Securing Your Puppy Install

Puppy related raves and general interest that doesn't fit anywhere else
SirDuncan

Securing Your Puppy Install

#1 Post by SirDuncan »

With the creation of the new community website, I got a blog. I've never done any blogging before, but I want to do my part to help supply the RSS feed. I'm going to try to make one post a week with some piece of Puppy news, a how to, a review of another distro, a helpful Linux tip, or something like that.

Given that security is a topic that keeps cropping up on the forum, I decided that my first post would be on that. Here is the teaser:
You've all heard that Linux is one of the most secure OSes available, perhaps that is even the reason you came to Puppy, but did you know that there is more you can do to secure yourself? While this may seem overkill to some, others sleep better at night knowing that their system has teeth to go with that bark.
http://www.puppylinux.org/community/blo ... cure-puppy

If anyone thinks I missed something important, let me know. If people find it useful, I will add it to the wiki.
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath

Lobster
Official Crustacean

#2 Post by Lobster »

Very conversational and hence easy to read.
You might want to bury the whole computer in a hole.
Sorry me giving advice on spelling :oops:

I would add a pic
(Tom has made it easy to upload a pic from your pc)
click the icon top far right
Maybe an armoured dog or some such . . .

Great first blog entry :)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

John Doe

#3 Post by John Doe »

here is a post with some info on securing a frugal install:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?&t=18639

SirDuncan

#4 Post by SirDuncan »

Lobster wrote:Very conversational and hence easy to read.
You might want to bury the whole computer in a hole.
Sorry me giving advice on spelling :oops: