Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 06:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
My new number 1!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
EricZ


Joined: 06 Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Fri 01 Aug 2008, 20:42    Post_subject:  My new number 1!
Sub_title: NOP puplet:Love this puplet- but can't get dotpuphandler to work
 

Thanks for the best puplet, NOP has all of my preferences pre-installed for me!
Unfortunately I can't get the dotpuphandler to work. I'm not that advanced to where I can just install programs from the command line (although I do have some debian and sidux experience - apt-get works there!) so I need the automatic installer.
When I try the official 4.0 release it works fine - the dotpups show up as bones icons instead of "zipboxes" and 1 click and it installs.

I've tried re-booting , re/de-installing the puphandler with the package manager to no avail.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

E.

P.S. I run a Fujitsu Siemens T-series lifebook (tablet) w/pentium.
500mb RAM and 40gb hdd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Aug 2008, 22:58    Post_subject: Re: My new number 1!
Sub_title: NOP puplet:Love this puplet- but can't get dotpuphandler to work
 

EricZ wrote:
Thanks for the best puplet, NOP has all of my preferences pre-installed for me!
Unfortunately I can't get the dotpuphandler to work. I'm not that advanced to where I can just install programs from the command line (although I do have some debian and sidux experience - apt-get works there!) so I need the automatic installer.
When I try the official 4.0 release it works fine - the dotpups show up as bones icons instead of "zipboxes" and 1 click and it installs.

I've tried re-booting , re/de-installing the puphandler with the package manager to no avail.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!



Just download it and click it, the package manager should install it, then you can use the dotpups by clicking on them the same way you would a pet package, the default package manager will install them.
http://www.puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/pet_packages-4/dotpuphandler-0.0.4-2.pet

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
EricZ


Joined: 06 Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 06:18    Post_subject:  puphandler not working
Sub_title: still not working
 

Thanks for the quick reply and link/package!
But still not working. This one really stumps me.
When I try to re-install the puphandler I get the message that it is already installed - because it is. Like said; I installed the pup handler with the normal package manager successfully.
I've added a couple of screenshots (see attachments).

So I guess I have to learn to add + compile files and tar.gz's manually now. But that's not really the point is it? Especially when I know that it works with the standard 4.0 release.

I guess I could try re-installing puppy too (one of the advantages of an 80mb OS!!!)
BTW, I have a full install of puppy to my hard drive.

Thanks again for any ideas/help!
Screenshot-2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot-2.png 
Filesize  370.09 KB 
Downloaded  653 Time(s) 
Screenshot.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.png 
Filesize  107.79 KB 
Downloaded  643 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 12:50    Post_subject:  

hi
you can also just convert pups to pets it that helps?
open up a terminal in the folder where the pup resides
right click on the mouse in the folder where the pup is and select "Terminal Here"
then type
pup2pet nameOfPup.pup <---always the full name of the pup including the .pup at the end
hope that helps.

Also you might just want to uninstall the one you installed first, Just open the puppy package manager and click on the puphandler you already installed it will give you a choice to uninstall it and select yes, Then install the one from the link I gave you and see if that works

I don't use NOP but is it puppy based on puppy 3 or 4 ?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 17:33    Post_subject:  

it looks like .pup is associated with xarchive.
I don't know how you set that in Thunar/xfce.
Try a right-click on a pup to see, if there is an option to set a program for it.
The required program should be
/usr/sbin/dotpuprox.sh

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 18:41    Post_subject: pup packages  

EricZ,

pup packages are officially discouraged for Puppy 4.0. You may find some do not work.
It looks like the dotpuphandler has installed so as Mu said all you need to do is tell Xfce how to open pup files. To do this right click on a pup file to get the context menu. Select "Open with other Application". In the window that pops up select "Use a custom command". In the entry field that appears type dotpuprox.sh and select the open button. Make sure the "use as default" option is ticked so that next time Xfce will know how to open pup files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EricZ


Joined: 06 Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun 03 Aug 2008, 05:17    Post_subject:  Thanks!
Sub_title: works now
 

Wow ! Thank you all for your great info+help.
I'm kind of embarrassed now to say that I fixed it differently than your suggestions. Although I will use them too.

I installed ROX. That recognized the pups from the git go and did everything as expected.

My original reason to use the pup was because I couldn't get Java's JRE to work! I know there are soooo many ways and the pups are "dicouraged"; but believe it or don't - the pup worked the best!

So now JRE works in Firefox but not in Opera - but that's another problem (not really because I never use Opera anyways).

I guess I will really have to do my homework and sart installing/compiling etc. from the command line.

Now that that's solved; does anybody know of a good MPEG encoder?

(I think I 'd better start another thread)

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0595s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]