Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 11 Dec 2017, 06:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
4.00 keeps freezing up
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun 2008, 12:05    Post subject:  

CPU overheating can definitely cause freezing. Sometimes, there is a competition between kernel and BIOS to control power management. And as a consequence, neither controls it, both give it up, and the CPU fan cuts off during boot. You should carefully monitor your computer for fan sounds as the computer boots up, and ensure that the CPU fan doesn't cut off (and stay off). Listen for fan sound if a laptop. Open up the side of the box for a desktop computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J08NS


Joined: 10 Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Location: Southwest USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun 2008, 16:06    Post subject:  

I am using live cd and am saving sessions on a 1 gb flash drive , don.t know if it is a standard or experimental kernel .I used the start menu options freely all day yesterday with no problem Shocked ,so it may be a random occurence as reported by Dreams to GO and and HarryWill in a few of the other posts . I will try the pushing the Restart X server or Cntl + alt+ backspace and type xwin to restart X if it continues . I tend not to think it is cpu over heating . J08NS Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun 2008, 19:29    Post subject:  

Quote:
Rather than pushing the reset button or rebooting, you should instead restart X, if you can. First try to "Restart X server" from the Menu button.


Menu > Shutdown > Restart X server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DreamsToGo


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Location: Castelnaudary, south France, World Capital of Cassoulet

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 14:59    Post subject:  

I think this is something to do with the mouse. Just a feeling and I have no proof, but it seems to occur always just after I have moved the mouse.
Last edited by DreamsToGo on Sun 06 Jul 2008, 16:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 490
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2008, 15:19    Post subject:  

I can never get the restart X to work. Every time I try it, I get a black screen with a bunch of gray rectangles on it and it freezes there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
yim


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 167
Location: Blue Ridge Mtns

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 07:49    Post subject:  

has anyone figured out this freeze problem , I too am have the same problem, I too modified my mouse settings and it usually happens after moving the mouse

when I first installed dingo on this

Presario720US
1.1ghz Duron
256 ram
512 swap

it ran superb and wireless was a breeze
but now freezes randomly
I do occasionally notice high cpu usage

yim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 13:44    Post subject:  

I deleted 4.00-k2.6.21.7 (the standard .iso) within two days after first installing it, because of all the infuriating random total lockups requiring hitting the power button.

The experimental 4.00-k2.6.25-smp version has been stable for me, on both my P3 and P4 dual-cpu machines (the cpu's all run under 44 degrees C).

4.1-alpha-4 has also so far been stable, more stable than 4.1-alpha-3--replying here was a gamble in 4.1-alpha-3; as often as not, Seamonkey vanished while attempting to reply in 4.1-alpha-3; this problem seems to be resolved in 4.1-alpha-4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bill

Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 492

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 14:11    Post subject: Freezing in Puppy 4 Dingo ?  

Well I certainly can't argue with whatever others have experienced but on a cheapo Acer AST180-UA381B 3800+ AMD Athlon 1GB DDR2 ram ,Sata HD I have yet to experience any problems other than what I have done to myself. Sad I did however experience a sound problem with Nvidia driven onboard sound chip ,which I disallowed in bios and plugged in a creative blaster live which got my problem with Ardour2 resolved.I can't tell you why,but in your cases "hardware acceleration" comes to mind with Intel based mobos I have had in the past.cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0550s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0186s) ][ GZIP on ]