Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Oct 2018, 12:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
TigerPup
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 13 [191 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2725

PostPosted: Fri 23 May 2008, 20:34    Post subject:  

Oi ..more jumbotron..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 00:08    Post subject:  

@: jonyo
Quote:
Oi ..more jumbotron..

Say what???

@: nic2109
Glad you like it, and thanks for the feedback. Re wbar, the bar is purposefully hidden, that's the hide patch in action. You would have to remove it, then either recompile normally (hide patch is not included by default), or install one of the pet packages from the wbar forum. Not sure what is there, though you won't need imlib2 as this is included with TigerPup. To remove wbar, run these commands:

Code:

cp /usr/share/wbar/dot.wbar /root/my-applications
rm -fr /usr/share/wbar
rm -f /usr/bin/wbar


You can then reinstall another wbar, and if you haven't touched /root/.xinitrc it will autostart when you restart X. To restore your config file, run:

mv -f /root/my-applications/dot.wbar /usr/share/wbar/dot.wbar
rm -f /root/.wbar

You'll then have to edit your preferences for wbar in /root/.xinitrc
You can type "wbar -help" in console for all the options.

Re gimp, I'm not sure about that, though likelyhood if it's not starting is that I made a mistake with the launcher in wbar. For wbar's config file, run "mousepad /usr/share/wbar/dot.wbar"

Scroll down the page until you come to gimp, and note the command (next to "c:"). Does it work if you run this in the console on it's own? Probably not...lol. If Gimp works from the menu (right clicking on desktop), in console type "thunar /usr/share/applications"
and search for the gimp icon. Right click on this, open with mousepad, and find the command that launches it. This is what you need to put in the wbar config file. I'll fix this in future releases.

Does this answer your question? Otherwise, once you open gimp, click on "Image", then "Scale Image" to make it smaller, or change the ppi. Happy Tigering!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 00:19    Post subject:  

@:nic2109
Just re-read your post, now I get it, thanks for pointing that out. Didn't know GQView had that feature...lol. You can either follow Prit1's advice, which is how I usually open files in gimp anyway, or go to preferences in GQView, then editors, and under gimp replace the opening command (the whole thing) with the command to open gimp. Find this from /usr/share/applications as mentioned in the last post. Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 07:29    Post subject:  

prit1 wrote:
@nic2109: I thought the iconbar was partially hidden and this was an additional effect of Wbar. Its the same on my laptop.

I had the same problem with Gimp not opening for editing. But when I clicked on Gimp from the menu (right click on desktop for menu), and then dragged the pic to Gimp, it worked.

Thanks, I realised after reading the thread better that the partially hidden bar is a feature! Thanks also for the "howto" for fixing the application link.

I've found out another "funny" you may like to have a look at.

Watching a streaming video is fine until you move anything - mouse or window in Opera, or if the page has a moving image of any sort. The sound stays good but the video flickers alarmingly.

An example stream is http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsa/n5ctrl/sport/live/bb/wm/video/ukonly/sol_now6a_bb.asx Sorry but this is UK only content from the BBC.

Suggestion: I would like to see a Quit launcher in the wbar.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 08:39    Post subject:  

Hmmm. Thanks for that. I'll give it a go tomorrow. Could possibly be your system, what are your specs? Most likely it has to do with Compiz-Fusion. There is a patched Mplayer version available, which likely fixes this problem. Might include it on my site under 'extras', but I prefer xine at this point in time. Re the quit launcher, there is the skull and cross bones icon on the top panel bar, "xkill", listed as "kiss of death". This will kill any misbehaving window. Have you tried this yet? Must get around to writing those docs...lol.
~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Cur Dog

Joined: 22 Dec 2007
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 10:04    Post subject:  

I just loaded TigerPup as a frugal install. Great Job!!!! This is the first time I have used a puplet with compiz fusion and I am liking what I am seeing. I am having a problem with getting the gtbasic analog clock to work. All of the demos seem to work with the exception of the clock. All that shows up on the desktop is a white circle. I am just curious to see if anyone else has tried this, or has this working with TigerPup.


Thanks,

Cur Dog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 17:27    Post subject:  

dinky wrote:
Could possibly be your system, what are your specs?

Basic spec of machine as per signature footer - but if you need more detail then please ask.

dinky wrote:
Re the quit launcher, there is the skull and cross bones icon on the top panel bar, "xkill", listed as "kiss of death".

Ah; what I meant was a "Shut-down or Re-boot" kind of Quit - like at the foot of the main system menu.

More Feedback

1) I've tried the Splash version too. but it doesn't even sprinkle let alone splash! The only difference for me was that the first progress message was something like 'Loading splash' (sorry I have forgotten the exact words, but I'm sure that you know them). It then went on to "load drivers to access the disks" and so on.

Is there anything to do to activate Pebble?

2) Changing the desktop background kills (or hides, or masks) the wbar.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 19:47    Post subject:  

Hi Cur Dog, glad you like it! I've not been able to get that clock to work either, it may have something to do with Compiz-Fusion. Try asking over at tombh's ofrum pages for wNOP, the origianl creator of a pupplet with Compiz-Fusion, that TigerPup is based on. I would love to get that wokring also.

wNOP: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=24871

@Nick

Wbar needs to be restarted when you change desktop background, or when you change the config file. Simply right click on it. One more thing to add to the docs...lol.

Re the quit on the launcher, I'd put this on the menu bar at the top of the page. Simply right click on it, "add New Item", then select "Action Buttons". You can choose what you want from there. I'm unlikely to put it in wbar, as version 1.4 already needs to have some icons cut down from it.

Re Pebble, that's odd. I've had no problems so far with the live cd from my site... how are you running it? Are you booting from the live cd, or are you trying a frugal install? With frugal you need to add some extra options to the boot script, but the live cd should boot right up. That might be a hardware problem, which in other words means I've got no idea. Try pizzagood's pebble forum, he created and is maintaining it. Thanks for all your feedback and bugfixing!

Pebble: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26339
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 21:40    Post subject:  

Cur Dog wrote:
I am having a problem with getting the gtbasic analog clock to work. All that shows up on the desktop is a white circle.


Solved.
Had to increase the windowsize one pixel wider than the image.
Also had to replace the eventbox with a singleclick-eventbox of GtkBasic, as libglade does not pass through GDK_BUTTON_PRESS in Xfce/Compiz (a problem with other windowmanagers, too). The single-click eventbox uses an own eventhandling I had added myself to the interpreter some weeks ago.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=159544#159544

Oh, and Tigerpup is really neat Smile
Good look, easy to set up.
Very nice, I think it gets time to create a compiz.sfs for Muppy next month.
Thanks to Tomb and dinky for working so hard on this Smile

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 22:31    Post subject:  

Great MU! Clock looks good, and thanks for the feedback. 2 queries:

After clock dotpup was installed, right clicking on the clock brings up the name for it as "nothing". I closed it, then opened up gtk-003 from the menu. There is a listing for the 'analog-clock', but the same problem as before... is this intended, and do I need to launch the analog clock from somewhere else? Thanks.

~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 22:37    Post subject:  

it should be as "analogclock" in the "Utilities" menu.
I'm in Muppy again, so not sure, if Tigerpup has the same categories.
/usr/share/applications/GtkBasic-Analogclock.desktop
uses this entry:
Categories=Utility;Clock

Could you explain, where exactly you got "nothing"?

The clock in the GtkBasic-Demos still is old code, it should not be used.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cur Dog

Joined: 22 Dec 2007
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 23:15    Post subject:  

Thanks for the guidance MU. It is working ok now.

Again, thanks for the puplet dinky.

Cur Dog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 25 May 2008, 02:01    Post subject:  

dinky wrote:
After clock dotpup was installed, right clicking on the clock brings up the name for it as "nothing".


Please download the dotpup again, I added /root/.GtkBasic-Analogclock/windowposition.txt

Maybe it was missing that.
It stores the clocks position.

I think that Cur Dog already downloaded the updated dotpup.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15239
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 25 May 2008, 07:05    Post subject:  

dinky wrote:
@ Lobster:
There are only so many hours I can steal away from my wife and family in front of this screen...lol.


Rolling Eyes I suppose . . . Cool

OK I am now back at home and able to test and play with this.
I downloaded the pizzasgood startup screen version
All loaded and worked and setup OK

A tiger that roars might be better than one that barks . . .
Might I suggest a crazy option? I have a version of tmxxine that yodels on startup. A yodeling tiger of course makes perfect sense.
Basically all I did was rename yodel.wav to 2barks.wav
and replace the file here
/root/puppy-reference/2barks.wav
No code needed . . .
I can send you the yodel if you want . . .
Shocked

I like Tigerpup. A lot. I like the 'wobble fairy' and 'kiss of death' names. It is just fun.

If not familair you find these by clicking on the tiny blue line on the top of the screen to get another taksbar
The launchbar on the base works well.

I also liked being able to install xaraLx with MU's PSI installer (using the XARA GTK and XaraLX pups/pets (two pets needed) and I would be aware when moving towards Puppy 4 you need support for major .pets - for ease of use some installing of extras does become important very quickly . . .
something like this might be useful:
http://tmxxine.com/wik/wikka.php?wakka=LinuxTmxxineLight

Well done.

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dinky


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Sun 25 May 2008, 09:39    Post subject:  

@ Lobster

Thanks for the great feedback! Have been woirking on TigerPup tonight, and roaring on startup has definitely been one of my main points to get working. I'm taking it a step further though, as I want TigerPup to roar on EVERY startup. 2 reasons for this.
1. because it's fun
2. to test alsa, and sound, on each bootup.

This last I feel is important, and has been asked about before in the forums. DOn't have the exact line, but found it in the forums not long ago, basically an add-on to /root/.xinitrc
Thanks for the offer of a yodelling tiger, but I've had my ears set on roaring for awhile now. Maybe next release?

Will definitely be porting this to Puppy 4, but will wait until Compiz-Fusion support is up and running. Also until I figure out what I'm doing building from unleashed. Re package support, I think I follow you. Unsure what txxine is about thought. Followed the link, but... is it a project for graphic interfaces, is it another installer? I'm interested, but not quite following that.

I will be creating a space on my website with lots of addons to go with TigerPup, mainly Pet packages and sfs files. While TigerPup is my main desktop, it doesn't meet all my needs by itself, so I have installed lots of 'extra; software. I'll have sfs files for various office programs, and whatever else seems appropriate. Also keen to create something for Mupen64, a great N64 emulator I've been playing around with of late.

Thanks for your support Lobster!
~dinky
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 13 [191 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0882s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]