Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 05:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
rdesktop 1.6 - remote desktop for Puppy
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
shigles

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 16:14    Post subject: cannot seem to find rdesktop  

I installed the pet that tuuxx had made, it installed icwin, but I cannot find where it put rdesktop.

Help please!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RobertB


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Location: Big D

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2009, 17:33    Post subject: Re: cannot seem to find rdesktop  

shigles wrote:
I installed the pet that tuuxx had made, it installed icwin, but I cannot find where it put rdesktop.

Help please!

Did you try running it from the command line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Luke


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Location: London Suburbs

PostPosted: Fri 09 Oct 2009, 18:15    Post subject:    

Thanks ttuuxxx Surprised
This rdp client work great for my puppy 4.2.1.
I am able to connect to my office winXP box.

I connect to my office LAN using a Juniper SSL VPN though Firefox 2.0.07, then I can RDP to my win box.

Though this work great, if I use full screen mode, the display on my RDP connection once I am looking at the windows desktop, does not refresh properly and I see many renmants of the last GUIs I opened, e.g. task manager, txt files, etc. I am still testing various display setting on the ts client to avoid this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3632
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 21:37    Post subject: rdesktop 1.6
Subject description: Remote Desktop needs YOUR Help
 

ttuuxxx wrote:
well it should have a menu item
All you have to do when you install a program is
open a terminal and type
fixmenus
then go to menu/shutdown/restart JWM
and it will fix the menus with a new icon in the proper location
ttuuxxx


Before using this and before starting the trek to getting a simple straightforward implementation on what I see as the most simple Linux desktop for the modern age (PUPPY), I want to THANK "ttuuxxx" for his fine investigation on rdesktop. Assuming Puppy proponents can make this simple, this is a major application for teckies and newbies, alike in the Puppy environment.

I believe that this topic needs a "howto" and I believe that the forum isn't ubiquitous enough. What would it take for either a Howto document or a howto video on this? This is a MAJOR TOPIC and has very widespread use.

Even if Puppy decides to include the work of "ttuuxxx" (and this is very good clean implementation), a howto would still be useful as administrators and users could get a simple guide to remote Desktop Connections to a MS machine (XP Pro, Vista Business, all MS servers, Windows7 Enterprise, etc.)

Finally, if this application does become included somehow, most of the questions and the issues that I see here should diminish or disappear.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mika2008

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 30 Dec 2009, 17:10    Post subject:  

hello, can u have te last pet of the tseclient 2.0.1, please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 04:42    Post subject:  

mika2008 wrote:
hello, can u have te last pet of the tseclient 2.0.1, please?


not possible too many gnome libs needed
sh-3.00# No package 'libgnome-2.0' found
sh: No: command not found
sh-3.00# No package 'gnome-desktop-2.0' found
sh: No: command not found
sh-3.00# No package 'gnome-vfs-2.0' found
sh: No: command not found
sh-3.00# No package 'libnotify' found
sh: No: command not found
sh-3.00# No package 'libnm_glib' found
sh: No: command not found
libnotify isn't that bad but the rest forget it Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 05:40    Post subject:  

but if you have tcl installed, if not you can get it in the repo Smile
you could try this one I just made up for 2.14x its the latest rdesktop with a tcl gui.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=377011#377011
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yavan

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jan 2010, 05:52    Post subject:  

Hi, i have just fresh installed a 4.3.1 ver
and installed the rdesktop 1.6.0 ver that was submited on this thread
as i am using a win 2008 server and more then one keyboard layout on the server i must use the rdesktop 1.6.0 with the -G option (prevent window manager key bindings) otherwise it will mess up key bindings on each layout change, and the only option is to restart the session.
on puppy there is no -G option avilable while on opensuse 11.2 or ubuntu latest ver it is avilable.
i can see all options with rdesktop -v

may some one have a solution for this issue ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0599s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]