Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 21:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4 Beta 2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 12:56    Post subject:  

Where's my retro version?Sad
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 13:13    Post subject:  

Two bugs found in Beta1 are gone: virtual desktop number gets changed, mhWaveEdit seems to work pretty well & fast with WAVs and MP3s (haven't tried OGGs yet, there's none on this computer). Still, HotPup needs an X-restart to display its stuff.

Oddly, no trace ever of any of the problems pointed out by Sage (up to now at least): while writing this in one tab, SeaMonkey has two more tabs with two different videos from YouTube streaming simultaneously -- sure, a mess with the audio, but all works fine switching from a tab to another.

Everything is very prompt, responsive and pleasant -- just changed colours with MTPaint to the /home icon, I like it red-roofed.

Congrats to Barry & Puppy Team, really great work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 13:44    Post subject:
Subject description: Serious regression
 

Up to now when testing alpha and beta I copied the old pup_save and changed the name the reflect the new version.
This has always worked and I could continue to work with previous installed programs and settings.

Yesterday for the sake of the Gnome 2.2 sfs (in beta 1) I followed the instructions and I had to start afresh to create a new pup_save.

Well, this didn't work, I got at shutdown the message 'puppy not saved' (or something the like) and I didn't get the prompt indeed for the save.
Also I can't setup my internet connection nor through the network wizard, nor through pwireless. I get a apipa IP.

I saw that the ieee80211_crypt_wep was missing and I loaded it from zdrv.
But still no joy to setup the internet connection.

This is a real disappointment for me.

My WiFi card is a ipw2100. The module loads correctly.
The ...crypt and ....crypt_wep are loaded as well.

Hope that a cure can be found.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mark2


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 104
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 14:44    Post subject:  

bcm43xx and r8180 wireless also have problems too.
_________________

www.crowncarcare.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 16:18    Post subject:  

Hi, with Intel D201GLY2 MB with following Grub (I dual boot with PCLinuxos)

kernel (hd0,7)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux root=/dev/sda8 acpi=on resume=/dev/sda6 splash=silent vga=788
initrd (hd0,7)/boot/initrd.img

title Puppy Linux 399 frugal
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /puppy399/vmlinuz pmedia=satahd psubdir=puppy399 acpi=off
initrd /puppy399/initrd.gz

Frugal install does not save settings to a full partition but will save to a file on a partition???

Still no way to select no background on desktop (Am I being really dumb?)

Thanks
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 16:24    Post subject:  

Upgraded Beta1's pup_save-398.2fs to Beta2 (changed it to 399) with frugal install, my KDE 3.5.9 and apps came thru with flying colors, which were in the pupsave. Hotpup turns off now, when using JWM (I don't use it with hal and dbus working). JWM configuration worked also. The things I use, just work, this seems to be the best Puppy, I've seen.

Had to tweak the refresh rate in xorgwizard to get 1280x1024 instead of 1024x768 to work, but that was all.

Good Luck, Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 16:44    Post subject:  

DUPLICATE SOMEHOW...
Last edited by veronicathecow on Sun 20 Apr 2008, 16:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 16:46    Post subject:  

Additional info
No sound. When trying to play an MP3 DVD drive gets accessed.
1200Mhz Proc plus 1GB RAM Seamonkey takes 33 seconds to load (same time approx for each loading)
No FLAC support
Boot time a respectable 35 seconds from grub with all "Speed up " options chosen.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WN2A


Joined: 02 Jun 2007
Posts: 46
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 18:57    Post subject: Beta 2 Much Better  

Preliminary Findings:
Here's what works that did not before with Beta 1:
qucs (all versions, - yeeess!)
fldigi (ham radio---you may need to run ALSA wizard first)

Here's what didn't but found a workaround:
openoffice_cutdown3-2.2.0.pet
The Workaround:
Install dopuphandler-0.0.4-2.pet
Then install openoffice.org2.0.pup (from MU's site)

Also, I always install .pets and .pups from /
More later.....73's

_________________
CWLab : Amateur Radio CW Program Moving to GNU/Linux!
www.qsl.net/wn2a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 19:02    Post subject: Ayttm
Subject description: Saving settings
 

Hey Berry

Just wanted to say, I set up Ayttm for my yahoo account but when I rebooted it did not have my account anymore had to set it up again but have not tried it yet.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1504
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 19:40    Post subject: Initialization logging improvements for bootsysinit.log
Subject description: Made rc.modules & rc.modules2 log in consistent format
 

In wrapping up my improvements to rc.modules, which loads the needed hardware drivers, I have updated its (and rc.modules2's) logging statements to make them consistent and civilized: mainly capitalization, indentation, and removal of the alarming "FATAL". I also needed to add a statement for modules that aren't loaded due to lack of hardware (as for possible built-in ISA LT modems).

Besides updating those scripts, I changed modprobe so that it won't print a blank line most of the time. As usual, the scripts are attached with their difference listings. I annotated them with "v3.99".

Here are "before" and "after" examples of the rc.modules' part of the log:
Code:
Starting /etc/rc.d/rc.modules...
 loading modules for core usb...
 loading modules for pci interfaces...
loading module yenta_socket

loading module yenta_socket

loading module ltserial
loading module i2c-piix4

loading module donauboe

Running PCMCIA cardmgr program...
cardmgr[13142]: watching 2 sockets
Fetching x dri modules (but not loading)...
FATAL: Module neomagic not found.

Setting hostname: puppypc
 loading extra usb modules...

FATAL: Error inserting battery (/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/drivers/acpi/battery.ko): No such device
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/us.map
Code:
Starting /etc/rc.d/rc.modules...
 Loading modules for core usb...
 Loading modules for pci interfaces...
  Loading module yenta_socket
  Loading module yenta_socket
  Loading module ltserial
   Module ltserial not loaded - no appropriate device found
  Loading module i2c-piix4
  Loading module donauboe
 Running PCMCIA cardmgr program...
  cardmgr[13142]: watching 2 sockets
 Fetching x dri modules (but not loading)...
   Module neomagic not found.
Setting hostname: puppypc
 Loading extra usb modules...
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/us.map

None of this affects functionality, but it completes my modem/modules improvement implementation.
Richard
bootsysinitlog_improvements_to_beta2.tar.gz
Description  To place the scripts in their correct directories, extract /etc and /sbin to /. Difference files are relative to beta2 (3.99).
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootsysinitlog_improvements_to_beta2.tar.gz 
Filesize  7.98 KB 
Downloaded  292 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geneven

Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Location: Agoura Hills, California

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 21:58    Post subject: Wallpaper again  

I'm sorry that the interesting wallpaper has been removed and boring wallpaper has been substituted, at least that's what I found when I did an installation to my usb stick.

It's not optimized for Puppy and otherwise may not be suitable, but I like the attached picture I took as background.

It's from Montserrat, a Catholic Monastery near Barcelona, Spain. Go there if you get a chance.
rockspectators.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.09 KB
 Viewed   607 Time(s)

rockspectators.jpg


Last edited by geneven on Mon 21 Apr 2008, 20:33; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 23:39    Post subject:  

New problems:

* No tray volume control
There is a blank placeholder in the tray, but no speaker icon. I went through the ALSA wizard twice, selecting the same things I do every time. My jwmrc-tray file has no volume control in it, but the process is running. I don't, however, have any sound. I normally probe for legacy cards and select ES18xx. I have an onboard ES1869.

* New PETGet is too large for a screen size of 800x600.

Fixed:

* Lock app appears to work again.

* Gxine preferences can be accessed.

* Battery monitor is hidden - I'm using a desktop w/o a battery.

Unresolved:

* Blinky still using double the memory

* Copy2RAM threshold appears unchanged. I thought the purpose of Dingo was to copy to RAM on a 128MB machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2008, 03:05    Post subject:  

Smile One positive point I forgot to mention . . .
On the EeePc when setting up the screen
Xorg offers 16 or 24 bit colour at the right resolution
- nothing else. Two choices.

Simple. Nice.

Ah yes another thing - the hotspot icons were moved to the right
to accommodate screen icons? Still were scrunched on the Eeepc.
So I am still feel moving them up would remove this initial jumble . . .

Also I need this confirmed
(a few more hours of usage)
but turning off Blinky seems to get better hits with the browser.
Sometimes I have to reload up to 8 times
to get a URL hit (this might be an ISP issue)
So I am just introducing that in case anyone else has the problem
and turning off blinky solves it.

Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2008, 04:46    Post subject:  

geneven I find wallpaper from barry good enough, then it is personal taste, you can change yours.

what is xcfgt2 ? is it needed ?

I dont have DRI enabled, not sure if needed though (does it make Xwindow faster ?) It needs the r200_dri.so Confused
Also glxinfo, glxgears not there. Should I try with full_dri pet ?

Code:
# qt3to4
qt3to4: error while loading shared libraries: libQtXml.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Same with other qtconfig,qtdemo.
Same with lrelease and lupdate

Code:
# linguist
linguist: error while loading shared libraries: libQtNetwork.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


Code:
# pmirror
grep: /root/.pmirror_config: No such file or directory
grep: /root/.pmirror_config: No such file or directory
grep: /root/.pmirror_config: No such file or directory
date: invalid date `+%s'
expr: syntax error
expr: syntax error


Code:
# gaimshell
/usr/sbin/gaim-autosetup.sh: line 56: /root/.gaim/accounts.xml: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/gaim-autosetup.sh: line 76: /root/.gaim/blist.xml: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/gaimshell: line 5: exec: gaim: not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0990s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]