Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 08:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
DBP: David's Batch Processor Gimp Plugin
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 21:19    Post subject:  DBP: David's Batch Processor Gimp Plugin  

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~hodsond/dbp.html

Quote:

DBP (David's Batch Processor) is a simple batch processing plugin for the Gimp - it allows the user to automatically perform operations (such as resize) on a collection of image files. Its main advantage is that the user does not have to learn a scripting language. Like the Gimp itself, DBP relies on a graphical interface. The user creates a list of images, and sets up the processing required for each image. The results of the current settings can be displayed. Once the required sequence of operations has been set up, DBP performs the same processing on each image in turn. The images can be colour corrected, resized, cropped, and sharpened, then renamed and saved to a different file in a specified image format. All the steps (except loading and saving the image!) are optional; so the simplest use of DBP is just to convert a number of image files from one format to another.

Note that DBP is intended for RGB, not indexed images. Trying to process an indexed image will probably just cause an error, and DBP will halt. Also, DBP will not overwrite the original image (in fact, it should not overwrite any file) - images must at least be either renamed (possibly by changing the image format) or moved to a different directory.


Just extract the attached .zip file, then copy dbp to your gimp plugins directory. Then, when you start gimp, it should appear on the menu under Xtns->Batch Process....

N.B. I've only tried it using gimp-2.4.6
dbp-1.1.9.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  dbp-1.1.9.zip 
Filesize  33.32 KB 
Downloaded  824 Time(s) 
dbp-main.png
 Description   
 Filesize   13.25 KB
 Viewed   2809 Time(s)

dbp-main.png


Last edited by muggins on Thu 25 Mar 2010, 05:52; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1415
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 05:35    Post subject:  

trying to call this from Gimp 2.2 shows me an error:
gimp_error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   8.72 KB
 Viewed   2748 Time(s)

gimp_error.png


_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 05:43    Post subject:  

In Gimp 2.4.6 (pet from this forum) it works in Muppy 0083f.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 06:07    Post subject:  

@Dingo,

I've only tried it on gimp-2.3.10. Possibly, because I've compiled it against gimp-2.3.10 libraries, it might be incompatible with earlier gimps.

If you want, I can try recompiling against gimp-2.2 to see whether that works.

Another thing that can cause it to crash is running it on images that are in indexed format, rather than RGB. Is this a possibility in this case?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1448
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 06:48    Post subject:  

Hello muggins

Just tried this in Dingo-400 using GIMP 2.4.0-rc3

For testing i placed the following files in a directory:

    tiger1.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger2.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger3.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger7.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger9.jpg (1280x960)


I then chose to resize them to 800x600 and used PNG as Output.
I also clicked on Show Images before clicking Start.

I recieved the Error Message below (see pic)
But it continued processing and i ended up with the following:

    tiger1.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger1.png (800x600)
    tiger2.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger2.png (800x600)
    tiger3.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger3.png (800x600)
    tiger7.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger7.png (800x600)
    tiger9.jpg (1280x960)
    tiger9.png (800x600)


So i ran the same test again (after deleting the 800x600 images)
only this time i did not click on Show Images.

It proceeded without any Error Message.

I also ran another test, again resizing to 800x600 with BMP as Output.
Once again if i clcked on Show Images i recieved the same Error Message.
If i did not click on Show Images, i did not recieve the Error Message.

In each of the tests it did convert and resize the images.
No files were deleted (other than by me.)

So i guess that it is safe to just ignore the Error Message. Rolling Eyes

CatDude
.
gimp-DBP-plugin-error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.86 KB
 Viewed   2809 Time(s)

gimp-DBP-plugin-error.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jul 2008, 05:21    Post subject:  

@Dingo,

I've recompiled a separate version for gimp-2.2 & it appears to be OK now.

The problem was caused by puppy ignoring an if-else-endif statement, for the gimp version:

Code:

#if (GIMP_MAJOR_VERSION == 2) && \
    (GIMP_MINOR_VERSION <= 3)


I just commented out the relevant sections & recompiled 2 versions, and it seems to be OK.

@CatDude,

I don't know whether the error you're reporting is related or not. The way I tracked down the above error was via:

Code:
gdb gimp-2.2
run


& I kept hitting return till gimp started up. Then when I clicked to run dbp in the menu, it zeroed in on the offending code. But maybe it's not worth worrying about if it still works OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1415
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jul 2008, 08:50    Post subject:  

downloaded and tried on Gimp 2.2. Now it works. perfect! thanks!
_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 05:52    Post subject:  

Uploaded v1.1.9.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1058
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 20:42    Post subject:  

Hey,

Just like to report the plugin works great with Gimp 2.6.8 in Quirky 1.3. Thanks. It's a great simple solution for batch editing. Thanks Muggins.

Battleshooter

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 07 Nov 2010, 08:22    Post subject:  

battleshooter,

good to hear it's working for you, but i have to empaphise the person to thank is the dbp developer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2646
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 07 Nov 2010, 09:05    Post subject:  

Hey, thanks for this, I compiled it against gimp 2.6.11 on squeeze 009, it works, finally a nice batch processor plugin!
Here's the pet should work on squeezepup/lucid and 2.6.11
davids_batch_processor-1.1.9.pet 58 KB

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
sub13


Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 283
Location: Près de Marseille (France)

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jun 2011, 16:53    Post subject: Re: DBP: David's Batch Processor Gimp Plugin  

[quote="muggins"

Just extract the attached .zip file, then copy dbp to your gimp plugins directory. Then, when you start gimp, it should appear on the menu under Xtns->Batch Process....

N.B. I've only tried it using gimp-2.4.6[/quote]

hello

I tried with gimp( GNU Image Manipulation Programme 2.4.0-rc3)

I put dbp extracted from zip

in root/.gimp-2.4/plug-ins

but I don't find the command on Xtns->

I put also dbp in /usr/local/gimp-2.4.0-rc3/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins

but I don't find the command on Xtns->


---------------------------

I also trie davids_batch_processor-1.1.9.pet 58 KB

but it don't works

------------------------------

did I make an error ?

thank you

_________________
portable Dell latitude D400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2011, 01:50    Post subject:  

You need to copy the extracted file, dbp, to:

/usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins

I downloaded gimp-2.4.0-rc3.pet, and that's where it has it plugins.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sub13


Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 283
Location: Près de Marseille (France)

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2011, 14:11    Post subject:  

[quote="muggins"]You need to copy the extracted file, dbp, to:

/usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins

bonsoir

en ayant mis DBP dans les dossiers
root/.gimp-2.4/plug-in
root/.gimp-2.6/plug-in
/usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins
/usr/local/gimp-2.4.0rc3/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins

en fait sous gimp 2.6 ça fonctionne en allant dans menu filtre
en fait sous gimp 2.4rc3 en allant dans exts ça indique cette erreur


donc pour moi j'ai 2 versions de gimp

1/ soit solutionner avec gimp 2.4rc3 et désinstaller gimp 2.6

2/soit utiliser gimp 2.6 et supprimer Gimp 2.4rc3 (mais comme j'ai le version 4.31 fat il est inclu dans ttl-431.sfs et il n'y a pas d'entrée dans gestionnaire de paquetages) et éventuellement créer une entrée dans menu pour gimp 2.6

merci

================== in english by google traduction ==================
hello

DBP having put on file
root/.gimp-2.4/plug-in
root/.gimp-2.6/plug-in
/ usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins
/ usr/local/gimp-2.4.0rc3/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins

in fact it works in GIMP 2.6 by going to Filter menu
in fact under gimp by going to 2.4rc3 exts it shows this error



So for me I have two versions of gimp so I wont to

1 /I repair for DBP works gimp with 2.4rc3 and uninstall GIMP 2.6

or 2/use gimp 2.6 and remove Gimp 2.4rc3 (but as I have the fat version 4.31 is included in ttl-431.sfs and there is no entry in package manager) and possibly create an entry menu in GIMP 2.6

thank you

_________________
portable Dell latitude D400

Last edited by sub13 on Wed 29 Jun 2011, 14:16; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6673
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2011, 19:11    Post subject:  

Well, thankyou for your english translation...

1) Are you saying that ttl-431.sfs comes with 2.4rc3 already installed? Well, if dbp works with 2.6, first delete instances of gimp 2.4rc3, then install 2.6, and it should be OK. (in order to find instances of gimp 2.4rc3, run find / -name gimp*

It seems like it is mainly installed to /usr/local with your pupversion. Also check either /usr/share/gimp, or /usr/local/share/gimp/. Plus check for hidden gimp directory in /root.

2) creating a menu entry for gimp is simply achieved. Create a text file, and copy & paste the following:


Quote:
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Name=GNU Image Manipulation Program
GenericName=Image Editor
Comment=Create images and edit photographs
Exec=gimp
Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/gimp.png
Terminal=false
Categories=RasterGraphics
StartupNotify=true



then save as /usr/share/applications/gimp.desktop, run the command fixmenus in a console, then restart the window manager.

Last edited by muggins on Thu 30 Jun 2011, 05:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0968s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0118s) ][ GZIP on ]