Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 11:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4 DINGO
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 17 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 12:15    Post_subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
I dson't know whether this is a bug, but I'm getting lockups when I've got about 155 MB of RAM in use and two or three apps running (such as SeaMonkey and Osmo). Nothing will move, not even the mouse, and the caps key won't work. The only cure is to turn the computer off and start again.

There's a lot to like about Dingo though, the applications at last have a consistent look due to the GTK2 toolkit and it's possible to use the latest versions of apps such as Firefox 3.0.4.
Do you use a swap file or swap partition?
If not create one.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1519

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 15:55    Post_subject:  

Thanks, I will though I'm a bit surprised that I should need one when according to Conky I've still got 100MB of free RAM on my machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 18:24    Post_subject:  

That could be caused by faulty ram.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 19:31    Post_subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Thanks, I will though I'm a bit surprised that I should need one when according to Conky I've still got 100MB of free RAM on my machine.
Now if you have 1GB of ram you don't need one, but as you didn't tell the most logical advice is to create a swap, as you specified the the PC did come virtually at a stop, which is a symptom when real ram is almost all used.

But you're free to do what you want.
Maybe look also at th tip of possible faulty ram.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1519

PostPosted: Mon 10 Nov 2008, 08:42    Post_subject:  

Beem and disciple, thanks for the replies.

I have only 256 MB of RAM, my computer's a Compaq Pentium III Coppermine with 20GB of hard drive space. In short, it's getting on a bit now.

I've tried using memtest but I can't decipher the output. Are there any other utilities which would enable me to examine the condition of my ramsticks?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sotris99

Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 03:22    Post_subject:  

is there any suitable openoffice (latest version) for puppy dingo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1519

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 10:28    Post_subject:  

sotris99 wrote:
is there any suitable openoffice (latest version) for puppy dingo?


I don't know for sure (I don't use Open Office in Puppy) but John Biles has managed to make it work in TeenPup, which is based on the 2 series, so it should be possible.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sotris99

Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue 03 Nov 2009, 08:53    Post_subject:  

can i use this sfs?

kernel-src-2.6.21.7-patched-puppy4.1retro.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0581s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]