Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 07:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Minisys-Linux Muppy 008.3 F (July, 12th, 2008)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 16 [226 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2008, 16:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
So now I only have to do the activation of flash and the mplayer plug in.
should I use f7 ro f9?

Use Flash 9.
It supports far more sites.
Just in seldom cases it crashes, than activate Flash 7 to view the corresponding site.

Quote:
Should I activate Java then in the menu -> internet or should that
be activated from within firefox? By looking for addons?


In Firefox.
Edit - preferences - Content (or similar, I have the german one).
There is a checkbox for Java.

Quote:
On the Desktop The weather something wanted to load but failed. Maybe only works if on live in Germany. How do I deactivated it. I pushed a lot of buttons


Right-click the weather, - "configure desklet".
Change the location code to SWXX0031.
That is Stockholm.
Or visit http://www.weather.com. Enter a city in "Enter zip or US/Intl city".
Then you will see the online forecast.
In the locationbar of your browser you then can see the location code.

To remove the desklet:
Right-click - remove desklet.

Quote:
did you recommend one unmount the sda1 the HD before shutting down?


I think you can't as it is in use by the savefiile.
Muppy will try to unmount it at shutdown.

Quote:
What more do I need to remember for to best use of your Muppy?

Hard to say, just ask again if you need more info Smile

Glad you ike it!
Mange takk.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2008, 16:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
How do I activate real player? .rm files.


I think they will be recognized by the mplayer or realmedia plugin.
If not, please give me a link for testing.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2008, 16:36    Post subject:  

To unmount the hd was not good. Crashed the x so I had to restart
xorg nd xwin too. Wow felt panic.

Weather is beautiful now. Thanks indeed.

I need to test more tomorrow. Looking promising this far.
will or could be my main puppy and linux in future then. Smile

Glad you ike it!
Mange takk.
Mark

Don't temp me to try German.
We tried to learn it 1.5 years around 1972 not sure exact year.
Drei terminen? I habe keine worter in kopf unt meine grammar?
ist totally kaputt. Deutche Well in? Fernsehen Ich nie ferstehen
Sie sprechen ser snell und meine kopf ... fail to catch up but
that is how fail when looking at movies in English too. They talk
too fast. Written english I get fairly good. Not academic text but
normal in Chip if it had been in English and such But Chip in Deutch
me get most nil or zero. German grammar and me remember too
few words.

Gruss Gott?

thanks indeed for standing up for me here. I try to get on on my own
for a while to not overload your generosity.

Fred Werther

PS
No I don't have German relatives. Maybe in French speaking Belgium?
Swedish native here since 1650 I guess.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2008, 17:16    Post subject:  

not bad, if it was really so long ago Smile
I can understand what you wrote, though it contains errors.

Ok, I will continue to test 0084 now.
Have a good time Smile
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
glocal


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2008, 20:25    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Quote:
OK, I disabled nvidia-installer and or Muppywebcam but I am wondering why nvidia is loaded by default just in case it's necessary. I mean what are the chances a system will in fact have a nvidia card?


This is just a small shellscript that checks, if an nvidia-card is present.
I will not use many resources.


My impression is it runs at bootup to check of nvidia is present and exits. Is that true? If yes, I don't mind it running. It would make Muppy more portable, just in case I run it on a PC with nvidia.

Quote:
Quote:
I am still trying to figure out how to reduce the desktop icons to less than 50% even.

Look at /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons to see, what icons are used.
Then you can scale them in Gimp.
Open in Gimp, choose "image - resample".


This sounds like attempting open heart surgery with an axe Smile I wonder why there isn't a setting somewhere. I am also wondering if pinboard_image_scaling in /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Options would be relevant but I wouldn't touch it myself without knowing what it does for sure -- not now that I have a working Puppy Smile

Quote:
But my background-setter simulates a color by creating a bitmap with only one colour.
So it needs not many resources.


I may understand this the wrong way but if you create a bitmap of a single colour, it is still a bitmap that will be loaded. I don't see why it would be any different to any wallpaper resources-wise.

_________________
Muppy 008.3F Frugal, Compaq Armada 100S, 533MHz, 192MB RAM, 5GB HDD, USB 1.1 (uhci-hcd, non-bootable), CD-ROM, Zyxel G-202 wireless USB adapter (not detected by zd1211rw), Netgear FA411 PCMCIA ethernet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
glocal


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2008, 21:12    Post subject:  

MU wrote:

yes.
If you install a dotpet example-0.3 , but example-0.1 is part of Muppy, then the files of 0.1 will be just "overwritten" (stored in your savefile).
This is achived using the layered filesystem (aufs).
But the original files are internally still present in the write-protected msy_083.sfs.


Sorry to labour the point -- you must be fed up answering the same question by now, but the file structure is crucial for understanding how to do other things without asking. So, Muppy 083F Live comes with three files: vmlinuz, initrd.gz and msy_083.sfs. All the apps are in the .sfs. When you do a frugal all these are copied to the HD and an msy_save.2fs is created which is a copy of the .sfs initially but new .pet applications and personal settings are stored in there. When you update installed apps the .2fs is updated and installed apps extend or replace parts of that .2fs, but the .sfs remains untouched unless you remaster (or is it rebuild?). Installing .sfs applications means they are mounted externally through the bootloader and do not become part of the .2fs, only personal settings do. Is all this correct? Somehow, I doubt it. If yes, I would expect the .2fs to be at least as large as the .sfs. Here it is smaller. Also, there is a small zmsy_083.sfs I don't know what it is.

So, to upgrade a user-installed .pet you execute it and the .2fs is updated. To install a .sfs application you mount it externally. To upgrade a .sfs application you simply replace its .sfs and the personal settings are retained in the .2fs.

Now, how do I install as frugal a new version of Muppy (a) without affecting the existing version, installed apps and personal settings (b) replacing the existing Muppy but without affecting the installed apps and personal settings?

Quote:
Firefox 3 can be installed in addition to Firefox 2, just download it from mozilla.org, and extract it for example in /usr/local/firefox3.


I thought you couldn't do that just like that. If you can, why are there so many Firefox files in sfs form prepared by fellow Puppy users?

Quote:
You could try the current 0084alpha5 in addition, it includes firefox3:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31373


Normally, I install alphas but I am sure I will break something I won't know how to fix, so I better wait Smile

Quote:
/root/.icewm/theme
That file defines the default-theme.


One problem with themes is that there is no preview and you have to try them one-by-one, but at least it's not something you do very often.

Thanks for your patience!

_________________
Muppy 008.3F Frugal, Compaq Armada 100S, 533MHz, 192MB RAM, 5GB HDD, USB 1.1 (uhci-hcd, non-bootable), CD-ROM, Zyxel G-202 wireless USB adapter (not detected by zd1211rw), Netgear FA411 PCMCIA ethernet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
glocal


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2008, 20:02    Post subject: Blinky messed up display  

This is probably a IceWM issue, but just in case. These are two screenshots of the clock area. Sometimes it shows OK, sometimes it doesn't. When it doesn't, restarting IceWM (no other panel) can sometimes, but not always, fix this. Anyone else seeing this? Normally there would also be the bandwidth meter somewhere there, but I don't have a network connection right now, so it is missing. In any case, its presence wouldn't change anything.
taskbar2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   2.04 KB
 Viewed   3124 Time(s)

taskbar2.png

taskbar1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.05 KB
 Viewed   2973 Time(s)

taskbar1.png


_________________
Muppy 008.3F Frugal, Compaq Armada 100S, 533MHz, 192MB RAM, 5GB HDD, USB 1.1 (uhci-hcd, non-bootable), CD-ROM, Zyxel G-202 wireless USB adapter (not detected by zd1211rw), Netgear FA411 PCMCIA ethernet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
catblack


Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 13:54    Post subject: an other checksum error  

Hi Mark,

it's not a bad checksum but a wrong filename that first makes some trouble for me.

On the site "http://minisys-linux.de/", when I click

Download Muppy-Live (checksumme) - 690 MB
a window comes up with

The file "Muppy-Minisys-Linux-Live-008.3-DE.iso" is of type ...

... This file is located at:
ftp://ks.301128.kimsufi.com

and if I click (checksumme) then I get

"8afabd3958dae7f2580322d1dcfb5cd9 Muppy-Minisys-Linux-Live-008.3F-DE.iso"

The names of the files are different - with and without "F" so I get an error-message by checking with the parameter -c. I deleted "F" in the checksum-file and the test was ok.

This makes a problem for beginners coming from "W$-98/XP".

In the germane forum the topic "Installieren des Betriebsystems" and the problems of the author Itbremer let me install Muppy-Minisys as frugal on my very old laptop ASUS L8400C without any problems.

Many thanks for the good work

Klaus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 04 Aug 2008, 15:22    Post subject: Scanner Problem  

Hi Mark,
I have your Mini 008.3f with add-ons nicely customized, but I'm having trouble getting my scanner to work. On my desktop machine I have an older Puppy 2.15 that has xsane 0.991 (or something like that) working fine. In mini-muppy I can get the front end included in the add-ons to start OK, but after the warning (run as root at your peril!) all I get is ... searching for devices ... then "no devices found". I know my scanner is connected (USB) and turned on.

Anyone have any suggestions? Do I need to download extra pups?

... oh one other thing - withConky properly configured I don't need icedock (and I have enough clocks etc.) so where do I turn icedock off - it doesn't seem to load through Autostart or .xinitrc

Thanks, B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 04 Aug 2008, 17:41    Post subject:  

what scanner?
There certainly will be a new Kernelmodule needed.

icedock is launched in /root/.icewm/startup.
You can click on the folder-icon left bottom in the taskbar, that opens a small menu, there you can launch it in the editor.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 04 Aug 2008, 19:07    Post subject:  

I have two scanners.
The one that I know already works with Puppy 2.15 is an HP Scanjet 5400C.
The second is part of my printer - Epson Stylus CX4800
Thanks, B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 04 Aug 2008, 19:33    Post subject:  

Please backup your savefile, and try.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27519

EDIT... I just see, that the Scanjets are not supported Confused


For the epson I have no idea.
You could type in Puppy2 while the scanner is attached:
lsmod >/root/1.txt
and:
dmesg >/root/2.txt

Then please zip and attach 1.txt and 2.txt.
They will contain hardware-information, and what modules were loaded.
This might help, to find corresponding modules for Muppys Kernel.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 04 Aug 2008, 19:42    Post subject:  

Please install in PetGet "Xsane".
According to the hewlett-packard infopage, it supports the scanjets.
I think it was already included in Puppy 2.

direct downloadlink to install with a click in the filemanager:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-3/xsane-0.994.pet
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Wed 06 Aug 2008, 14:47    Post subject: Xsane  

Thanks for your help Mark, you always are ready to go that "extra" mile for muppy users.

After some trial and error during which I was getting a bit frustrated I finally Exclamation achieved success with the HP scanjet 5400c with the following pet installs:
sane-1.0.18
xsane-0.994
sane_backends-1.0.17

Still don't know why this combination works but I'll go with it.
Thanks again, B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
billbrachh

Joined: 21 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 23:11    Post subject: Might be a problem w/downloads
Subject description: Downloads
 

Hi Mark,

Went to the MiniSys web site, http://minisys-linux.de/muppy0083/EN/index.htm, to try to download the Muppy-Mini .iso and I get an error, "550 Failed to change directory.", when I click on either the Download or Checksum links.

From what Google research that I've done, this appears to be a server error, and not related to my Win XP download machine. Tried it in both FireFox produces the '550...' error, and IE6 produces the error, 'The page cannot be displayed".

Don't know if you are the right person to notify but you might want to get your server admin to look into this.

Thanks,

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 16 [226 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1134s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0149s) ][ GZIP on ]