Wifi notworking G122 RT73 chipset

wedge22

Wifi notworking G122 RT73 chipset

#1 Post by wedge22 »

I am new to Linux and I have been trying my hardest to get wifi working on my Puppy 4.0 install. The network wizard finds the wifi usb device and installs the RT73 driver for it. I run my network with static IP's which i assign to all the networked devices. I also use WPA2 for security. My wifi device appears to work and blinks alot but the pc will not connect to the web or ping anything on the network. Please help me out.

wrathkeg

#2 Post by wrathkeg »

Hi Wedge22,

For what it's worth, I can confirm that the G122 (rev C1, anyway) can work out of the box.

I was having the same problems as you (everything looks to work, but actually doesn't connect) until I set up my router properly. See my post from yesterday: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31629. So you might check your router settings *very* carefully... Also, I am using WEP security and DHCP (haven't tried WPA and static IPs,since DHCP is working fine noe). Have you tried disabling securing on the router, and then trying to connect?

WK

wedge22

#3 Post by wedge22 »

Thanks for the tip, I have a ?Dlink router too so I will look for the option to save and reboot the router after making changes. I already changed to DHCP from static and made the WPA2 key 10 characters in length. I can try WEP but do not want to use it all the time as its not so secure. By disabling securing do you mean just turning off all security?

wrathkeg

#4 Post by wrathkeg »

Yes, you could turn off security just for a few minutes while you see if you can connect. Then, if you can connect (like I could when I tried), you know that it's security that's (probably) the issue. If you still can't connect, you know that the problems lie somewhere else.

Incidentally, have you tried this how to?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469