Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Aug 2018, 09:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to use USB dialup modem with wvdial.conf
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1900
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 15:51    Post subject:  

Dennis,
Thanks for all your help with this. My plan is to add to the fix for consistency, primarily adding changes for SL modems (already contributed somewhere else -- or just sent to Barry but not in 4A1). I also need to test under the new kernel before submitting. I hope to have it usable in 4.0.0 and 4.0.2, for inclusion in(alpha) 4.0.3. When you see it on the 4alpha2 forum thread, please try it out with everything you can.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sbaguz


Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2008, 04:55    Post subject:  No dialtone?  

After some years proudly using Puppy, I finally changed my PC… but the new powerful one hasn’t a serial port, so I had to buy an USB modem (an Atlantis WebRunner, a SmartLink softmodem…) instead of my old good serial one.
Surprise: Puppy 4.00 is able to detect it without any trouble!!!!! Very Happy But when I try to connect, after dialing up it immediately disconnects giving a “no dial tone” message (I obviously checked cables… Wink ).
It’s really frustrating to be so close to success… Crying or Very sad Do you have any idea, modem warriors?

Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1900
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2008, 12:15    Post subject:  

sbaguz,
I have a D-Link USB SmartLink modem and have seen a similar problem. I found that if I leave the "carrier check" option unchecked, the modem works. But not if that option is checked/turned-on. I also found that if I connect the modem through a hub, it will not dial successfully (but I assume you are not using a hub).

I found a discussion about the no-dialtone here, but no resolution:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=58459

Some things to verify:
1. Assuming you are in Italy, be sure the /etc/countryinfo file reflects that.
2. lsmod should show module slusb and not slamr as loaded.
3. Please post the PupScan USB Interface listing item for the modem, to see the hardware IDs and that it is using module slusb.

Beyond all this, I am out of ideas.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
russ

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jun 2008, 18:20    Post subject:  

I get this message about no dialtone when I boot the computer without the usb modem connected. I guess it doesn't load the usb driver for the modem. However you say you can dialup and it wont stay connected, I corrected this by changing the login speed from 57600 to 115200. It dials in and stays connected now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sbaguz


Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2008, 04:04    Post subject:  

First of all, thanks for your suggestions... Wink

Anyway, I already knew about the "carrier check" option, I'm not using a hub and I already changed login speed to 115200. No success...
This evening I'll check the other things.

I'll post some other info tomorrow...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
russ

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2008, 06:41    Post subject:  

sbagus,
There is another setting you can try on login speed 38400.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sbaguz


Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jun 2008, 04:43    Post subject:  

No success again...
I followed all your suggestions above, everything seems to be ok and nothing changed. Only one point: I haven't a /etc/countryinfo file... Should I create it? In which format should I put country information inside? (By the way: trying a slmodemd -country=ITALY has made things worse: modem no more detected...).

However here are some PupScan results:

Module Size Used by
snd_mixer_oss 16896 0
snd_hda_intel 289308 0
snd_pcm 75656 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_timer 22020 1 snd_pcm
snd_hwdep 9220 1 snd_hda_intel
snd 52068 5 snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_hwdep
soundcore 7520 1 snd
nvidia 6217744 24
i2c_core 22032 1 nvidia
agpgart 34128 1 nvidia
parport_pc 31716 0
lp 12616 0
parport 35528 2 parport_pc,lp
usblp 14080 0
slusb 16740 2
forcedeth 46600 0
snd_page_alloc 10120 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
fuse 44052 0
unionfs 83732 1
nls_iso8859_1 4224 0
nls_cp437 5888 0
usbhid 24928 0
usb_storage 83264 0
ehci_hcd 31116 0
ohci_hcd 21252 0
usbcore 127128 7 usblp,slusb,usbhid,usb_storage,ehci_hcd,ohci_hcd
sr_mod 17188 0
ide_cd 39200 0
cdrom 36768 2 sr_mod,ide_cd
squashfs 46856 1

***

Manufacturer=GENERIC
Product=USB Storage Device
SerialNumber=200705231228113ND
VendorID=116f ProductID=c110 KERNEL-MODULE=usb-storage
VendorID=0483 ProductID=7554 KERNEL-MODULE=ST7554 USB Modem

***

filename: /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/extra/slusb.ko
license: Smart Link Ltd.
description: ST7554 USB Smart Link Soft Modem driver.
author: Smart Link Ltd.
alias: usb:v0483p7554d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
depends: usbcore
vermagic: 2.6.21.7 mod_unload 486
parm: debug:Debug level: 0-3 (default=0) (int)

Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
russ

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jun 2008, 07:19    Post subject:  

You might try the "modem-wizard" found in /usr/sbin/modem-wizard. I don't remember if it is in 4.0. I have used extra commands in windows to keep a modem connected. I have never looked to see if puppy has a place to put these commands. They went something like "+MS=44k". You might google this command for an init string for modems to see if that can help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shri


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jun 2008, 08:40    Post subject: Hi
Subject description: Problem with ZTE modem.
 

Hi to all
i am useing puppy2.02 with kernel 2.6.16.7.when i am connect to modem (ZTE Model no:-Classic 23) its can't connect. Sad
when i am cat /proc/bus/usb/devices its shows me

=03 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=10c4 ProdID=ea60 Rev= 1.00
S: Manufacturer=Silicon Labs
S: Product=USB to UART Bridge Controller
S: SerialNumber=0001
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=(none)
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms

when i am useing Minisys kernel 2.6.21.7 its get connected to my pc.
when i am cat /proc/bus/usb/devices its shows me

=03 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=10c4 ProdID=ea60 Rev= 1.00
S: Manufacturer=Silicon Labs
S: Product=USB to UART Bridge Controller
S: SerialNumber=0001
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cp2101
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms

how to get cp2101.ko file for kernel 2.6.16.7 or any other source code to download this file.or any other tips or trics to connect modem (ZTE Model no:-Classic 23) with kernel 2.6.16.7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5470
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun 2008, 01:16    Post subject:  

Puppy 2.02 already contains the cp2101 module. To "fetch" it from Puppy's zdrv file, do this
Code:
modprobe -vn cp2101


To load it, do this
Code:
modprobe cp2101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shri


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jun 2008, 05:24    Post subject: Hi tempestuous
Subject description: There is no zdrv for puppy2.02
 

Hi tempestuous
Hi i am using ZTE Model:-Classic 23 usb cable modem. Rolling Eyes There is no zdrv for puppy 2.02 how can i fetch the cp2101 from it. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 05:06    Post subject:  

To whom it may concern.I have finally been able to got online with my Toshiba TE2000 using my netcomm roadster 11 56 usb modem .It was straightforward useing Richards modem fix as advised in this thread. Also Puppy 4.00 loaded perfectly on the laptop without any problems. Many thanks to Richard (Rerwin) who engineered both of these results.
Many thanks Richard Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arslan

Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jul 2008, 06:40    Post subject:  

Hi everybody,

is there a way to make a US Robotics 56k USB modem work with Puppy 4 (frugal) on a Dell Latitude D600 laptop?

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0788s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0305s) ][ GZIP on ]