Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 02:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Pupeee on asus 900, screen reolution problem.
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
tyk3

Joined: 04 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2008, 11:10    Post subject:  Pupeee on asus 900, screen reolution problem.  

Hi all.

I've been playing around with pupeee on my EEE 900, and while overall I love it, I do have one small problem, namely I cannot seem to get the video to display at the correct resolution, namely 1024x600.

The xorg setup wizard does not list it as an option. I have even manually edited xorg.conf, but it just keeps dropping back to 800x600. Has anybody else had this problem, and any success resolving it?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5259
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2008, 11:57    Post subject:  

The vbios needs to be forced to accept 1024x600 as a valid resolution. Run this command -
Code:
915resolution -l

and take note of the mode number which corresponds to 1024x600x16bit.
Then follow Raffy's instructions about how to modify /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin and configure -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=164319#164319
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tyk3

Joined: 04 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2008, 12:28    Post subject:  

Thanks for the quick reply.

I tried doing as you suggested (It's so long since I had to use 915 resolution I'd forgotten it existed!) but it does not list 1024x600 in the output, so I couldn't go any further.

Any other ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5259
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2008, 12:51    Post subject:  

I forgot the correct usage of 915resolution. See the official instructions here -
http://www.geocities.com/stomljen/readme.html

Just choose an existing mode number which has a resolution you don't want, then the 915resolution command will reset that mode number to your desired resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5259
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 01:29    Post subject:  

If my suggestion worked, it would be useful if you could confirm.
Others are bound to ask this same question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reis

Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 00:04    Post subject:  

It took me a long time to get pupeee (installed on a usb flash drive) booting into a resolution of 1024x600. Part of the fix was to edit /initrd/pup_r01/etc/resolutionfix.
I changed this to read "915resolution 38 1024 600"
I also used the xorgwizard to pick 1024x600x16.
If xorg.conf doesn't pickup the 1024x600 mode, you will need to change that also.
I couldn't get 1024x600x24 to work. Don't know why.

Also, the resolutionfix file did not exist when I booted off the pupeee CD. It must have been created when I installed to the USB drive, or as a result of my messing around. I hope this hint will help someone to write the definitive instructions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5259
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 01:03    Post subject:  

Thanks for posting your results reis.
Valuable information can go unnoticed to others requiring that same information unless users confirm the outcome of suggested fixes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reis

Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 03:46    Post subject:  

Further research shows that resolutionfix is created by the /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin script mentioned previously in this thread. This script runs X windows and in pupeee it contains the line:
"915resolution 43 800 480 16"
which is what the 7" EEEPC's need.
This is probably why my earlier attempts to change the resolution failed.
Editing that line will probably be part of the story.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 22:15    Post subject: post screen output  

Would someone please post the output in eee-900's terminal when the following is executed:
Code:
915resolution -l

(that is L for "list"). To copy the output, hightlight it with the mouse, go to an editing window (such as posting a message here), then hit SHIFT-INSERT.

We need this to decide which number to use in the 915resolution command line added to xorgwizard and xwin.

At present, however, you can use what reis posted (above):
Code:
915resolution 38 1024 600 16

(I added 16 for the color bits.)

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reis

Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 05:06    Post subject:  

The output of 915resolution on a EEE PC 900 after booting from the pupeee b4 CD was:

Code:

Intel 800/900 Series VBIOS Hack : version 0.5.3

Chipset: 915GM
BIOS: TYPE 1
Mode Table Offset: $C0000 + $269
Mode Table Entries: 36

Mode 30 : 640x480, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 32 : 800x480, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 34 : 1024x768, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 38 : 1280x1024, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 3a : 1600x1200, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 3c : 1920x1440, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 41 : 640x480, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 43 : 800x480, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 45 : 1024x768, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 49 : 1280x1024, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 4b : 1600x1200, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 4d : 1920x1440, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 50 : 640x480, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 52 : 800x480, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 54 : 1024x768, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 58 : 1280x1024, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 5a : 1600x1200, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 5c : 1920x1440, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 60 : 1280x770, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 61 : 1280x770, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 62 : 1280x770, 32 bits/pixel


If I booted with the pfix=nox option, then the output was the same except that modes 32,43&52 were 800x600 instead of 800x480.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 11:21    Post subject: 45, 54  

Ah, so the fix should be (for 16-bit OR 32-bit color):
Code:
915resolution 45 1024 600 16

or

915resolution 54 1024 600 32

Use only one, I guess the first one.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 06:22    Post subject: Bad Case of Wind  

Read this thread with interest to try to get my MSI Wind going.

output of the patched

#915resolution -l

Shows:

Intel 800/900 Series VBIOS Hack : version 0.5.3

Chipset: 945GM

it also gives amongst others

Mode 45 : 1024x768, 16 bits/pixel

so I ran:

#915resolution 45 1024 600 16

and the list then showed

Mode 45 : 1024x600, 16 bits/pixel

I modified the /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin script - the first line after the version comments

915resolution 45 1024 600 16

I can run xvesa at 1024x600 but cannot get Xorg going at all.

I ran ddcprobe and got similar output to raffy's with edidfail:

vbe: VESA 3.0 detected.
oem: Intel(r) 82945GM Chipset Family Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
vendor: Intel Corporation
product: Intel(r) 82945GM Chipset Family Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
memory:7872kb
mode: 1270x1024x256
mode: 1280x1024x64k
mode: 1280x1024x16m
mode: 1024x768x256
mode: 1024x768x64k
mode: 1024x768x16m
mode: 640x480x16m
mode: 800x600x64k
mode: 800x600x16m
mode: 640x480x256
mode: 800x600x256
mode: 640x480x64k
edid:
edidfail

Also I have "wind" issues getting the wireless and hard wired network interfaces going - the wired card is an nvidia so I thought the forcedeth module might be the one but nah ... no go?

The wireless chip is a realtek 8187 I tried all the wireless modules in turn and then used the ndiswrapper with the XP driver - the XP driver that came on the CD had to be updated off the MSI web-site - once I had updated that I got wan0 recognised but the scanner cannot see any wireless networks - she's still not going Sad

Appreciate any pointers to get this puppy going!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5259
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 07:39    Post subject:  

growler wrote:
I can run xvesa at 1024x600 but cannot get Xorg going at all.

According to this
http://forums.msiwind.net/default-msiwind/arch-linux-t1653.html
you should add these 2 lines to your xorg.conf:
Code:
Option "AccelMethod" "exa"
Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"


growler wrote:
the wired card is an nvidia so I thought the forcedeth module might be the one but nah ... no go?

No, I think the ethernet chipset is the new Realtek RTL8101E. We tested a new driver for this chipset in 4.1alpha5, and Barry is now including this driver from alpha6. It's called "r8101".

growler wrote:
The wireless chip is a realtek 8187

The current Puppy 4.1alpha's have the new "rtl8187" driver for the Realtek RTL8187 USB wifi interface ... but wait ...
I just read that the MSI Wind has the RTL8187SE, which is a new miniPCI version of the chipset.
Realtek has just released an early version of a driver for this device. I suggest you wait for the final release of Puppy 4.1 at which point we may be able to provide this driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2008, 18:54    Post subject:  

growler wrote:
I can run xvesa at 1024x600 but cannot get Xorg going at all.


tempestuous wrote:
According to this
http://forums.msiwind.net/default-msiwind/arch-linux-t1653.html
you should add these 2 lines to your xorg.conf:
Code:
Option "AccelMethod" "exa"
Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"


I have the modified xwin script with the 915resolution setting in it still to get the 1024x600 16 bit res. I reran the Xorgwizard - and then before starting it I modified to add these two lines in to the Device Section ... still no joy. Will keep trying and report back if I nail it.

growler wrote:
the wired card is an nvidia so I thought the forcedeth module might be the one but nah ... no go?

tempestuous wrote:
No, I think the ethernet chipset is the new Realtek RTL8101E.


I am too old and confused ....my bad sorry!! The wired ethernet card is actually an RTL8169 and it works like a charm as with 99.5% of puppy hardware detection in my pleasant experiences with it. I was mixed up with another machine - an ASUS Barebones kit I purchased recently P1-AH2 - this has the nvidia ethernet card that won't go with the forcedeth driver. I believe it is an 'MCP51 Ethernet Controller'

tempestuous wrote:
I just read that the MSI Wind has the RTL8187SE, which is a new miniPCI version of the chipset. Realtek has just released an early version of a driver for this device. I suggest you wait for the final release of Puppy 4.1 at which point we may be able to provide this driver.


FANTASTIC!! Really appreciate your help tempestuous!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 08 Sep 2008, 04:39    Post subject: Wireless Wind  

I thought I would try Barry's latest 4.1 alpha 7.. on the Wind.

From a frugal USB stick boot.

I can happily confirm Xorg works out of the box - correctly finding the correct res. 1024x600 x 16 and 24 bit. So does vesa 1024 x 600 24 bit.

The new realtek 8101E fast ethernet driver is detected and module loaded. The r8169 driver loaded and worked in 4 ok but I guess this is now actually the correct optimised driver. It got a dhcp address and connected me happily to the LAN.

Installing to a partition of the HD using the universal installer worked flawlessly reminding me to dismount it first.

Booting from hard disk (from the grub prompt) into xorg takes just 32 seconds! The boot into XP from the same point is 75 seconds and still egg-timer and hard disk light flashing for another 60 seconds 'till its usable. Even the frugal boot off USB stick is way faster as there is no fsck going on now on the pup_save file.

Shutdown and powers off too. Didn't shutdown and power off completely in 4.

4.1 is looking very good for me!!

The stumbling block appears to be the wireless driver for the rtl8187SE. It appears that the driver was alpha and there were some issues with it from the link you gave me. However, I asked realtek and they provided me with a tarball files are dated 16th July 2008.

I am downloading the devx_407.sfs and patched kernel to see if I can figure out how to get it going. Will report back for those interested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0920s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]