Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 11:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How can Puppy 4 use networked HP PSC 1315xi Printer?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9259
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 06:25    Post subject:  

When you get the request for a password, just press Enter. However, if everything was working correctly, you should not get any error messages at the end. I did some Googling, but I can't find anything useful about running CUPS over wireless. Sorry.

[Edit] Did you try using the machine name instead of the IP adress?

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Tue 15 Jul 2008, 06:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 06:28    Post subject:  

try taking cups of of the loop and printing directly ie
http://puppylinux.org/wiki/how-tos/general/genericsharedpostscriptprinteronwindows?cmt=true#internal11
I do not know if this will work if the printer doesn't understand postscript.

You could try installing the full hplip package which is massive and seeing if the hp software can sort it out.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27519

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 19:31    Post subject:  

I tried installing the hplip package but I don't see the addition of the Model/Driver in the list of drivers. I only see the original hpijs drivers that I previously installed.

And yes I've tried just using the Windows machine name and just using the IP address.

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 02:21    Post subject:  

I think you need to run hp-setup from the commandline
http://hplip.sourceforge.net/tech_docs/man_pages/index.html

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 04:47    Post subject:  

I enter hp-setup and it says: "bash: hp-setup: not found"
_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 05:05    Post subject:  

maybe it is not in the path, I can't remember, what do you get for typing hp then hitting tab?
or
find / -name "hp*"

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9259
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 08:43    Post subject:  

Here is something else to try with smbclient.

Go to the Windows printer and pause it. That way, if a job shows up in its queue, you will get a chance to see it.

Go to your Puppy machine and put a dummy test file in your home directory. Anything will do, provided that it is more than zero bytes long.

Go to a console and type: smbclient -NL PC_NAME
Make note of the shared printer's name.

Type: smbclient -N //PC_NAME/PRINTER_NAME

This should get you an smb:> prompt.
Type: print TESTFILE_NAME

If smbclient reports that it sent the file, it should appear in the Windows print queue.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Wed 16 Jul 2008, 09:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9259
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 09:22    Post subject:  

If you run Pnethood, can you access the shared folders on the Windows machine? That information should help to determine if this is a networking issue or a printing issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lluamco

Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 207
Location: Banyoles, Spain

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 15:11    Post subject:  

exProphecy wrote:
now I once again am trying print with the Windows host and it's still saying:

"Unable to connect to CIFS host, will retry in 60 seconds..."

The Windows host has no firewall installed. But I do believe the wireless network router has a built in firewall. Maybe that's the problem? If so, how do I let it go thru?


My impression is that the name of the printer is not correct, or it is not marked as shared by the windows host. Please check that the printer is really shared, and check also its name. Assuming that the IP number of the windows host is 192.168.1.15 and the windows printer name is PRINTER, then you have to install it under cups using:
smb://192.168.1.15/PRINTER
In addition, use the driver which name is closest to your printer. I guess it can be HP-PSC_1310

Hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 17:17    Post subject:  

@rcrsn51: I ran that and I found out that the sharename is actually not what I named the printer on the Windows host. Weird..? I was able to change it to what I want. Anyways, that helped because I put it that sharename into CUPS BUT I get this new error. "Tree connect failed (NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED)". With that error, I was assuming that the printer is denying my Puppy host access to the printer. What's going on? The printer is shared thru the network though. Also, I ran Pnethood and sharing folders and print$ works there.

@lluamco: Yes I guess you were right about the name. Haha

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 17:25    Post subject:  

Also, I went to the Windows host and checked the printing jobs that were currently underway. I see some new files attempting to print that are called "Remote Downlevel Document". They are in the queue but they aren't printing.
_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9259
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 17:37    Post subject:  

Are these the ones sent by your smbclient test? Is your printer still paused? If so, delete them and run the smbclient test again. Can you confirm that the dummy file is being sent to the Windows queue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 17:45    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Are these the ones sent by your smbclient test? Is your printer still paused? If so, delete them and run the smbclient test again. Can you confirm that the dummy file is being sent to the Windows queue?


Yes each time I enter the test file the "Remote Downlevel Document" shows up.

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9259
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 17:55    Post subject:  

Try this - create the CUPS printer again but use this URI:

smb://guest@COMPUTER_NAME/PRINTER_NAME
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 18:11    Post subject:  

Still not printing. It shows up in the Windows host queue as "Printing" but it's not printing anything. And in CUPS, it just disappears as if it printed. There's no error at all.
_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0687s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]