pMusic 6.0.0

Audio editors, music players, video players, burning software, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1486 Post by zigbert »

Flash
Sorry, I am hopeless :lol:

To force another starting count-value, you can use something like this. It will give COUNT a start value of 200

Code: Select all

exe:printf "%03d" \$((COUNT+200)) 
Sigmund

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#1487 Post by Flash »

But I want the count to start at 1, not 200. It always did before, and it did when I reran Pmusic's Tag all files in source. Maybe it was a fluke. :? I haven't had occasion yet to tag any more files. I will tonight. Before I do, I'll install the latest version of Pmusic (in Precise Puppy) and see what happens. :)

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

3.0.3 problem

#1488 Post by sheldonisaac »

Sigmund and I messaged about this.

At present, 3.0.2 works under LuPu 5.2.8

3.0.3 no GUI

I'm giving up for the time being.

Thanks.

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#1489 Post by Geoffrey »

Hi zigbert,

having a problem running pmusic in Carolina, it runs fine on first install but appears to have a problem with gtkdialog when restarted.

Code: Select all

# pmusic
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 32: [: -l: unary operator expected
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 32: [: -l: unary operator expected

Gtkdialog failed to run the pMusic frontend
Please execute 'pmusic -D' to check all dependencies.
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 32: [: -l: unary operator expected
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 32: [: -l: unary operator expected

Killed
# pmusic -D
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 32: [: -l: unary operator expected
/usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 32: [: -l: unary operator expected
  R E Q U I R E D                            
    bash                                      [OK]
    coreutils, awk, sed, diff                 [OK]
    gtkdialog                        >= 0.8.2 [OK]
    ffmpeg                           >= 0.8   [OK]
    aplay  (alsa)                             [OK]

  R E C O M M E N D E D                      
    streamripper (extended radio-rip/play)    [OK]
    cdda2wav     (play/rip audio-CD)          [OK]
    wget         (connection to www)          [OK]

  O P T I O N A L                            
    Pburn        (burning audio-CD)           [MISSING]
    pFilesearch  (File-search engine) >= 1.28 [OK]
    Pschedule    (podcast managing)           [OK]
    pEqualizer   (10 band equalizer)          [MISSING]
# 

Code: Select all

# gtkdialog -v
gtkdialog version 0.8.3 r478M (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Built with additional support for: Glade, VTE.
# 
If I comment out this

Code: Select all

#set gtkdialog executable - puppy specific
for I in gtkdialog5 gtkdialog; do
	TMP=$(which $I)
	[ -l "$TMP" ] && TMP="`readlink "$TMP"`" 
	if [ "$TMP" ]; then
		export GTKDIALOG="$TMP"
		break
	fi
done
and add this in it's place it works

Code: Select all

if type gtkdialog4 > /dev/null 2>&1; then
	export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog4
else
	export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog
fi
In Carolina/Saluki gtkdialog is a symlink to gtkdialog4, hope this is of some help to you.
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

#1490 Post by sheldonisaac »

Geoffrey wrote:Hi zigbert,

having a problem running pmusic in Carolina, it runs fine on first install but appears to have a problem with gtkdialog when restarted
I had somwhat similar experiences in 'lina-lite -003
If I comment out this

Code: Select all

#set gtkdialog executable - puppy specific
for I in gtkdialog5 gtkdialog; do
	TMP=$(which $I)
	[ -l "$TMP" ] && TMP="`readlink "$TMP"`" 
	if [ "$TMP" ]; then
		export GTKDIALOG="$TMP"
		break
	fi
done
and add this in it's place it works

Code: Select all

if type gtkdialog4 > /dev/null 2>&1; then
	export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog4
else
	export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog
fi
In Carolina/Saluki gtkdialog is a symlink to gtkdialog4, hope this is of some help to you.
It works. Many thanks.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1491 Post by zigbert »

Geoffrey & sheldonisaac
It is Barry that has made the gtkdialog2/3/4. I assumed he go for gtkdialog5 next time he updates gtkdialog in woof.
gtkdialog4 is (by Barry) set to version 0.8.0, so pMusic can not call for gtkdialog4 as it requires gtkdialog 0.8.2.
Will it work for you if I use this code:

Code: Select all

if type gtkdialog5 > /dev/null 2>&1; then
   export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog5
else
   export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog
fi

Thank you
Sigmund

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

the gtkdialog problem

#1492 Post by sheldonisaac »

zigbert wrote:Geoffrey & sheldonisaac
It is Barry that has made the gtkdialog2/3/4. I assumed he go for gtkdialog5 next time he updates gtkdialog in woof.
gtkdialog4 is (by Barry) set to version 0.8.0, so pMusic can not call for gtkdialog4 as it requires gtkdialog 0.8.2.
Will it work for you if I use this code:

Code: Select all

if type gtkdialog5 > /dev/null 2>&1; then
   export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog5
else
   export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog
fi
I'll try that later today in LuPu, 'lina--lite, and SolidPup.

May I express surprise that so few of the (thousands?) of users have commented.

At the moment, I have put this in my own copy of the script:

Code: Select all

export GTKDIALOG=$(which gtkdialog) 
in Lucid Puppy 5.2.8

The reason is that I know where the suitable gtkdialog is in the puppies I use, and don't have the skill to do the more sophisticated scripting.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

Re: the gtkdialog problem

#1493 Post by zigbert »

sheldonisaac wrote:May I express surprise that so few of the (thousands?) of users have commented.
There are plenty of other (and possible better) players out there. pMusic has the reputation of being an app with huge cpu-usage and limited skills. People have their favorite app, and don't care to test the latest pMusic. It was the same for pBurn - I took about one year from the point pBurn was a real alternative to K3B until the kennel woke up. :D

pMusic is getting better, but there is still issues that is better solved by the bigger brothers. But as a Puppy-player, I find pMusic fit nicely. It offers a rather wide range of features for its 107kb.


Thank you for your effort in making pMusic reachable for more users.
Sigmund

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

gtkdialog

#1494 Post by sheldonisaac »

(some snipping)
zigbert wrote: Will it work for you if I use this code:

Code: Select all

if type gtkdialog5 > /dev/null 2>&1; then
   export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog5
else
   export GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog
fi
Thank you, Sigmund.

I replaced the existing code with the above in Pmusic 3.0.3 in:
  • 'lina-lite - version 003
    SolidPup 5.1.1-B Lite
    Lucid Puppy 5.2.8-005
All seem to work OK.

Sheldon

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1495 Post by zigbert »

Version 3.0.4
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: Detection of gtkdialog executable.

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#1496 Post by Flash »

Last night I tried to use Pmusic 3.0.3 to tag a directory of about 200 mp3 files. I installed 3.0.3 and it started OK, but immediately the heavy metal started playing and after I stopped it and removed it from the playlist window Pmusic closed and would not restart.

So I gave up on 3.0.3, uninstalled it and used the 3.0 that came with updated Precise Puppy. It tagged the files in the manner to which I have grown accustomed. :) It did not repeat the problem I reported before.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1497 Post by zigbert »

Version 3.0.5
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: pMusic closes if gui troubles with utf-8 content

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1498 Post by zigbert »

For next major release, an improved export window is one target.
I have added some human readable presets for some 'common' tasks.

Any thoughts of this in general or suggestions for presets?

Image

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#1499 Post by Flash »

That looks very interesting. I'll definitely give it a try when you come out with it. Will it keep saving converted tracks to the same directory as I convert each CD of a book? In that case, entering 100 in the First number box would make the name of the first track 101. Then I'd enter 200 for the first number of the next CD to number the first track of that CD 201, etc. Is that how it would work?

May I suggest that one of the presets be Audio book? (mp3 mono, either fixed bit rate of 32 kbps or variable bit rate of 9 (lowest) quality.) I've been using those settings for years to convert mp3 books to mp3 so I can listen to them on my mp3 player. I can't hear any difference between an mp3 made with them and the original CD. There's no sense in stereo for an audio book, and mono halves the size of the mp3 file compared to stereo.

User avatar
oldyeller
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 14:26
Location: Alaska

#1500 Post by oldyeller »

Hello,

I have installed this in Precise 5.4.2 retro along with my gtkdialog pet and it works nice

Thanks

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#1501 Post by 01micko »

zigbert wrote:Geoffrey & sheldonisaac
It is Barry that has made the gtkdialog2/3/4. I assumed he go for gtkdialog5 next time he updates gtkdialog in woof.
gtkdialog4 is (by Barry) set to version 0.8.0, so pMusic can not call for gtkdialog4 as it requires gtkdialog 0.8.2....[chop]
This is exactly why Slacko ships 1 and only 1 gtkdialog executable. There are symlinks from that to gtkdialog3 & 4.

Geoffrey (and Elroy). As distro maintainers you have got to try and follow KISS (not the band :wink: ) with some things. I made the decision (was called "brave" by Barry too :lol: ) to chop old gtkdialog-0.7.21 (aka "gtkdialog3") and fix whatever broke. Fortuitously, what broke was minimal.

When Thunor announces the next stable gtkdialog (likely 0.8.4) Slacko will ship, and recommend retrofitting, that version.

Apologies Sigmund for brief hijack.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

#1502 Post by sheldonisaac »

01micko wrote: I made the decision ...to chop old gtkdialog-0.7.21 (aka "gtkdialog3") and fix whatever broke. Fortuitously, what broke was minimal.
That emboldened me to remove the "real" gtkdialog5 (it's actually a copy of gtkdialog [ver 8.2]) from /usr/bin

I made a symlink there for it.

Pmusic 3.0.5 started up OK.

There remain older ones in /usr/sbin:
  • 82588 2005-09-10 18:20 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog2
    134332 2011-07-04 08:46 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3
    191988 2011-09-26 08:45 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog4
    37 2012-11-27 21:51 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog5 -> /usr/local/GtkDialog/082/gtkdialog082
(Hm. Why is
249264 2012-11-03 21:53 /usr/local/GtkDialog/082/gtkdialog082
bigger? )

(I have a vague recollection that something, perhaps package manager, here in Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 looks for gtkdialog4)

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1503 Post by zigbert »

Flash wrote:May I suggest that one of the presets be Audio book? (mp3 mono, either fixed bit rate of 32 kbps....
Will add.


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1504 Post by zigbert »

oldyeller wrote:Hello,

I have installed this in Precise 5.4.2 retro along with my gtkdialog pet and it works nice

Thanks
I am glad you mention this. I am not in the position to test all Puppies.


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1505 Post by zigbert »

01micko wrote:Apologies Sigmund for brief hijack.
You are very welcome :D

I think I drop support for gtkdialog(x) and go for gtkdialog only. Even if someone wants to use gtkdialog(x), the plain gtkdialog should be the latest. - That sounds logical to me.


Sigmund

Post Reply