Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Jun 2019, 13:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 5.6.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 125 of 154 [2296 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, ..., 152, 153, 154 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6578
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 24 Nov 2014, 13:24    Post subject:  

tlchost
Your screenshot is a far from what I get Smile

You miss the latest gtkdialog (as shown in the pmusic -D output). Version is found by 'gtkdialog -v'. You'll find a pet for the latest here
That should solve it.


Sigmund
Screenshot_2014-11-24_181731.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot_2014-11-24_181731.jpg 
Filesize  71.45 KB 
Downloaded  226 Time(s) 

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6578
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 24 Nov 2014, 13:28    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
I compiled libcddb from source and the file /usr/bin/cddb_query is produced
so I will attach this file on its own.
I have made a link to your post in the main post.


Thank you!
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Nov 2014, 05:37    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:

You miss the latest gtkdialog (as shown in the pmusic -D output). Version is found by 'gtkdialog -v'. You'll find a pet for the latest here
That should solve it.


Sure did....thanks very much!

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 819
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Dec 2014, 13:47    Post subject: ffmpeg for Tahr  

I got TahrPuppy 2 days ago, and can't play radio with Pmusic, presumably because Tahr lacks ffmpeg.
The work-arounds are too complicated for me.

Is it possible that someone can make an ffmpeg for Tahr?

Thanks,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Dpup Stretch, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5338
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 13 Dec 2014, 16:06    Post subject: clone of ffmpeg  

Tahr has avconv installed. You can type it in the terminal.

libav is a fork of ffmpeg


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Libav

There seems to be some compatibility with the options it uses.

Perhaps you have to use a version of audacity that is specific for tahr??
since the versions available on this forum are compiled with ffmpeg

_____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 819
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2014, 12:31    Post subject: Re:ffmpeg  

don570 wrote:
Tahr has avconv installed.You can type it in the terminal.

libav is a fork of ffmpeg
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Libav
There seems to be some compatibility with the options it uses.

Perhaps you have to use a version of audacity that is specific for tahr??
since the versions available on this forum are compiled with ffmpeg

Thanks for that. I didn't succeed with that (I'm an old non-expert).
But did get one that works in Tahr: see
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=816278#816278

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Dpup Stretch, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5338
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 23 Dec 2014, 21:02    Post subject:  

I have downloaded the launchpad version of audacity daily build.
I will try to get it to work.

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5338
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Dec 2014, 14:58    Post subject:  

I was able to make a version of audacity for tahrpup using alien2puppy
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=817377#817377
__________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5533
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 13 Jan 2015, 15:13    Post subject:  

Hi Zigbert, is there an easy way to get a directory of music files to play in pmusic? Something like "add directory to queue"? I can add tracks one by one to the queue but I can't seem to find an easy way to load the whole directory for sequential playing of all tracks. Not sure what I'm doing wrong...
cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5338
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 13 Jan 2015, 20:06    Post subject:  

The best way to create a playlist with pmusic is to use a special app
that creates a pls format file.

I wrote a program a while ago and it still works.
You can adjust the level of the search.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=641955

There's another similar program I've seen as well.

_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6578
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 02:10    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
Hi Zigbert, is there an easy way to get a directory of music files to play in pmusic? Something like "add directory to queue"? I can add tracks one by one to the queue but I can't seem to find an easy way to load the whole directory for sequential playing of all tracks. Not sure what I'm doing wrong...
cheers!
You can either select the dir or all tracks in dir (crtl+A), and right-click to get the menu --> Add to playqueue
pmusic_add_dir.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.28 KB
 Viewed   148 Time(s)

pmusic_add_dir.jpg


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5533
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 03:22    Post subject:  

How do you get the filesystem directories to display in the left hand pane as in your picture? Mine is always blank.

EDIT - I have another question too - when I opened the equaliser from the pmusic window I could see the balance control but when I tried to use it I got a message to say that the speaker channel was 'mono' because I apparently had the speaker channel set to "master" (don't know how or why it was set like this..). I used the pmusic equaliser gui settings to change 'speaker channel' to 'speaker' and then the balance worked.

I had a look at the alsamixer settings and could see that the speaker control now showed a split slider for the speaker - something I have never seen before. I can't seem to find any way within alsamixer to alter this split slider, but the pmusic equaliser allows it to be adjusted. How does it do this if alsamixer can't?

EDIT 2 : I did some googling and it says I can set alsamixer balance by using the Q and Z keys for left channel volume, and the E and C keys for right channel volume. Also says I can restore equal balance by using the B key or the = key. Learn something every day.
pmusic_split_slider.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.83 KB
 Viewed   133 Time(s)

pmusic_split_slider.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6578
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 11:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
How do you get the filesystem directories to display in the left hand pane as in your picture? Mine is always blank.
There are 3 ways to step into the builtin file-browser:
- Main menu: Music Sources > Browse
- Enter a path in the search-field
- There is a default marker for home directory in the favorites (red heart button or in the menu)

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5533
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 14:13    Post subject:  

Thanks Zigbert - I don't know if I was having a blonde moment or just premature senility Smile

don570 wrote:
The best way to create a playlist with pmusic is to use a special app
that creates a pls format file.

I wrote a program a while ago and it still works.
You can adjust the level of the search.
Thanks don - that looks like a good way to set up a playlist for times when I will want a set programme of music. Most of the time I'm happy to just bring my Music directory into the player and let it work through them randomly so I don't generally build a playlist for day to day use.

Very pleased to have found the pmusic equaliser control. Works very well. If it wasn't for that I would never have found out how to control the balance (Balance control does not show in pEqualiser in the multimedia menu...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5533
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 14:41    Post subject:  

Feature suggestion - I keep clicking the wrong button when I want to skip track. I end up clicking the "go forward in playqueue history" arrows.

I would like it if the playqueue history arrows were less prominent (especially the "clear queue" button!), and it would be handy if the actual play controls were more prominent - at the moment they look as if they are greyed out and my brain ignores them.

cheers!
.
play control highlight.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   17.28 KB
 Viewed   101 Time(s)

play control highlight.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 125 of 154 [2296 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, ..., 152, 153, 154 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1023s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0514s) ][ GZIP on ]