Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 20:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How can Puppy 4 use networked HP PSC 1315xi Printer?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2008, 16:26    Post subject:  How can Puppy 4 use networked HP PSC 1315xi Printer?
Subject description: Connected to Windows XP, shared thru wireless router
 

So, when I use my Windows XP on my hard drive, I connect to a printer that is connected to my brother's laptop by sharing it on a wireless network router. Now, I'm trying to connect to that same printer but with Puppy 4. FYI: My brother's laptop is running on Windows XP as well. How do I do this?
_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6458
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 03:05    Post subject:  

-Run `which smbspool` to see if you have smbspool - I think you should though.
-Go through the printer setup wizard on puppy - as long as you have smbspool, and the correct Linux driver (a 1300 driver will probably work), CUPS should be able to use the printer - you just need to look carefully for the option to use a printer on a windows/samba share.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 14:55    Post subject:  

Okay so, I'm at the screen after you enter Name, Location. Now it's asking for Device. What do I put there?
_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 16:40    Post subject:  

This may be helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 04:54    Post subject:  

Yes this is helpful! But I've successfully gotten passed the page Device and now I'm at the Model/Driver but I don't see my printer. What do I do now?
_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 05:17    Post subject:  

Okay I found my driver but I tried doing a test page and it gave me this error in the Printer page:

"Can't load /etc/samba/smb.conf - run testparm to debug it"

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 06:25    Post subject:  

Okay I figured out that I put the smbspool at the wrong place. I fixed that and now I'm getting this error from CUPS:
"Unable to connect to CIFS host, will retry in 60 seconds..."

Anyone know what's going on?

FYI: The ppd I'm using for it is hp-psc_1310_series-hpijs

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 07:34    Post subject:  

Have you tried connecting the printer directly to your Puppy machine? This will confirm that you have the driver working correctly. Then you can zero in on the networking problem. For example, is this a firewall issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 09:01    Post subject:  

Okay I tried connecting it directly to the Puppy machine and voila! It works! I installed the .pet file of the hpijs and picked mine. I guess that fixed that problem. Although, now I once again am trying print with the Windows host and it's still saying:

"Unable to connect to CIFS host, will retry in 60 seconds..."

The Windows host has no firewall installed. But I do believe the wireless network router has a built in firewall. Maybe that's the problem? If so, how do I let it go thru?

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 09:10    Post subject:  

Well I deactivated my router's firewall and it still gave me the same error. Any ideas?

EDIT: I looked at my error logs and this is what I found:

I [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] Job 3 queued on 'Network1315xi' by ''.
I [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstops (PID 7001) for job 3.
I [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip-hplip (PID 7002) for job 3.
I [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] Started backend /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb (PID 7003) for job 3.
E [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] [Job 3] Tree connect failed (NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
E [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] [Job 3] Tree connect failed (NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
E [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] [Job 3] Tree connect failed (NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)
E [14/Jul/2008:06:06:55 +0800] [Job 3] Unable to connect to CIFS host, will retry in 60 seconds...

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 09:35    Post subject:  

Okay I went into the smb.conf and changed the NT domain name to my workgroup's name which is LUCIFER. So now I have this error log:

I [14/Jul/2008:06:34:22 +0800] Job 1 queued on 'Network1315xi' by ''.
I [14/Jul/2008:06:34:22 +0800] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstops (PID 22349) for job 1.
I [14/Jul/2008:06:34:22 +0800] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip-hplip (PID 22350) for job 1.
I [14/Jul/2008:06:34:22 +0800] Started backend /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb (PID 22351) for job 1.
E [14/Jul/2008:06:34:24 +0800] [Job 1] Unable to connect to CIFS host, will retry in 60 seconds...
I [14/Jul/2008:06:34:26 +0800] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/jobs.cgi" (pid=22378)
I [14/Jul/2008:06:34:28 +0800] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/admin.cgi" (pid=22391)
I [14/Jul/2008:06:34:29 +0800] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/printers.cgi" (pid=22392)
I [14/Jul/2008:06:35:04 +0800] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/admin.cgi" (pid=22517)
I [14/Jul/2008:06:35:05 +0800] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/printers.cgi" (pid=22518)
E [14/Jul/2008:06:35:27 +0800] [Job 1] Unable to connect to CIFS host, will retry in 60 seconds...

Any ideas?

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 11:46    Post subject:  

I'm not a wireless guy, but you could try this. Go to a console and type:

smbclient -L xxx

where xxx can be either the Windows computer's name or its IP address.

This should at least tell you if the machine is visible to Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 01:31    Post subject:  

I typed in:

smbclient -L 192.168.0.3

And it asks me for a Password. What do I put for it? My brother doesn't have a password on his Windows XP profile.

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 02:17    Post subject:  

try smbclient -NL 192.168.0.3
or the password "guest"
or maybe
smbclient -o username=guest,password=guest -L 192.168.0.3

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 05:12    Post subject:  

Okay it looks like it can detect the all my bro's shared files and the shared printer. It says some:

init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from ASCII to ASCII
init_iconv: Conversion from XXXXX to XXXXX not supported.
Domain=[SINISTER] OS=[Windows 5.1] Server=[Windows 2000 Lan Manager]

Then it shows the "Sharename", "Type", and "Comment" items.

session request to 192.168.0.3 failed (Called name not present)
session request to 192 failed (Called name not present)

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0709s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]