Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 19 Nov 2018, 16:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How I updated the BIOS in my Compaq Presario 5410
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]  
Author Message
Linux_oid

Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jul 2008, 22:14    Post subject:  How I updated the BIOS in my Compaq Presario 5410
Subject description: Old BIOS had 32G limitation for HDD size so 80G HDD wasn't seen
 

Flashing BIOS in Compaq Presario 5410

OS: none
System: AMD-K6, 400M processor; 320M RAM

The problem was with installation of 80G HDD. There was 32G limitation for HDD size at the time the box was made (about year 2000). So I had live CDs seen HDD and installing OS on it. There was no HDD present after rebooting, BIOS just didn't see it.

I used another Puppy box to create bootable floppy disk witch could flash (upgrade) BIOS.

1 Creating boot disk

1.1 Downloaded FreeDOS boot disk floppy image
wget http://www.fdos.org/bootdisks/autogen/FDOEM.144.gz
1.2 Unpacked it
gunzip FDOEM.144.gz
1.3. Inserted floppy disk into FDD and issued command
dd if=FDOEM.144 of=/dev/fd0

2 Adding sofware


My Compaq Pressario 5410 has Gigabyte GA-5SMM motherboard. Gigabyte site gives two version of BIOS upgrate.

2.1 I downloaded motherboard_bios_ga-5smm_f5.exe. The executable ([...].exe) contained three files: autoexec.bat, flash848.exe, and 5SMM.F5.
2.2 I used Ubuntu box to extract 5SMM.F5 with unrar and copied the file to floppy created in #1

2.3 Flash-tool is a software for installing (upgrading) BIOS. I assumed Flash848.exe was a tool included in motherboard_bios_ga-5smm_f5.exe. I used Uniflash 1.40 instead (downloaded uf140.zip, unpacked it and copied UNIFLASH.EXE file to the same floppy created in #1).

3. Flashing BIOS

3.1 Installed floppy in FDD and rebooted. The box booted from floppy and ended up with line A:\>.
3.2 Typed uniflash, pressed Enter and Uniflash's menu was on a screen.
3.3 Selected second line ("Flash BIOS image INCLUDING bootblock") pressed enter.
3.4 The line "Image file name:" appeared on a bottom of the screen. Pressing Enter gave a list of all files on a floppy disk. Choose 5SMM.F5, pressed Enter and flashing started.



Finally, HDD is here, BIOS is more sophisticated, and Compaq's logo is gone.

_________________
I'll try
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6815
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jul 2008, 22:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
Finally, HDD is here, BIOS is more sophisticated, and Compaq's logo is gone


Hey, that's good, right?

flashing is usually a hit'n'hope kinda thing, I find

just saying 'compaq' is enough, with their proprietary track in the h/d

if it boots without, you done good!!

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0464s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]