Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 May 2018, 15:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to use USB dialup modem with wvdial.conf
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
russ

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue 27 May 2008, 17:59    Post subject:  

Richard,
I have no PCMCIA card attached modem. It is an internal winmodem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed 28 May 2008, 04:25    Post subject:  

Richard..
I installed cdc-acm via the bootmanager and removed Pl2303 and on boot the modem was not detected. I called it a number of things on wvdial.conf and pup dial showed it but could not see it.There was no /dev/ttyACM0 so I created it (mknod etc) but nothing would work.Strangely with Pl2303 installed in the boot up it showed detection of analog modem but did not communicate as the serial modem does when detected at boot.I am at the limit of my imagination at this time. It really does not matter if I get it going or not as the serial modem works fine so if you have better things to do thats OK. I am just curious to see why it does not work and would like to see how it compares with the serial modem.I only have dialup and it is slow anyway in country NSW.
Regards Dennis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
russ

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed 28 May 2008, 07:17    Post subject:  

Dennis,
I was real sure that my modem would work with puppy because when I would boot puppy and the kernel was trying to find the modem it would actually get to the point of not only recognizing the modem (lights would light up) but would also go all the way up to a dialtone. I had a feeling that something was wrong with the program (pupdial) that dialed in. The only other thing I would suggest is try to use the other kernel (if you are not using it). Puppy 4.0 has 2 kernel versions and some have said they have more luck with older computers with the later kernels (2.6.23 and above). Puppy 4.0 has a 2.6.25 kernel and a 2.6.21... kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1888
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 28 May 2008, 12:36    Post subject:  

russ,
Sorry for my reply to you about a PCMCIA modem. I intended it for kapper in another thread, so have moved it there.

Dennis,
I too am interested in getting your USB modem working (for everyone who has one like it), or knowing why it won't. Be sure the name you put into the BootManager is "cdcacm" without a hyphen. Before doing that, you might enter "modprobe cdcacm" in a console window, after booting with the modem plugged in. It should just return with the # prompt, without any message about no such device detected. That should settle whether cdcacm is appropriate. Then we can mess with the /dev entries.

I don't think you need to add nodes; we need to see what the driver expects, which should be one of those already present in Puppy. Then we need a softlink (/dev/ttyACM0) to whatever that is, so PupDial/wvdial can reference it; that technique worked for russ with the pl2303 driver.

Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu 29 May 2008, 04:34    Post subject:  

Richard . Thanks for the continuing help.. If I modprobe cdcacm I get FATAL no module In the Module add-list manager it shows the module cdc_acm and if I modprobe cdc_acm it goes to the cursor. lsmod shows cdc_acm and it was present when I last tested the modem as shown in the last post.
Neither Pl2303 or cdc_acm were in the lsmod when I started this investigation. Incidentally I tried the modem with a blank wvdial.conf with either,both,or neither of these modules with the result shown in earlier posts. If I try with the existing wvdial for the serial modem it apparently looks no further than the previously used modem.
There is no cdcacm without the hyphen shown on the module add-list manager.
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1888
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 29 May 2008, 11:24    Post subject:  

Dennis,
My mistake. Module cdc_acm or cdc-acm (they are equivalent and interchangable) appears to be correct for your modem. Now play with the /dev softlinks.

I will be home tomorrow afternoon EST (GMT-4) and will have access to puppy, so can be more specific in my suggestions.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Fri 30 May 2008, 23:42    Post subject:  

Richard. I have fiddled a bit more and I can get the modem to ring out but when it gets to connection on the log it shows
Returning not ok!!
--> Disconnecting at Sat May 31 13:17:22 2008
To get this far I have to manually edit wvdial.conf to modem=/dev/tty/ACM0 however there is no init2 only init1 ATZ and when I test ttyACM0 in pupdial the last light flicks on and off but there is no extended conversation as with the Serial modem. Also the modem is not detected in the boot sequence and even with the edited wvdial.conf it does not always find it on pupdial when probed
I have been trying to get rid of pl2303 without success by blacklist in the bootmanager . lsmod shows it still present .
I await further thoughts Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1888
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jun 2008, 12:58    Post subject: A fix to try  

Dennis,
Thanks for resuming this quest.

I have worked up some script changes to not only do what I had you do, but attempt to make the pupdial probe more trustworthy. I had to resort to some trickery, but the user doesn't see that, other than the substitution of /dev/ttyACM0 for the three-level-node name.

Regarding
Quote:
Returning not ok!!
--> Disconnecting at Sat May 31 13:17:22 2008
I too see that problem with some of the modems I test with. But my trusty Lucent modem keeps on working. My Intel and SmartLink modems get that result, so there may be a problem deeper inside puppy causing this. But let's see if we can avoid having you to manually edit anything, to get at least to the "Returning not ok".

I need you to run a clean test of this, to see if it helps your problem.

1. Use a fresh pupsave (pfix=ram) to boot up with the modem already plugged in.

2. Extract the /lib directory from my attached archive, to the / directory.

3. Reboot and save to a new, small pup_save file (32M or more).

4. When up, verify that file Cdcacm is in /etc/init.d, then extract the /etc and /usr directories to /.

5. Reboot again and try pupdial. The modem should show as /dev/ttyACM0.

6. Set up your dialup info and connect to your ISP. What happens?

7. Disconnect (if successful) and click the "probe" button, to see if it retains the /dev/ttyACM0 setting.

8. Run PupScan and select the USB Interfaces option.

9. Save (somewhere permanent) the files /tmp/logwvdialprobe and /tmp/hwproberesult.txt, to post here.

10. Post your results and the content of those two files.

One of my tricks is to add your modem to the USB-hardware-driver list in /lib/modules. So it should work with your modem, but not all USB modems.

Thanks.
Richard
modem_fixes_to_P4.00.tar.gz
Description  Extract to / directory. Probably should repeat that after next reboot,
to ensure that any overwritten files are replaced by the fixed versions.
Now includes script for agrmodem, for 4.01
gz

 Download 
Filename  modem_fixes_to_P4.00.tar.gz 
Filesize  21.29 KB 
Downloaded  426 Time(s) 

Last edited by rerwin on Wed 04 Jun 2008, 23:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jun 2008, 23:31    Post subject:  

Richard I have had a few problems carrying out your instructions as I have never used Puppy as a live CD but have always installed it to hard disc. I did my best with the puppy-save thing and eventually got this result. cdc_acm is not loaded on bootup.If i modprobe cdc-acm pupdial detects /dev/ttyACM0 along with Init2. On attempt to connect it does the same thing i.e. disconnetc etc. Also when attempting to extract your etc file to / Iget popup with "wrapper exited with a error" Anyway bottom line is no connection.
I played around with my installed version of Puppy and merged your etc , usr , and lib files with mine and now it detects /dev/ttyACM0 and the init2 string but still disconnects as before . Interestingly when probed for my serial modem it gives max speed as 115600 and the USB modem as 480000.
Here is bootsysinit log for installed Puppy

Mounting devpts: Mounting /sys: Loading swap partition /dev/hda2...
Starting /etc/rc.d/rc.modules...
loading modules for core usb...
loading modules for pci interfaces...
loading module via-agp
loading module via-agp
loading module i2c-viapro
loading module snd-via82xx
loading module via-rhine
Fetching x dri modules (but not loading)...
Setting hostname: puppypc
loading extra usb modules...
Loading cdc-acm
Loading module cdc-acm
Loading module pl2303
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/dvorak/dvorak.map
Starting sound driver: snd-via82xx done
The following interfaces have been found: eth0
Trying to connect
cups: started scheduler.
A network interface is up, unwise to run setserial
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
[1]+ Done modem-stats $@ >/tmp/modemstatsret
ERROR: Unable to find a connection for eth0
Possible causes:
- Network unavailable
- Ethernet cable or wireless card not plugged in correctly
- Defective network addapter.
NOTICE: IF THIS IS WRONG, EDIT /etc/rc.d/rc.network AND UNCOMMENT LINE 205

and wvdial probe for ACM0

Scanning your serial ports for a modem.

ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- ATQ0 V1 E1 -- ATQ0 V1 E1 -- nothing.
Port Scan<*1>: S1 S2 S3
ttyS4<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: S4
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 S11=55 -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 S11=55 +FCLASS=0 --
ttyACM0<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 2400: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 4800: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 19200: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 38400: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 57600: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 115200: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 230400: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Speed 460800: AT -- OK
ttyACM0<*1>: Max speed is 460800; that should be safe.
ttyACM0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 S11=55 -- OK
ttyS_ESS0<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: S_ESS0
ttyS_PCTEL0<Info>: No such device or address
Port Scan<*1>: S_PCTEL0

Found a modem on /dev/ttyACM0.

*** WARNING! Line "115200"
in /etc/ppp/options may conflict with wvdial!

ttyACM0<Info>: Speed 460800; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 S11=55"

The info you asked for on the pupsave setup I did not get as I do not think that I set that up properly
Also if I have both modemsconnected and switchet on the serial one is first choice for pupdial but if I switch it off and probe with the USB modem connected it wipes wvdial conf and finds /tty/ACM0
I hope this helps. As I have said before I know just enough to be dangerous
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1888
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 18:49    Post subject:  

Dennis,
Thanks for running my tests. They appear to work exactly as I expect! Even the priority given to the serial modem over the USB modem. The module cdc-acm was detected at bootup and the correct modem device was found by the probe function. And your modem got as far as it did with your workaround techniques. Did the USB modem still work (such as it does) after you turned off the serial modem and re-probed?

One thing I would like to understand: what hardware is triggering the loading of pl2303? That is why I asked for the "USB Interfaces" listing from PupScan. My guess is that you have another USB-to-serial device attached or built in, that could support other devices than just modems.

As for the "disconnect" behavior, I am at a loss to understand that, as I have the same result with several of my test modems. We need Barry's or tempestuous' take on that issue. Or anyone else's who knows.

Thanks to your help, I can submit the fixes to Barry for one of the alphas.

It would be interesting to try my fixes on 3.01. I have not tested that, but maybe the "disconnect" might disappear, as all my modems worked under 3.01. It has the same kernel. I think I will try that, but feel free to, also, and hope for a pleasant surprise. But only on a fresh pupsave.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 21:07    Post subject:  

Richard . OK I can switch the serial modem off and connect the USB and pupdial probe will find it and rewrite wvdial.conf complete with init2 string and if I remove the usb and switch the serial on it will go back to it.
I have 3 different hard discs in trays that I switch around with different distributions so I will do a fresh install with 3.01 without a modem connected and merge your fixes with it then connect the usb modem and boot it and see what happens.
Incidentally I tried the usbmodem with dreamlinux and it found it and dialed up and apparently connected without dropping out but it was not able to access anything so it was a sort of a phantom connection i.e.lights on but no one at home. I am assuming that the modem is still ok but I dont have Windows or anything else that I can test it on.
OOPS! I have just had a thought,I have been connecting the phone line to "PHONE" on the modem when perhaps it should be in the "LINE"plug.If I have it wrong it is because on the serial modem it is plugged into "PHONE" I will check it out and edit this post later
Regards Dennis
I just checked it and both the serial and usb modems work from both plugs so stiff cheese ,it made no difference. About pl2303 it is only there because I added it with the bootmanager when I first saw this thread thinking that it may be what I needed.Since then I have tried to blacklist it with no success. The only other permanent usb connection is for my printer. Hope this helps Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 22:37    Post subject:  

Richard BINGO!!!! This is through the USB Modem on Puppy 3.01 I did what I said and installed a clean copy of 3.01 then rebooted with no modem and copied your files to / (I still got the "wrapper exited with a error" message with the etc files) Then rebooted with the USB modem connected .It was detected at boot and shown as /dev/ttyACM0 on pupdial but would not test intil probed with pupdial when the init2 string appeared then I hit Connect and away it went . How about that????? You may now contemplate this and see if you can suss it out. I think that I will try the same deal with 4.00 and see what happens.Iwill let you know result
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 23:23    Post subject:  

BINGO MK2 Same story as above.Went through the same process with Puppy 4.00 and the whole thing worked seamlessly.The previous problems must have been caused by something that I did,maybe the pl2303 was creating a red herring,.anyway victory again for the persistent Rerwin. Thank you for the assistance
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1888
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 23:27    Post subject:  

Dennis,
Thanks for the good news!
I tried my USB SmartLink modem on both and got similar results to yours.
Then I noticed that the "Link Status" "Carrier Check" box defaults differently between 3.01 and 4.00. With it turned off in 4.00 I can get the modem to work. I am using it now, as my ethernet connection suddenly stopped working on this machine (network wizard OK, but browser loads the first online page forever).

So, when you go back to 4.00, be sure that box is unchecked.

What is driver pl2303 associated with? (PupScan)
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 04:43    Post subject:  

Richard
Sorry mate but in my enthusiasm for the modem working I have reinstalled 4.00 and cannot check pl2303 in pupscan as it is now not there.I dont think that it was involved with anything but I am not sure. The box that you mention is unchecked and was unchecked when I reinstalled
I think that this modem is at least as fast as the serial modem and it is less messy with no power supply etc. I hope these fixes will be incorporated in future versions.
Thanks again for the help. Someone once said that advice that you get for free is generally worth roughly what you have paid for it but you must be the exception that proves the rule
Regards Dennis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0745s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0197s) ][ GZIP on ]