Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 04:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Pupeee wireless on assus eee 4g
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
gingerman

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 16:30    Post_subject:  Pupeee wireless on assus eee 4g
Sub_title: Can't connect to wireless using any distro of puppy
 

I've tried a few Puppy distros: Dingo, Pupeee, and a fully loaded version, whose name I've forgotten. Partly from frustration.

I love my Asus, and probably should have bought it with Linux, but didn't.

I'd like to stick with Pupeee because of the light footprint.

I can't get it to connect to my wireless network. On my Toshiba laptop, it hooks right up, but not on the Asus.

There seems to be some unusual wireless card in the Asus, which I figgered Pupeee would have, since it's written for this computer.

I don't know much about Linux. I've googled, I've searched fora, and I've talked to Asus customer support. I've gotten no where.

Does anyone have any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 21:29    Post_subject: wifi on?  

In Xandros, the wifi can be turned off using the Fn and Wifi keys. Please check that the wifi is turned on (and if you turn it back on in Xandros, don't turn it off again Smile ). There is a blue LED at the front that tells you wifi is on.

Breeezy is also available for the eeePC - this is a 65-MB build for browsing multimedia, PDF and other office files. That site includes tutorial for installing the zip file to SD card and also this readme-at-first-boot.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gingerman

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 22:34    Post_subject: I'm using xp, unfortunately
Sub_title: wrong os
 

I'm using an xp box, thus my great desire to get a working Linux distro.

I don't want to install something that isn't going to work, so I'm trying out Pupeee on a flash drive.

F2 toggles wifi on this too, but I still get the message that the interface isn't active
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ronacc


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Orlando , Florida

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jul 2008, 16:33    Post_subject:  

the asus 4g either linux or xp version should work fine with puppy , I have 4 versions running from sd cards . on first boot you do have to configure wireless for your network . as raffy said make sure wireless is on when you shut xp down before you boot puppy . pupeee already has the right driver , with dingo use madwifi .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 11:57    Post_subject:  

EeePC 4g xandrosLinux box. Am also having difficulties. In pupeee-b4 (301) on usb flash drive menu>setup>wizard wizard>connect by network interface>ath0>wireless>load>scan>no networks detected. So from there> back>test ath0>no networks then auto DHCP>fails.
Now into menu>network>RutiIT >site survey> scan> something network appears (with Auth open )so try >connect> use dhcp ? Both yes and no give>link status> disconnected.
No joy in puppy4 either. Can you give more info on madwifi, cant find it in the menus. Consol with madwifi fails.
Xandros also fails to connect to the networks it finds.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 13:24    Post_subject:  

ronacc wrote:
pupeee already has the right driver , with dingo use madwifi .

Ah, no. The wifi driver in Pupeee is MADWiFi; the specially patched version compatible with the Asus Eee.
Dingo contains the normal MADWiFi driver, but the patched version is available separately here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=153643#153643
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gingerman

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 21:18    Post_subject: Wireless Problem
Sub_title: still no wireless
 

I have an xp eee 4g.
I have pupeee on a usb drive
it boots up with none of the questions about configuration.
the little blue wireless light is on
no wireless interface detected.

In xp, it works automatically and just fine.

Is there some point in the bootup that I can configure the wireless?

The tools in the menu don't seem to work, because they see no wireless interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 23:09    Post_subject: clicks  

With the setup - network wizard, the usual click sequence is wifi interface (ath0) - wireless - scan.

You should see the available networks at that point. Select a network and then click on the encryption button (WEP, WPA), supply the key/passphrase and then click on Use this profile - autodhcp.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gingerman

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 10:17    Post_subject: Re: clicks
Sub_title: no wireless interface
 

raffy wrote:
With the setup - network wizard, the usual click sequence is wifi interface (ath0) - wireless - scan.

You should see the available networks at that point. Select a network and then click on the encryption button (WEP, WPA), supply the key/passphrase and then click on Use this profile - autodhcp.


The message I get is that there is no wireless interface available. I assume this to mean that pupeee can't find a wireless driver on my computer. In xp there is no problem. The little blue light that indicates wireless being on is lit up, but pupeee can't find wireless on my computer. It doesn't even get to the point of looking for networks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 01:55    Post_subject:  

menu>setup>wizard wizard>connect by network interface>ath0>wireless>scan>(select new work)> use this profile> auto DHCP. is now giving me access to a new network that appeared but it is so intermittent I am reverting to using my grub booted knoppix5.3.1.DVD.iso on USB with its GPRS/EDGE connect for my internet surfing on EeePC.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 11:15    Post_subject:  

so i've moved my desk two meters to the left and now have a 75% wifi signal 24 hrs a day! however it is too far from the power point for the cord to reach so my charge only last for an hour or so (arent you lucky). need a extension cord.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gingerman

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jul 2008, 23:15    Post_subject: Wireless Problem still
Sub_title: no wireless interface
 

aarf wrote:
so i've moved my desk two meters to the left and now have a 75% wifi signal 24 hrs a day! however it is too far from the power point for the cord to reach so my charge only last for an hour or so (arent you lucky). need a extension cord.


It's not the network that's not found, it's the hardware inside the eee.
I have no trouble connecting to any network at all in XP, but I can't get any Linux live cd or usb to find the wireless hardware in my computer. It's not just a Pupeee problem, but Dingo, Mandriva, Slax, or any other.

I'm sure this is my ignorance of how to configure the program, probably at the bootup phase. Any suggestion of how to go about it? I know it's supposed to be automatic. The same usb drive or cd on my Toshiba hooks right up, but I get nowhere with the eee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2008, 01:04    Post_subject: Re: Wireless Problem still
Sub_title: no wireless interface
 

gingerman wrote:


It's not the network that's not found, it's the hardware inside the eee.
I have no trouble connecting to any network at all in XP, but I can't get any Linux live cd or usb to find the wireless hardware in my computer. It's not just a Pupeee problem, but Dingo, Mandriva, Slax, or any other.

I'm sure this is my ignorance of how to configure the program, probably at the bootup phase. Any suggestion of how to go about it? I know it's supposed to be automatic. The same usb drive or cd on my Toshiba hooks right up, but I get nowhere with the eee.


are you sure you actually have pupeee-b4.iso
post an image of you desktop.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5263
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jul 2008, 03:45    Post_subject: Re: clicks
Sub_title: no wireless interface
 

gingerman wrote:
The message I get is that there is no wireless interface available.

Forum member glassparrot reports that to get the Eee-version of the MADWiFi driver installed and working you must first disable the Eee's wifi device in bios, then later re-enable the wifi device after the driver is installed -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=208066#208066

As the contributor of the madwifi-eee driver, I cannot see how or why this method would make any difference ... but if it works, great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2008, 08:36    Post_subject: re-Pupeee wireless  

Im running Pupeee on my EeePC wirelessly right now from an SD card and everything works just fine.

The only difference is mine came with XandrOS .

Maybe the windows version uses a different WIFI card.

Just a thought.

I hope this helps.

_________________
If at first you don't succeed try try again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0818s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]