Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox 3.6, 3.5.6 and Firefox 2.0.0.20 and Firefox 1.5.0.12
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1798
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Mon 15 Feb 2010, 22:28    Post_subject:  

Which version of Puppy are you using? I think the FF 3.6 pet listed in the first post will only install on Puppy 4.3 or higher (or any Puppy based on 4.3/.1). I could be wrong, though - that's the way it worked, for me.

The .pets redirect the defaultbrowser link to Firefox, so you should be able to click on the 'browse' icon on the desktop and have Firefox load. If that doesn't work, and you do indeed have the .pet installed, open a terminal window ('console' on the desktop, if you prefer), and try typing

firefox

...and press Enter, and see if any error messages appear.

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 27 Feb 2010, 16:35    Post_subject:  

I have tested the Firefox 3.6.pet on several puppies and worked well on all of them except Boxpup.

Which I installed it on that one it did say that it was missing many many dependencies but it works good enough that I use it just now when writing this.

Does any of you know what will not work due to these missing ones dependencies?

Edit

Yes I should have made a copy of that text but I have no knowledge of how one does such copies.
Maybe Boxpup are made on an older kernel and puppy variation?

If the log files in tmp get saved with each pup then maybe the error message are still there?

Or if it is important then I can start all over and report the error message?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Feb 2010, 19:11    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
....which says that many man dependencies is missing


Man is the information pages, so if you are correct, and it is man, not main, then I think you are maybe only missing F1 help files, or plain FF man pages

....but you would need to post the missing dependency message to be sure

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 04:28    Post_subject:  

Axiys wrote:
Hi! I'm new to puppy, and I can't install FireFox 3.6, It won't open it like an application, any help?


I guess you are talking about the downloadable files direct from Mozilla?

The Pets that this thread points to would always give messages and not refuse to try to get installed.

Tell which puppy you have too

Aitch

I had an unfortunate "Typo" there. many man
should be many many

Sorry.

I don't know how to make a copy of error messages.

Is it still there in some log so I can copy it now if you describe how one do that? the list was very long so I will not do it word for word.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FrPaulB

Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri 05 Mar 2010, 03:25    Post_subject:    

I am using Puppy 4.3.1. I can successfully install FF 3.6 using the PET. But I'd like the British English version. (Helps with spell-check in Google Docs). I can download a compressed file from the Firefox site, but I don't know how to install it. could I uncompress it over the already installed FF 3.6?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10827
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 05 Mar 2010, 03:44    Post_subject:  

FrPaulB wrote:
I am using Puppy 4.3.1. I can successfully install FF 3.6 using the PET. But I'd like the British English version. (Helps with spell-check in Google Docs). I can download a compressed file from the Firefox site, but I don't know how to install it. could I uncompress it over the already installed FF 3.6?

yes you can, basically find where the firefox pet installs to, probably something like /usr/lib/firefox or on 2.14x,dpup its /lib/firefox open the folder and highlite everything, and right click delete
then extract your firefox uk version anywhere and open the folder and highlite everything and drag it into the old firefox folder and click move
that should be it.

or if the the 2 folders are named firefox then just delete the old one and drag the new uk one into that directory

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
4-stroke

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 05 Mar 2010, 04:38    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
probably something like /usr/lib/firefox or on 2.14x,dpup its /lib/firefox


http://tldp.org/LDP/Linux-Filesystem-Hierarchy/html/index.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FrPaulB

Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri 05 Mar 2010, 07:36    Post_subject:    

Yes, that worked. Install FF 3.6 using the PET, delete the Firefox directory from /usr/share then expend the UK English version to /usr/share
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FrPaulB

Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 07 Mar 2010, 03:43    Post_subject:  

It's also true that you can simply install FF 3.6 using the .PET and add a UK English dictionary using the dialogue boxes in FF, probably an easier route!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
strategic_thinker

Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 01:28    Post_subject: Firefox 3.6 pet
Sub_title: Username and passwrod
 

Hi,

I am trying to download the Firefox 3.6 pet from here.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=30434

But, I am being asked for a username and password. What do I enter ?

The post does not seem to indicate it.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 30 Apr 2010, 01:58    Post_subject:  

username ......... puppy
password ......... linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
xman


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 07:15    Post_subject:  

Can't find 3.6.9?

There were problems on newest Firefox updates which patched 11 critical vulnerabilities, and Mozilla stopped providing security updates to Firefox users as it investigates a bug that caused computers to crash last week. “Mozilla began receiving a large number of crash reports after releasing Firefox 3.5.12 and 3.6.9 last week. The reports have come from machines on all three platforms that Firefox supports, with the majority of them occurring during browser startup.”

Mozilla has switched Firefox updates back on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
xman


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 04:39    Post_subject:  

Yes, somebody got a bad pair of mittens. So, I’m not surprised that Mozilla has released Firefox 3.6.10 shortly after 3.6.9.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
charnisingh

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Thu 30 Sep 2010, 07:16    Post_subject: Firefox 3.6.10
Sub_title: Pet and SFS
 

Hi,

I have made pet as well as sfs of firefox 3.6.10 in puppy 432, if anyone is

interested, I will find a way to upload here. The pet and SFS should work

in puppy-4.

charnisingh
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
duckrow

Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 03:13    Post_subject:  

Will it work with puppy 3.01? If so,yes please
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1016s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0204s) ][ GZIP on ]