Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 01 Nov 2014, 01:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Minisys-Linux Muppy 008.3 F (July, 12th, 2008)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 16 [226 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2008, 09:47    Post subject:  

nice2k wrote:
Thanks for the embryo Smile
Only "problem" I have, (german version of embryo) that there seems to be no opera installed. "defaultbrowser" cannot find it.
Now I've installed firefox instead, just wondering what is wrong with it Wink


Yes, I must update the website.
Opera is included only in Server, not in Embryo, to keep Embryo small.
You can download/extract the build-system for Embryo/Server (see first message).
Then copy all you need from /sfs-sources/packes-server/ to /sfs-sources/packages-base/
These 2 folders:
/Opera
/QT

Then create a new embryo by running
./build-embryo
./build-iso

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Broadway

Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2008, 14:35    Post subject:  

MU wrote:

Broadway:

Is your msy_save.2fs located on a NTFS-drive? (from Windows).
At weekend, I installed it on a friends computer on a NTFS-drive (Windows XP).
I got the same message, but it seemed to work nevertheless.
I will create a NTFS-drive on my own computer to validate that.


Yes it is on a NTFS-drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1730
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2008, 16:13    Post subject:  

MU wrote:

I currently use the build-system mentioned in the first message to create new Muppys.
I did not try the remaster yet.
Will have a look.


Thanks so much...since all I run/have is Live-CDs of Puppy, I don;t think I could use the build system.

Looking forward to being able to remaster this version....it's really very nice.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Mon 05 May 2008, 04:11    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Opera is using Flash 7. As far as I know, Flash 9 is not supported yet by Opera.
That's pretty clear then!
MU wrote:
If anybody knows, how to use Flash 9 with it, please let me know.
Let's hope that someone does know. Meanwhile; I'll give Firefox a try.

Thanks.

Later Additions Firefox from ttuuxxx's .pet is fine (as is SeaMonkey in Dingo by the way), so this news junkie can still get continuous fixes.

Two very minor "funnies" are also worth reporting.

1) The bottom of the ICE Dock is hidden by the lower bar unless you hide the upper bar when it jumps up by the width of the hidden bar.

2) The "Start" button on the upper bar behaves oddly. The first click is fine and behaves as expected; the second repeats the option selected first time; the next is OK; the next repeats the previous selection; and so on.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 10:45    Post subject:  

HotPup:

Can someone, who has the problem, that the HotPup icons (your drives) are not arranged correctly, please attach the file:
/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin

So when these icons are all "arranged" in the top left corner.

I am not able to reproduce the problem, maybe I find a hint in that file.
Please also tell me, what screen-resolution you use.

Thanks, Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GeorgR


Joined: 12 Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 14:20    Post subject:  

Sorry - I am not able to make the test.

At the beginning I can only start with a low resolution of 1280 * 800.
Icons were placed correctly.

After switching to nvidia driver muppy startet automatic in the native monitor resolution of 1920*1080.

But then the shit hit the fan:
- sometimes the mouse disappears
- the drive icons were placed in the upper left corner
- after some minutes muppy stopps all activities, only HW Reset helps

And in general: Desktop of 083 is realy overloaded. I think on the left and right side of the window is still some place for another status-, quickstart- or info bar. Very Happy I am really confused.

Dont understand me wrong: I like the ensemble of programms You have integrated and of course I appreciat really Your efforts in providing us with a german version. But I am only a little bit disapointed because some days before Your launch of 083 I tried the first time Your 082 Version and was really surprised about this wonderful puppy derivat!.

Back to my awful computer Hardware:
NVIDIA 6150 chipset with onboard grafic
Puppy 4.0 (21.7) with NVIDEA driver
NVIDIA-100.14.19-k2.6.21.7.pet
is running very well in FullHD!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 15:56    Post subject:  

Sorry I cannot answer your question either, Mark, but I've had overlapping icons top left, too. Old nV GeF2 which I use for testing. The nV driver doesn't seem to work properly, but I think I saw it with XVESA, too. It can also happen with FULL installation - new positions of moved icons aren't saved upon subsequent boots. Can't systematise situation at present as working on too many projects. This was just to confirm it is a real effect.
Have also experienced liveCD crash using 1Gb mem and lots of Firefox tabs open, and FULL install crashes with (probably unavailable?) GXine TV stations and some xmms/streamtuner radio stations. Also getting double reception of BBCWorldService in GXine this evening.
Nevertheless, this is a mindblowing distro; sliced bread doesn't come any better (not sure whether that translates?!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 19:34    Post subject:  

Here is an Update from version 0083 to 0083b.
It is for MINI and STANDARD.
Install it ONLY, if you downloaded the first release of 0083.
The current Isos do NOT need this upgrade any more.
ftp://ks301128.kimsufi.com/Muppy0083/Updates/0083-to-0083b-update-Mini+Standard.pup
Size is 840 kb.
After installation, it would be recommended, to reboot.

It should fix:
- uses updated ntfs-3g driver, that shall fix bugs with NTFS-drives.
I also had to replace "/bin/mount" with a modified version from Dingo because of that.

- Rox now is closed on reboot, so that new icons that you add should be saved.

- HotPup :
- The settings utility now works
- NTFS-drives are mounted read/write
- I also modified the way, that HotPup determines the Screen-size.
Maybe that fixes the issue, that on some computers the icons were not arranged.
As I could not reproduce that issue, this is a guess only.
- duplicate home-icons should no longer appear.


- Minisys upgraded, fixed bugs in Calendar
- Samba shares now should work.

- epdfview and gxine in Mini: added missing libs.

- pburn: upgraded to 1.5.2, added missing language-files.
------------------------
Other issues:
Remaster bugs:
I could not reproduce, that files copied to /tmp/root are not added to the remastered iso.
I ran Muppy mini as frugal installation, without a save-file.
All files were added correctly.
The issue with NTFS-drives readonly should be fixed now.

NTFS-drives and save-file:
I still get error-messages at shutdown, like "Journal commit I/O Error" .
It seems to have no negative consequence though.
Please note, that also ext2 save-files were erratic.
Ext3 is more "verbose", that means you see more messages.
But it handles errors better.
A reboot or in very hard cases, after two reboots, you can work as usual.
For ext2, I had reports via Mail, where msy_save.2fs was completely broken.

I think these fixes are all I can do "quickly".
The other reported issues will be observed for the development of 008.4.

If you report success with the Update, I will rebuild all Isos tomorrow, so that they include the Update already (they also will inlude Sages suggested radiostations).

Please continue to post bugs you find, so that I can create further Updates, if required.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links

Last edited by MU on Wed 07 May 2008, 23:37; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1730
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 19:56    Post subject:  

MU wrote:


------------------------
Other issues:
Remaster bugs:
I could not reproduce, that files copied to /tmp/root are not added to the remastered iso.
I ran Muppy mini as frugal installation, without a save-file.
All files were added correctly.


The problem I noticed is with the LIVE-CD, if you add a directory in root. it is not remastered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 20:06    Post subject:  

in /root , or in /tmp/root ?

I ran the remasterscript, and created a textfile in /tmp/root, when there was the dialog that offered, that now things can be added there.
Then, when it offered the dialog to create the iso and burn the CD, I cancelled.
I then copied the new /puppylivecdbuild/msy_083.sfs to /mnt/sda9/testmsy_083.sfs (if you do not rename it, you cannot mount it).
Then I could click on it in the filemanager to mount it, to check, if my file was included.

I also could try it with a directory tomorrow after some sleep.

Are files in /root remastered in a standard-Puppy? Never did a remaster before.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1730
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 21:49    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
in /root , or in /tmp/root ?

I ran the remasterscript, and created a textfile in /tmp/root, when there was the dialog that offered, that now things can be added there.
Then, when it offered the dialog to create the iso and burn the CD, I cancelled.



I copied a directory from /root/ to /tmp/root .... it really was there.
Used the remaster and did not burn a DVD, but created an .iso The dirtectory I added was not in the iso.

I'll try creating a live-dvd.

What's weird is that under .82 I can remaster with no problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2008, 23:58    Post subject:  

Another strange effect is that after I closed down an app. and return to the Menu, sometimes the previously opened app. returns and must be re-closed before the Menu becomes accessible???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1730
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2008, 03:23    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Another strange effect is that after I closed down an app. and return to the Menu, sometimes the previously opened app. returns and must be re-closed before the Menu becomes accessible???


Noticed the same thing here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Broadway

Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2008, 16:04    Post subject:  

MU wrote:

The issue with NTFS-drives readonly should be fixed now.

NTFS-drives and save-file:
I still get error-messages at shutdown, like "Journal commit I/O Error" .
It seems to have no negative consequence though.


I just want to confirm this issue. The error-message is still present but I do not experience any negative consequences.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1303

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2008, 18:19    Post subject: ditto  

Sage wrote:
Another strange effect is that after I closed down an app. and return to the Menu, sometimes the previously opened app. returns and must be re-closed before the Menu becomes accessible???
I've seen this also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 16 [226 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1050s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0161s) ][ GZIP on ]