Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 01:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
mut2 update - fixes for Dingo 4.1alpha5
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Fri 01 Aug 2008, 11:29    Post subject:  mut2 update - fixes for Dingo 4.1alpha5  

Hello Puppians,

There are a few reports that mut2 is not working right in the latest dingo 4.1 beta 5.
I've fixed up the obvious problem, the one where if you select 'mut' in Pmount, that pmount goes away and never returns...

Attached is the binary application only tarball - extract mut, copy it over to /usr/sbin/mut, and the source in a seperate tarball.

Adittionally, if you want mut to list drives in Pmount the same as without mut, then edit /usr/sbin/pmount (text editor) and change line 56:
from this:
PROBEDISK='mut probedisk'
to this:
PROBEDISK='mut probedisk2'

Let us know if theres still any issues with mut2! - post replys here or pm/email me.

Regards, Jesse

Last edited by Jesse on Wed 13 Aug 2008, 23:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 01 Aug 2008, 12:02    Post subject:  

Hi Jesse,

Well that seems to have fixed the disappearing pmount after ticking the mut check box....this works well..thanks.

Swap partitions are still not shown here.

Best,
Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Fri 01 Aug 2008, 12:44    Post subject:  

Caneri wrote:
Well that seems to have fixed the disappearing pmount after ticking the mut check box....this works well..thanks.

Swap partitions are still not shown here.


Coolies, I'm glad that it fixed for you.

The Pmount is a seperate entity to mut, and it doesn't seem to do swap partitions.
There is a mut2 gui which lets you un-swap, but to use it on Dingo you need to install the tcl/tk environment, which I understand is a few megabytes (maybe 8-10??).

For swaping of a partition, there is always the command line swapon and swapoff commands that work in a pinch. Command line "cat /proc/swaps" lets you see what is being used.

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 01 Aug 2008, 12:51    Post subject:  

Thanks Jesse,

Seeing the swap is not important as the console works nicely.

I just got used to seeing swaps in the older mut and kinda liked it.

Thanks again,
Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 05:52    Post subject:  

Well, I could add managing swap partitions to Pmount, will write that into the to-do-list.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 06:02    Post subject:  

Jesse,
A major problem! I now get nothing when I run 'mut probedisk2', 'mut probedisk' or 'mut probepart'.

The reason, probably, is because of the latest "IDE kernel" I'm running. See my blog, http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00268

On my laptop now, my hard drive is /dev/hda, my DVD drive is /dev/hdb and my own probedisk2 gives:

/dev/hda|drive|WDC WD600UE-22KVT0
/dev/hdb|optical|PHILIPS DVD-RAM SDVD8821

I had to fix my 'probedisk2' and 'probepart' scripts to work with both the PATA and older IDE devnode naming.
Basically, the old devnodes exist if /proc/ide exists, otherwise it is the new PATA-only kernel.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sun 03 Aug 2008, 06:34    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,

Hey no worries, its probably just a typo in the source code somewhere, I'll fix it up when I can download the Puppy 4.1alpha5-with-IDE-kernel, presumably it'll be findable in the regular place test/puppy-4.1alpha5, I guess I must just be early, I'll check back later.

Regards, Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sun 03 Aug 2008, 23:42    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,

Updates to make it work for the new IDE kernel.

Regards Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Wed 13 Aug 2008, 23:04    Post subject:  

Hello,

Here is another update. There was an annoying bug lurking in there and I have remedied the situation.

The bug - possibly not reporting drive info on first execution.
The remedy: rather complex. but simply put, a combination of, always waiting for the hardware to be scanned, if the kernel/hardware is unable to report data from the hardware in tha the first io operation does not return for ages (131 seconds here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=29566 ) then in this sort of case mut decides that it can skip over waiting for that drive to complete its scan.
The rule inside mut is that there is a full second that we can wait for the first read operation for any given drive to succeed, usually the root partition table sector (512 bytes), or a drive ioctl.

I've also added a --formats command to mutclient so that you can know all the names of the parameters that it outputs.

Regards
Jesse
mut2-src-1.3.2.1238.tar.gz
Description  Source code + binary
gz

 Download 
Filename  mut2-src-1.3.2.1238.tar.gz 
Filesize  235.9 KB 
Downloaded  535 Time(s) 
mut2-binary-1.3.2.1238.tar.gz
Description  mut2 Binary only
gz

 Download 
Filename  mut2-binary-1.3.2.1238.tar.gz 
Filesize  60.34 KB 
Downloaded  370 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 14 Aug 2008, 00:35    Post subject:  

Hi Jesse,

Getting there...however...

It is showing two floppy drives, where in fact I have only one.

Swap partitions, not shown in recent editions of PMount, would be nice.

Automatic maximize-y (like the drop-down menu offers) would be nice, in the event one has as many partitions as I do.

Note: this is in 4.1-alpha-5 original (all sd*, not the IDE version).

Regardless of whether hd*+sd* or just sd* is the convention, PMount "should" sort hda hdb sda sdb et cetera correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Thu 14 Aug 2008, 23:02    Post subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
It is showing two floppy drives, where in fact I have only one.

Hi Sit Heel Speak,
Gosh yes you're right. One of them is coming from Pmount, the other is from Mut. I'm having a look at the PMount script and it seems that isn't coded for, but I'm a bit confused over how to fix it (I need more bash scripting experience).

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
Swap partitions, not shown in recent editions of PMount, would be nice.

I tend to agree on this one, mut and probepart list swap partitions as well as all the others, so its my guess that it can be done with just a few tweaks to Pmount.

Actually, I like all the ideas you suggested. But I need more bash scripting experience, and I'm yet to discover how Pmount makes its GUI run... My attempts so far have not resulted in something coherent.
I'll spend some more time on this over the weekend, hopefully I'll get lucky.
Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Aug 2008, 11:47    Post subject:  

It looks like I need to fix pmount. Um, my memory of this right now is not very clear, but I don't think my probedisk and probepart return floppy drive info -- hmm, need to rethink that. So, it is done in pmount.
But, I need to fix pmount to recognise that mut has returned floppy info.

I've made a note in my to-do list!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2008, 20:41    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
It looks like I need to fix pmount. Um, my memory of this right now is not very clear, but I don't think my probedisk and probepart return floppy drive info -- hmm, need to rethink that. So, it is done in pmount.
But, I need to fix pmount to recognise that mut has returned floppy info.

I've made a note in my to-do list!


Hi Barry & co,

I've figured out how Pmount does the floppy, and I've applied the minimal changes (to Pmount) that gets it working (no duplication or loss) with mut2 and with default engine.
My changes are on the Puppy 4.1beta (408) version of PMount.

Best Regards
Jesse
jesses_update_pmount.tar.gz
Description  correct file for pmount update (initially uploaded unchanged one, oooops)
gz

 Download 
Filename  jesses_update_pmount.tar.gz 
Filesize  5.92 KB 
Downloaded  361 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0803s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]