Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 May 2018, 17:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
PPPOE broadband dial-up problem (4.0 Dingo)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]  
Author Message
OliverD

Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jul 2008, 18:26    Post subject:  PPPOE broadband dial-up problem (4.0 Dingo)  

Hello,

I just got Puppy Linux running on my usb-stick as my first Linux installation. I'm a Windows user otherwise, with some limited technical knowledge.

After the installation worked out on my second try (using the method described here), I started exploring the OS and got stuck trying to get the internet connection working:

My internet connection is dial-up broadband via a small modem. (Siemens Plus C2-010-l)
The problem is that I cannot load any webpages after setting up the network, entering pppoe details and dialing in.

Here is what I do:
First, I set up the network to my dsl modem by entering static ip, subnet mask, gateway and DNS. This part works and I can access the html-interface of the modem. (works as well using dhcp)
After that I run the software to configure PPPOE and enter my user name, password, the DNS addresses I got from my internet provider, Ethernet interface (eth0), firewall (1) and active-on-demand settings (no). Now, when I hit START the dial-in process seems to work fine (I get a second pair of network-monitors, same as in XP), but I can't access any webpages.

My internet provider requires the following settings for Linux: (provider is Alice-DSL, Germany, already tried this small tutorial)
1. installed pppoe driver (Ethernet adapter: Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet, ThinkPad Laptop)
2. MTU value: 1492
3. DNS server as listed
4. authentification: CHAP

My guess would be that the pppoe driver is not installed, but to be honest, I have no idea where to even start to change this.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8551
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 21:03    Post subject:  

You have probably run into the bug where /etc/resolv.conf and /etc/ppp/resolv.conf become symlinks to each other.

/etc/ppp/resolv.conf needs to be changed to a file. Do that, then try again.

Also, I posted in my blog about a new GUI application for setting up PPPOE, but no one has responded. Would you mind trying it?:

http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00195

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0335s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]