as I did because certified drivers weren't available for my scanner. I eventually found beta drivers that worked. Win2K just ran, and only got rebooted if I diddled with the hardware or installed software that required it. Otherwise, it was up 24/7.

I still have it around, triple-booting 2K, XP and Ubuntu on the desktop.
______
Dennis

Last edited by DMcCunney on Thu 05 Mar 2009, 08:37; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Thu 05 Mar 2009, 06:51    Post subject:  

Aitch--those are great sites. Your web crawling is better than mine Smile

Dennis: quite a zone you've found. The NEC V20 is circa late eighties? It's one thing to do what you did, quite another when you worked with only 1 1/2 mbs of memory. My first laptop was a Bondwell with a meg of memory total--and I thought just running DOSShell was impressive.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DMcCunney

Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 894

PostPosted: Thu 05 Mar 2009, 08:33    Post subject:  

jakfish wrote:
Dennis: quite a zone you've found. The NEC V20 is circa late eighties?

Something like that. It was an 8086 clone with improved microcode, so it ran about 5% - 15% faster at the same clock rate. It also added 80186 instructions, so some software compiled for the 80286 could run on it. It was a chep performance increase. There was also a NEC V30 that was an 80286 clone.

Quote:
It's one thing to do what you did, quite another when you worked with only 1 1/2 mbs of memory.

You got creative back then, because the hardware was limited.

My Palm OS PDA runs faster (200mhz), has more RAM (128MB), and more storage (two 2GB SD cards) than the old XT clone.

Quote:
My first laptop was a Bondwell with a meg of memory total--and I thought just running DOSShell was impressive.

I vaguely recall the Bondwell.

Ancient kit still turns up in novel applications. A few years ago, I was at ConJose, the World Science Fiction Convention in San Jose, CA. The Registration area was using ancient laptops with no hard drive, booting off a floppy running MS-DOS, and using DBase III storing data on a floppy. Whenever they had a slack period, they had a process that synced everybody's updates to a master database. If it was a peak period and they had to add staffers to handle the volume, they booted up a few more laptops.

No network, no server, no complexity, and dirt cheap to implement. I was boggled when I realized what they'd done. I'm an IT guy used to servers and networks, and it's not an approach I would have thought of.
(The guy who ran ConJose's Registration operation had been a programmer at Ashton Tate back when. He said "I wrote some of the most annoying parts of DBase III." Razz )
______
Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Thu 05 Mar 2009, 08:46    Post subject:  

Sometimes simple is good, the way to go. I recently hacked my Panasonic DVD player to make it region-free. The easiest way turned out to be within a program written for DOS, booted off a DOS floppy, that shot the code to the player via IR. I've never seen DOS play nice with IR, but I'm no longer confined to Region One, so something must've worked.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1198s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]