Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Jul 2019, 12:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
This Thread is depreciated
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 23 Oct 2005, 02:40    Post subject:  This Thread is depreciated  

Packages mentioned here should no longer be used, and will be removed soon.


Read here instead:





http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=9000


******************************************************
************************************************
**************************************












This is 14 MB, because it includes the Codecs from this site (all Codecs from the suiss-CH-server): http://www4.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/design7/codecs.html
The plugin seems not to work with the Codecs you can install with Pupget.

After Installation of the Dotpup, you must run the setup in the Dotpups-Menue (just to use the mplayer plugin, the codecs do not need this step).
It switches between the gxine-plugin and the mplayer-plugin.

Download:
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/mplayerplugin-for-mozilla/MPlayer-Plugin-Mozilla-3.11.pup

Don't forget to install the libstdc++6.pup, if you didn't have it installed from the Wiki yet.
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/mplayerplugin-for-mozilla/libstdc++6.pup

Then install this update to version 3.2.5, that fixes several bugs (427 kb):
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/mplayerplugin-for-mozilla/MPlayer-Plugin-Mozilla-update-to-3.2.5.pup

I just tested it with my compilation of mplayer ( http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=3128 ).

Might work with GuestToos version either, or might not. Just try and give us feedback please.


And yes Walt, it works with http://www.bbc.com and sound Cool Laughing Cool
(Sometimes there is no sound - maybe only just after installation? Or conflicts with other Soundprograms? Then reboot your Computer, and report your experiences please)

**Update**
Some more codecs (details see further down):
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Multimedia/more_codecs.pup (2.8 MB)

Mark

Last edited by MU on Tue 27 Jun 2006, 11:39; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15439
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 23 Oct 2005, 06:39    Post subject:  

I tried to use the 586 version first as suggested - then the 386 - in both cases I got the following required library when typing in gmplayer

Also tried G2's version and the bugfix - same message . . .

Code:
gmplayer: error while loading shared libraries: libsmbclient.so.0: cannot open s             hared object file: No such file or directory


Hope that is of some use in getting it going Smile

_________________
Raspberry Pi 4 to run Puppi
NEW BusterPup Beta - test now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb 2006, 07:45    Post subject:  

Here is a Dotpup with 9 MB more Codecs.
This will update the Plugins-Dotpup with the codecs KlhR once posted.
Try this, if mplayer or gxine can't play some radiostations for example.

Together, these Codecs should be at the same state as in Megapuppy001.

Download (2.8 MB):
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Multimedia/more_codecs.pup

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 16 May 2006, 12:12    Post subject:  

I added an update to version 3.2.5.
It will be extracted to the 3.1.1-folder, so that the menu has not to be changed (which is important if you use Megapup).

Thanks to p1000 for his report:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=8024

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jun 2006, 21:53    Post subject: Re: many Audio/Video-Codecs and MPlayer-Plugin for Mozilla  

MU wrote:
[
This is 14 MB, because it includes the Codecs from this site (all Codecs from the suiss-CH-server): http://www4.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/design7/codecs.html
The plugin seems not to work with the Codecs you can install with Pupget.

After Installation of the Dotpup, you must run the setup in the Dotpups-Menue (just to use the mplayer plugin, the codecs do not need this step).
It switches between the gxine-plugin and the mplayer-plugin.

Download:
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/mplayerplugin-for-mozilla/MPlayer-Plugin-Mozilla-3.11.pup

Don't forget to install the libstdc++6.pup, if you didn't have it installed from the Wiki yet.
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/mplayerplugin-for-mozilla/libstdc++6.pup

Then install this update to version 3.2.5, that fixes several bugs (427 kb):
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/mplayerplugin-for-mozilla/MPlayer-Plugin-Mozilla-update-to-3.2.5.pup

I just tested it with my compilation of mplayer ( http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=3128 ).

**Update**
Some more codecs (details see further down):
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Multimedia/more_codecs.pup (2.8 MB)

Mark


This is, as usual, very confusing to me. Too many if's and maybe's and other's ... I need
to get Quicktime working under Puppy 2.00 and Seamonkey.

Where are we at now, June 2006 & Puppy 2.00, as to the recommended place one starts?

1. PupGet or DotPup or MU's compilation of MPlayer?

2. In what order should one install the codecs, or have they all been updated for 2.00
and rolled into a single DotPup?

I tend to get tangled up when I try to guess which way is best and then clutter my HDD
and get frustrated with unproductive time.

Help, please? Paint-by-numbers instructions are always welcome! Wink

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jun 2006, 22:37    Post subject:  

The codecs are for mplayer and gxine, they should work with all versions around..
The plugin is for mplayer, I tried it with this one:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=3128

Installation is not critical, just install them as they are mentioned above.
Just the update for the plugin should be installed, after the plugin itself was installed.

I don't know, how good it works with Quicktime.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jun 2006, 23:05    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
The codecs are for mplayer and gxine, they should work with all versions around..
The plugin is for mplayer, I tried it with this one:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=3128

Installation is not critical, just install them as they are mentioned above.
Just the update for the plugin should be installed, after the plugin itself was installed.

I don't know, how good it works with Quicktime.

Mark


Have you found that solution preferable to the Plugger methodlogy?

http://fredrik.hubbe.net/plugger.html

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jun 2006, 23:33    Post subject:  

I never tried plugger yet.
I use KDEs konqueror as webbrowser, and open videos in Mplayer (not embedded) to be able to scale them.
Mplayer has good interpolation, so I prefer to view them in a larger window.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fitzhugh


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 216
Location: Berkeley

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 15:27    Post subject: How do I open outside of plugin? [edited]  

Since it is a mozilla plugin and I'm using opera I'd like to be able to open things outside of the plugin,but don't know how. This is an area I'm quite clueless in in general. A good example is the bbc site mentioned above, say:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/nolavconsole/ukfs_news/hi/newsid_5110000/newsid_5114000/nb_rm_5114018.stm

I had posted here about problems I was having (linking over to another thread w/ details) but they were solved by the above... I'd downloaded all listed but had missed installing the mplayer-xorg-libs-for-normal-puppy.pup. When I did that it fixed things.

This is SO cool! I had just found some short videos of my first dog, who is no longer with us, playing with my current dog when she was a puppy! I'd been sure I had lost them, or not even saved them in the first place! While I have a bunch of pictures they are the only video I have of him, and he made an enormous difference in my life so these are super special to me, even if they are crappy web-cam shots. The best is of them eating a pair of expensive shoes without my realizing it... caught on film Very Happy I've stuck it here if you want to see two Irish Wolfhounds happily doing damage (~8M though)
http://apocalypse.org/pub/u/hugh/FergusAndAbiEatShoes.avi

Ok, tried playing plugin of bbc as test through mozilla and it works great! Clearly I'm not to expect tv quality over dsl, but this is perfect for me since I gave away my tv - only care to watch the rare bit of important news that would be available online anyhow. Don't have a dvd to try, which I'd also like. This is cool! Thanks!

MU, Lobster, and many many others, if you read this: it is awesome that those who know more take time to read and answer posts here from those who, like me, know less! I try in turn to answer when I see a new question I know the answer to, though that so far is rare. The community is as impressive as the distribution, and as critical to me, at least, in terms of making it a viable alternative - and fun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 16:42    Post subject: Re: How do I open outside of plugin? [edited]  

fitzhugh wrote:
I had posted here about problems I was having (linking over to another thread w/ details) but they were solved by the above... I'd downloaded all listed but had missed installing the mplayer-xorg-libs-for-normal-puppy.pup. When I did that it fixed things.


I saw the xorg and am guessing that is video setup specific?

Those of us who have been too chicken to leave xvesa would not benefit from that, yes?

Tnx! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fitzhugh


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 216
Location: Berkeley

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 16:46    Post subject: Menu:Dotpups:run-mplayer partially hangs x windows  

While I can run mplayer from desktop icon or command line just fine the menu entry added to DotPups brings up black silloettes of the mplayer control window and video window and hangs X. The mouse moves the cursor but the mouse buttons don't respond. I can close and restart x with the keyboard, though nothing else.

I'm quite unclear regarding the menu in general, been meaning to learn how to add things to it, but don't know how to see what is being called by something in the menu, for example to change it or to compare it to what happens when I click the icon I put on the desktop to start mplayer.

Any ideas?

Already my computer is much more capable than it was as a windows box Very Happy I had expected it to take a long time to get it all set up, not that I had a particularly fancy configuration before switching, just thought I'd have to do a lot more. Instead others have packaged things up very nicely already so I can download things to do just about anything I want. This rocks!

Thank you,
Fitzhugh

Last edited by fitzhugh on Mon 26 Jun 2006, 16:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 16:53    Post subject:  

Fitz, please try this:
edit /root/.xinitrc

replace

Code:
exec $CURRENTWM


with

Code:
XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS

exec $CURRENTWM

Then restart X.
Does that fix your problem?

Edoc:
mplayer for Xvesa:
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2.pup

mplayer for Xorg:
http://noforum.de/dotpups/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2/X.org-version/mplayer-1.0-pre7-try2-xorg.pup

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fitzhugh


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 216
Location: Berkeley

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 17:08    Post subject: Still same...  

I added those lines, saved, restarted x (in case since I didn't know) and had same. Tried rebooting just in case - I've yet to learn when I need to - still same. Thanks for the suggestion.

Not sure what you mean by Edoc:...
I see the dotpup there, but are you pointing me to documentation? I'm just not aware of any?

Note that I had gone back and edited my previous post and saved it right after you posted your suggestions. I don't recall what I changed exactly, and it probably doesn't matter. Didn't realize you would be so quick Smile

Fitzhugh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 17:16    Post subject: Re: Still same...  

fitzhugh wrote:
I added those lines, saved, restarted x (in case since I didn't know) and had same. Tried rebooting just in case - I've yet to learn when I need to - still same. Thanks for the suggestion.

Not sure what you mean by Edoc:...
I see the dotpup there, but are you pointing me to documentation? I'm just not aware of any?

Note that I had gone back and edited my previous post and saved it right after you posted your suggestions. I don't recall what I changed exactly, and it probably doesn't matter. Didn't realize you would be so quick Smile

Fitzhugh


MU clarified that there are two different versions of MPlayer, one for xvesa and one for xorg.

The add-in you had referred to contained the word "xorg" in the file name and I was just
asking if it was truly xorg-specific.

Someone on another thread has recommended I try xine-ui or something like that before
I try Plugger.

One way or another I hope to get a complete multimedia suite running that I may duplicate
on our several Puppy 2.0x computers here -- the gaps in handling different formats can
be really irritating sometimes -- especially to the non-geeks in the house!

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 17:37    Post subject:  

I don't understand why it crashes, if you run it from the menu Sad
Lobster reported the same problem:
Quote:
Mplayer - be careful with this - crashed my machine from within dotpup menu

http://tmxxine.com/Wikka/wikka.php?wakka=LinuxTmxxine

These reports are new I think, they did not come when I released mplayer.
So maybe it has to do with the new version of the JWM-desktop.

Another crash was reported using some games in JWM.
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=8943

We must keep track on such reports to find out the reasons.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0616s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]