Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 07:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Gamers Unite!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2008, 11:57    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
you could create sfs files of the big games.
As they usually are not cluttered all over the filesystem, this is pretty easy.

Something like
mksquashfs /mnt/hda1/games games_301.sfs

So /mnt/hda1/games might look somewhat like this:

/mnt/hda1/games/usr/local/Nexuiz/nexuiz-glx.sh
/mnt/hda1/games/usr/local/Nexuiz/pak/pak.01
/mnt/hda1/games/usr/local/Nexuiz/pak/pak.02
/mnt/hda1/games/usr/local/Quake/quake-glx.sh
/mnt/hda1/games/usr/local/Quake/pak/pak.01
/mnt/hda1/games/usr/local/Quake/pak/pak.02


Like this you might be able to reduce the Iso to 700 MB to fit on a CD, and add 2 or 3 SFS files of around 700 MB.

Mark


I need further clarification on this. I understood your previous input on how to remaster (man, that worked great!) but need more input on making the iso smaller (I can't get it lower than 780MB).

Does the sfs need to have all the data for a game or just the starting script? Does it need to be put together the same way it is currently in the system? In other words, if attack is in /usr/local/attack then does the entire folder, it's contents need to be put in the same way in the sfs file? Just not sure exactly how the sfs works in relation to the running os...

Sorry for the hassle, but I figure it is wiser for me to get clarification now rather than creating invalid sfs files all over the place...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2008, 15:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
Does the sfs need to have all the data for a game or just the starting script?


You need all data of course, except you want to "criple" it.
To "criple" a game, you could replace a big "intro.avi" with a very small one , that just shows a black screen for a second.
But this is not so nice, this was done by Windows game crackers in the past to create smaller downloads (illegal).

Quote:
Does it need to be put together the same way it is currently in the system?


yes.
Though some games are relocatable.
I think for doom3 it does not matter, where it is located.
You just need to adapt the path setting in /us/local/bin/doom3 with an editor.

If you need a sfs hat is smaller than 780 MB, but the game is larger, then you could create 2 f them.
So both had to be added then to the bootmanager by the user.

Example:
To thegameA_400.sfs you add:
/usr/local/thegame/bigmovie1.avi

To thegameB_400.sfs you add:
/usr/local/thegame/bigmovie2.avi


Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2008, 15:38    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Quote:
Does the sfs need to have all the data for a game or just the starting script?


You need all data of course...

Mark


This is all invaluable stuff...awesome! So glad I could coerce you to get it put down on the forum for future reference...


Hmmm...none of my games are anywhere close to that size, except maybe Regnum...I need to check around and see where all the size is going for this iso..yeah, it's right at 780. Of course, it's got Audacious, Audacity, VLC and other stuff on it that are big space consumers...no OpenOffice but some others that are big...open to suggestions about where to check for "hidden" data that is just taking up space (some tmp file I don't know about?).

Thanks again for the info; I'll post back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2008, 16:18    Post subject:  

you can type this:

Quote:
cd /usr
du -m | sort -n


this helps to find big files.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 09:21    Post subject:  

All right, I tried to trim it down even further but the best that I can do is 750M overall, so I have to explore the sfs option again.

I tried to get it to work before with just a Battle of Wesnoth sfs, but the best final result I got was this: Battle of Wesnoth added itself to the menu, but nothing happened when I clicked on it. I then ran it from command but that command wasn't found. So, clearly I did something wrong.

Here is the process I followed: I created a folder called /SFS. The folder for Wesnoth is located in /usr/local/share. The x-executable is located in /usr/local/bin. So, within the SFS folder I created I created a /usr/ directory, then a /usr/local directory, then a /usr/local/share and a /usr/local/bin directory within SFS/usr/local. I then copied the Wesnoth folder into /usr/local/share and the executable into /usr/local/bin of SFS.

Then I cd'd to the directory just outside of SFS and ran mksquashfs:
Code:

cd /mnt/hdb2/
mksquashfs SFS/ wesnoth.sfs


Everything ran smoothly, it seems, but apparently I missed something. After all was said and done, and I had Puppy load the wesnoth.sfs module at startup it added the Battle of Wesnoth menu entry, like I said, but that was it.

I don't know how to check to see if the sfs file was loaded correctly beyond what I've done.

What did I miss?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 11:44    Post subject:  

you can click on the sfs to mount it, then you can browse it in the filemanager to see, if everything is in there.

If you already booted with it, look in:
/initrd/pup_ro3/
Instead of ro3, it also could be 04 or 05.

/initrd/ displays the "layers", of which the current filesystem is generated (so the contents of the current sfs files).

If everything is in there, but not in the "real" /usr", then you encountered a bug.
Sometimes, merged layers are invisible!
I have not found out exactly, why.
It might happen, if files are available twice, e.g. once in pup_400.sfs, and once in "games.sfs". But I'm not sure.
But check first, if the "ro" layers display correct, before we try to sort out this issue.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 13:16    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
...
But check first, if the "ro" layers display correct, before we try to sort out this issue.

Mark


Will do...that's what I needed to know. Thanks, Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2008, 09:03    Post subject:  

Oooo-kaaayy...very strange.

It seems I did the process correctly for the sfs. I checked the areas you mentioned, MU, and everything is there. Actually, everything is in a few places; let me explain.

Started the wesnoth-free frugal install. Added the wesnoth.sfs. Rebooted. I then checked to see if Battle of Wesnoth was added to the Games menu, and it was. Click on it, nothing happens. Ran command:
Code:

# wesnoth

..nothing happened. Said wesnoth couldn't be found.

Looked the places you recommended and found it right away. So, I ran this:
Code:

# cd /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/local/bin
# ./wesnoth
Battle for WEsnoth v1.4.3
Started on Wed Sep 17 18:06:13 2008

cound not initialize fonts
#

?? Ok, don't even know where to begin with that one. All the font files seem to be there...

Then I noticed something else strange. As I mentioned before, in the sfs file /usr/local/share/ contains the wesnoth folder. /usr/local/bin contains the x-executable. These were in /initrd/pup_ro2/...

However, they were also in /initrd/pup_ro3

And under pup_ro3 there was a /usr/ folder (complete with the aforementioned internal folders) but there was also a /usr_1/ that had the same folders in it, all complete.

Also, under the main Puppy directory, along with the other standard folders/directories, there was also a /usr_1 that had all the same wesnoth folders/x-executables in it.

In other words, using the sfs seems to create multiple locations of the same directory.

?? What do I do with that?

Oh, and just to be sure, I cd'd to each of those and ran the same ./wesnoth command and got the same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2008, 15:16    Post subject:  

Quote:
there was also a /usr_1


Bingo!
This is created, if you create a SFS file, while it already existed!
So you have game.sfs, and run:
mksquashfs SFS game.sfs

Now the /SFS/usr is added as /usr_1

This is a very bad issue with squashfs, the only solution is to delete the old game.sfs before you create a new one.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2008, 15:27    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Quote:
there was also a /usr_1


Bingo!
This is created, if you create a SFS file, while it already existed!
So you have game.sfs, and run:
mksquashfs SFS game.sfs

Now the /SFS/usr is added as /usr_1

This is a very bad issue with squashfs, the only solution is to delete the old game.sfs before you create a new one.

Mark


Hmmm...I thought I had, but maybe not. I'll delete that, then start all over...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2008, 10:38    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Quote:
there was also a /usr_1


Bingo!
This is created, if you create a SFS file, while it already existed!
So you have game.sfs, and run:
mksquashfs SFS game.sfs

Now the /SFS/usr is added as /usr_1

This is a very bad issue with squashfs, the only solution is to delete the old game.sfs before you create a new one.

Mark


Ok, got it to go. Started back with the original hard drive install, removed Wesnoth while creating the iso and got it to go...tweaked wesnoth a few times, but got it set up perfectly as an sfs.

I want to modify the frugal with a couple more things, then I'll remaster via the MU method Wink upload the growler.iso (seems a good enough name) and the wesnoth.sfs.

I'll probably upload the file to filefront unless anyone else has suggestions about a good upload site...the iso is around 600MB and the sfs for wesnoth is about 190MB...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2008, 13:20    Post subject:  

great, you may upload here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=99398#99398
I then would mirror it on the canadia mirror, too, as people from the states reported problems to download from there.

Filefront is ok, too, I could grab it there.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2008, 11:22    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
great, you may upload here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=99398#99398
I then would mirror it on the canadia mirror, too, as people from the states reported problems to download from there.

Filefront is ok, too, I could grab it there.

Mark

Shouldn't be any problems in Canada, other than vote for Steven Harper and give him more than 50% for once
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2008, 11:44    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:

Shouldn't be any problems in Canada, other than vote for Steven Harper and give him more than 50% for once
ttuuxxx


...being a typical, self-absorbed American, I had to look that one up. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 15:22    Post subject:  

Ok, the puplet for this gaming settup has been released here.

Check it out, download it, use it, change it, etc. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0977s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]