Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 17:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy 4 frugal install not saving session.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
kagashe

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 10:16    Post subject:  Puppy 4 frugal install not saving session.  

Hi,

Although, I am not a beginner Puppy 4 is making me feel like one. I have done frugal install of Puppy 4 by copying vmlinuz initrd.gz pup_400.sfs and zdrv_400.sfs to one of the partitions on hard disc.

When I shutdown/reboot Puppy is not asking where to create save file and exciting by giving a message session not saved.

This never happened in earlier versions. I don't have any save file from previous versions.

Please help.

kagashe
dm6257

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 10:48    Post subject: Puppy 4 install not asked to save
Subject description: New installation on USB flash drive doesn't ask for save option at shutdown

I posted a similiar topic a few days ago with the same issue. I tried a new installation technique where I used Vista to format my 2 GB USB flash drive to FAT32 and used Win32 Syslinux to add a MBR. The Puppy installation worked great but when I shutdown Puppy 4 it immediately goes to Session Not Saved. I have tried the ComboFormat method with the identical results.

Any ideas?

dm6257
dm6257

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:42    Post subject: Puppy 4 not saving session
Subject description: Puppy 4 does not ask to save session with USB flash, Puppy 3.01 does