Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 09:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to configure GRUB to boot Toutou Puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
pup

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 09 May 2008, 15:13    Post_subject:  How to configure GRUB to boot Toutou Puppy?  

Hello,

I have a problem trying to launch toutou linux.

Toutou is installed as recommended in the install procedure on hda7 (directory puppy 301).
Grub is installed on a floppy disk and on the boot sector of the hda7 partition. There are 3 options to launch toutou : win, toutou with kernel method (linux 1) and toutou with chainloader method. (linux 2) Unfortunately only Windows works !

Here are the menu.list file and the errors reported by grub. I am a beginner and would appreciate some help.

Fichier menu.lst
# Le fichier de configuration de GRUB '/boot/grub/menu.lst'.
# est genere par 'grubconfig'. Fri May 2 15:34:21 2008
#
# Lancer la section globale de GRUB
# timeout 30
color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
# Fin de la section globale de GRUB
# La configuration de la partition bootable commence
title Windows (on /dev/hda1)
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
# La configuration de la partition bootable est finie
# La configuration de la partition bootable commence
title Linux 1 (on /dev/hda7)
root (hd0,6)
kernel /puppy301/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=puppy301
initrd /puppy301/initrd.gz
# La configuration de l'autre partition bootable est finie
# La configuration de partition bootable commence
title Linux 2 (on /dev/hda7)
rootnoverify (hd0,6)
makeactive
chainloader +1
# La configuration de partition bootable finie

The errors :
For scenario Linux 1 :
Error 2 : bad file ou directory type

For scenario Linux 2 :
Error 12 : Invalid device requested

Thanks you very much.

Pup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9353
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 09 May 2008, 17:59    Post_subject:  

Launch Puppy (Toutou) from the Live CD and try to mount hda7. Does it contain a folder named puppy301? Does that folder contain the Puppy files vmlinuz, initrd.gz, pupxxx.sfs and zdrvxxx.sfs?

Then boot off the floppy disk. When the GRUB menu comes up, press the 'c' key to get the GRUB command line.

Type : find /puppy301/vmlinuz

Does GRUB find it at (hd0,6)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pup

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 04:38    Post_subject: GRUB
Sub_title: Tests
 

Hda7 includes the followings files : initrd.gz ; pup301toutou.sf ; vmlinuz ; zdrv_301.sfs ; idehd

When I try to find vmlinuz using the command line in grub I receive the following answer :
Error 15 : file not found

I don't understand why ?! Thanks for your help.

Comment : I also installed Grub4dos in the MBR and have the same problem !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9353
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 06:40    Post_subject:  

How is hda7 formatted - fat32, ext2, NTFS?

Try using the 'find' command to find a known file on one of your lower partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 15:18    Post_subject:  

Hi

Maybe just a typo, but.....

Quote:
Hda7 includes the followings files : initrd.gz ; pup301toutou.sf ; vmlinuz ; zdrv_301.sfs ; idehd

should be sfs, yes?

http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux/grub/grub.htm

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pup

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 16:57    Post_subject:  

Yes it is pup301toutou.sfs. Sorry.

I have 3 ext3 formated partitions : hda7, hda8, hda9
Puppy is in the hda7 partition. Puppy save file is in hda8. Nothing is in the third partition.
I have also 3 NTFS partitions : hda1 (Windows), hda5 and hda6 (data)

When I place a file in the root of hda9 partitions (file menu) and try to find it using the grub find commnad, grub can't find it. Is there a problem with ext3 file system ? Apart that Toutou/Puppy works very well from the CD and use correctly the puppy save file in hda8.

Gerard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 20:41    Post_subject:  

Code:
# La configuration de partition bootable commence
title Linux 2 (on /dev/hda7)
rootnoverify (hd0,6)
makeactive
chainloader +1


I'm curious about this section as chainloader is usually required to boot windows, but not linux.

Quote:

GRUB has two distinct boot methods. One of the two is to load an operating system directly, and the other is to chain-load another boot loader which then will load an operating system actually. Generally speaking, the former is desirable, because you don't need to install or maintain other boot loaders and GRUB is flexible enough to load an operating system from an arbitrary disk/partition. However, the latter is sometimes required, since GRUB doesn't support all the existing operating systems natively.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9353
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 06:58    Post_subject:  

@muggins:

Here is a scenario where a Linux can be booted with the chainloader command. Suppose you have a multi-OS system that is managed by a master GRUB setup. You are installing a new Linux in a partition. Its installer will also want to set up GRUB but you don't want to risk having it mess up your master version. And you don't know the specific commands to manually update your master menu.lst. So you let the new Linux install its own GRUB in the partition boot sector. It then becomes a completely self-contained OS. To boot it, you just need to add another entry to the master menu.lst that uses the chainloader command.

By the way, this method appears to be the "approved" way of multibooting Vista and Linux using EasyBCD. This presumes that you can safely shrink your Vista partition to make room for a Linux in the first place.

@pup:

In your other posting, I suggested that you try the 'find' command on a primary partition. Did that ever work? I can't think of a reason why your logical ext3 partitions should not be visible to GRUB.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 07:52    Post_subject:  

@pup
Quote:

When I place a file in the root of hda9 partitions (file menu) and try to find it using the grub find commnad, grub can't find it. Is there a problem with ext3 file system ?


Not that I've seen, anywhere
So, since you haven't succeeded in getting grub to recognise it, maybe you aren't using it?
If you are, move anything in it to another partition, [?label 'old_hda9'?] & try deleting & rebuilding that partition, it may just be the fat table awry
Alternatively try ext2 & see if that works
If it does, paste back the files you moved
These are just ways of trying to isolate the cause of the problem, fishing for clues, yes?
Which partitioning software did you use?

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pup

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 09:57    Post_subject:  

@muggins

I tried Grub in the partition just as I could not boot directly from the kernel.

@rcrsn51

The find command doesn't work in grub placed in the floppy disk nor in the MBR using Grub4Dos.

@aitch

I try to find files in my three ext3 partitions without success.

I used Parted Magic CD which use GParted.

I would mention that my ext3 partitions are extended partitions not primary partitions. Has that some importance ?

I'll delete one partition and build a ext2 one and retry the find command.

Thanks.

pup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9353
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 10:13    Post_subject:  

This may be your problem!

http://www.oreillynet.com/linux/blog/2008/05/grub_legacy_grub_2_and_ext34_s.html

The new Parted Magic may have formatted your partitions with an incompatible version of ext3.

Try reformatting with ext2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pup

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2008, 06:26    Post_subject:  

I reformated one of my partition (hda9) to ext2 and copied a file called menu.

I tried to find this file with grub from puppy. It doesn't work !

Here attached is a screen copy of the test.

Thanks for the advices.

Pup.
grub_2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   63.61 KB
 Viewed   533 Time(s)

grub_2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9353
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2008, 07:12    Post_subject:  

This is odd. Unmount hda9 and run Puppy's Gparted. Delete this partition and recreate it as a primary ext2 partition. Then check it with find.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pup

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2008, 07:27    Post_subject:  

Hda9 can't be mounted as a primary ext2 partition. Only as a logical partition (it is the only option proposed by G parted). In fact the partition is inserted into an extended partition and deleting it doesn't seem sufficient to recreate a primary partition.

Pup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pup

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 12 May 2008, 07:52    Post_subject:  

What looks strange to me is that when I run the find command I hear the floppy working as if it was searching for the file ?!

Pup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0913s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]