Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 03:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4 DINGO
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 12:15    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
I dson't know whether this is a bug, but I'm getting lockups when I've got about 155 MB of RAM in use and two or three apps running (such as SeaMonkey and Osmo). Nothing will move, not even the mouse, and the caps key won't work. The only cure is to turn the computer off and start again.

There's a lot to like about Dingo though, the applications at last have a consistent look due to the GTK2 toolkit and it's possible to use the latest versions of apps such as Firefox 3.0.4.
Do you use a swap file or swap partition?
If not create one.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1529

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 15:55    Post subject:  

Thanks, I will though I'm a bit surprised that I should need one when according to Conky I've still got 100MB of free RAM on my machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6458
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 18:24    Post subject:  

That could be caused by faulty ram.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 19:31    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Thanks, I will though I'm a bit surprised that I should need one when according to Conky I've still got 100MB of free RAM on my machine.
Now if you have 1GB of ram you don't need one, but as you didn't tell the most logical advice is to create a swap, as you specified the the PC did come virtually at a stop, which is a symptom when real ram is almost all used.

But you're free to do what you want.
Maybe look also at th tip of possible faulty ram.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1529

PostPosted: Mon 10 Nov 2008, 08:42    Post subject:  

Beem and disciple, thanks for the replies.

I have only 256 MB of RAM, my computer's a Compaq Pentium III Coppermine with 20GB of hard drive space. In short, it's getting on a bit now.

I've tried using memtest but I can't decipher the output. Are there any other utilities which would enable me to examine the condition of my ramsticks?

Last edited by Colonel Panic on Wed 14 Oct 2009, 06:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sotris99

Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 03:22    Post subject:  

is there any suitable openoffice (latest version) for puppy dingo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1529

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 10:28    Post subject:  

sotris99 wrote:
is there any suitable openoffice (latest version) for puppy dingo?


I don't know for sure (I don't use Open Office in Puppy) but John Biles has managed to make it work in TeenPup, which is based on the 2 series, so it should be possible.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Classic 214X GTK3, Puppy 4.32 v3, Precise Puppy 573-L, Puppy Tahr 6.0 Exton, Puppy 4.20 Deeper Thought v2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sotris99

Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue 03 Nov 2009, 08:53    Post subject:  

can i use this sfs?

kernel-src-2.6.21.7-patched-puppy4.1retro.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 17 [248 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0592s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]