Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 17:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Good version for thin client
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
ackray

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 23:29    Post_subject:  Good version for thin client  

I am trying to get a thin client going that has 128 megs of ram and a GX1 086 compatible processor.


What is a recommended build or puplet for this machine?

Thanks!

PS Just found this site a few days ago and am reading like crazy too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2008, 03:27    Post_subject:  

Hi

A good place to start would be - Safepup, Minipup, breezy.

Have a look at puppy derivitives - you'll find an excellent selection there.

Hope that helps

best regards - Ray MK - puppy n00bie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ackray

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2008, 10:05    Post_subject:  

I've tried puppy and minipup but so far both are getting boot errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nipper


Joined: 22 Mar 2008
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2008, 12:48    Post_subject:  

ackray wrote:
I've tried puppy and minipup but so far both are getting boot errors.


There is a really good chance that people will be more helpful if you give a bit more information.

Is that some kind of Dell machine? (this might be helpful or not) It's even possible someone has the same machine and already know what you need to do for it.

Will you post the actual error message that you received, that might point someone in the correct direction so they can suggest further troubleshooting or a fix, there are lots of ways, and reasons, for booting to fail?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ackray

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2008, 13:01    Post_subject:  

Sorry. I'm afraid I'm also cross posting at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28006 as I didn't know the best place to post.

The machine is a WebDT 530 thin client running a GX1 processor. I installed a 128 meg stick of ram in it. They are neat little units, flat panel, 16 bit sound, Mini PCI and usb slots.

Currently it will boot off a 32 meg compact flash card. The boot runs up to an IE window for a web site/web app.

I can interrupt the boot up process and i get a DOS 6.22 prompt!

I've tried 3.01 and Mini pup and both display:

IN T 6: CRZ 00000000 err 00000000 EIP c0443ad0 CS 00000060 flags 00010012
stack: 00000014 c0458e10 c043b973 c0116f8b c03abf4b c0433fc8 c0433fe8 c043bd0b

Thanks for the help!

Edit Note:
Puppy CE goes into booting and gets this error:

Unknown Interrupt or fault at EIP 00010012 00000060 c04341ac
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2008, 05:32    Post_subject: CE  

Ehh, Windows CE is not the same as Puppy CE! Thin clients set to use only Windows CE has little hope of running another OS. I base this observation on the fact that the thin clients based on GX2/LX800 that I have tested have a BIOS choice on which OS to boot. If you can't access the BIOS, then it must have been locked to use Windows CE.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ackray

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2008, 20:34    Post_subject:  

^^ Thanks Raffy. However this one gets a dos 6.22 prompt when I F8 and stop the boot up before the Autoexec.bat is run.

Is there a way to test this? Other than hitting my head against the wall all the time?

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ackray

Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 21:59    Post_subject:  

After working on this over the weekend Here is what I found out.

First, Linux will probably not work in these. I could only get it to reliably boot with a small FAT16 partition.

The unit is devised to load a drive image from one of the USB keys. Thus if you plug in a USB keyboard or mouse it will not boot.

The IR keyboard drivers are in the BIOS.

Windows98 will run on this machine. . . ( OH, pure joy there. ) but the FAT16 limitations are a problem. If anyone else wants to give that a try my advice would be to simply edit the enclosed Autoexec file to point the bootup to a CF card in an external slot. Have 98 loaded on the CF card an it should run. That would probably work.

This is really quite a shame as the WebDT 530 had great hardware potential as a low power Linux machine. 16 bit sound, Internal wireless, LCD small form factor and so on. However I don't have so much time to waste on this anymore.

The good news is that I am VERY impressed with Puppy and plan to stick around!

I have lots of old hardware that could find new life with this OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 23:56    Post_subject: PupWin98  

You will love PuppyWin98 for that.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
earlytv


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 139
Location: Racine WI USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2008, 15:55    Post_subject:  

I have several pups working on a WYSE S90 thin client.
It has a AMD GX micro like yours but I dont know how close everything else is? I had to make the USB sticks a super floppy to get them to boot in. Once booted I made a install to the flash drive internal to S90

If you search S90 or wyse on the fourm you should find what I posted?

_________________
Retired from GM, a Etech on engine electronics
Like to play with older computers and TVs

DENNIS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dblagbro

Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 17:25    Post_subject:  

I've obtained this same thin client.... let me guess, you got it for 25.00 on ebay? anyway, when i break the boot seq the number lock key is stuck on and I can't type the letters that coorespond to the wireless keyboard's number keys (y=1, u=2, i=3, j=4, k=5, etc etc), how'd you get it so you can type only alpha char's?

tks,
-d
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
earlytv


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 139
Location: Racine WI USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 19:51    Post_subject:  

I have never used wireless, I use normal key and mouse with a USB adpater. I could never get the sound working so I dont use Puppy on these anymore, I use the XPE they come with.
_________________
Retired from GM, a Etech on engine electronics
Like to play with older computers and TVs

DENNIS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 21:08    Post_subject: GX sound  

Is the sound chip CS5535 (expected in the Geode GX1)?
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dblagbro

Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 21:07    Post_subject:  

thank you earlytv. this works better - i should have thought of that.

anywho, yours came with XPE? mine have a version of Win98 that is locked down so it only loads IE4.... this wouldn't be so bad if the IP wasn't statically assigned as a unusable IP on my network.

I have the following files:
05/06/2002 10:22 AM 11 AUTOEXEC.BAT
05/31/1994 06:22 AM 54,645 COMMAND.COM
01/19/1980 12:04 AM 31 CONFIG.SYS
05/31/1994 06:22 AM 29,136 HIMEM.SYS
05/08/2002 03:56 PM 40,774 IO.SYS
05/08/2002 03:45 PM 48,581 LOGO.DTR
05/31/1994 06:22 AM 38,138 MSDOS.SYS
06/05/2002 05:20 PM 15,947,316 nk.dtr

the nk.dtr file is what loads the static asigned IE only image and I can't get anywhere with reloading it with any other OS.

Any chance I can get a copy/binary of your setup? If not, any hints where to turn next. I'm an network engineer so I can figure some things out and know how to find info online... i even know my way around linux pretty well but I'm lost with this thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jul 2008, 04:05    Post_subject:  

these appear to maybe be segfaults that are not in system.map and thus probably dynamic (from loading optional modules) - try deleting zdrv_XXX.sfs (which contains mostly modules) and see if that works. I have not tried this so no guarantees that puppy will boot properly without it (you may be missing required modules for your system) Then its just a matter of cutting down z hopefully - there are tutorials for that around if this works for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0716s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]