Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 21:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
XFCE desktop for puppy !!!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Sat 08 Oct 2005, 16:13    Post subject:  XFCE desktop for puppy !!!  

i have just got xfce 3.8 (taken from yum repository for mandrake 9.2) running on my puppy. take a look at the screenshot. though it is far from finished as much needed help is required to customize it for puppy and make a dotpup. I think this will be a valuable addition to puppy because it gives much needed eye candy without bloating it (like KDE / gnome)
xfce.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   21.56 KB
 Viewed   4594 Time(s)

xfce.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2005, 10:52    Post subject: XFCE 4.2.2  

yes xfce 4.2.2 Razz Very Happy

the above screen shot can now be considered obsolete. i have xfce 4.2.2 running in puppy. it is a stripped down version.

it is just the desktop + tarskbar + window manager . nothing else (small size ~2Mb) because everthing else is there in puppy already.

i have however borrowed the gtk engine from xfce3 to give good looks to the gtk1 applications

gtk2 engine is from xfce4

some one with prior experience can help me configure it for puppy (menu and stuff) or shall i release an tar.gz
xfce1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   239.86 KB
 Viewed   4480 Time(s)

xfce1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2005, 12:33    Post subject:  

I can help you.

Send me the tar.gz and we can work together.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 02:02    Post subject: xfce.tar.gz  

the tar.gz of the my working installation can be downloaded from

http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?cat=other&file=xfce.tar.gz


extarct it to my-documents/tmp

read the readme file for installation instruction

IMPORTANT -> after copying all the files start xfce by 'xwin xfce4'

latest news is that after having made this tar.gz i tried installing other thing

xffm - the file manager is working ( massive size - now my total installation is 19 Mb)

xfsession (sesision mgr) is working

xf-mixer (sound mgr) - not working req libasound.so.1

battery monitor & network monitor is working

systray is not working

no xfprint

however i plan to release all of them as seperate dotpup so that the installation can be indivualized.

1. bare xfce for slower computer (xffm is slow on my box - pIII 128 Mb)
2. xffm for faster comps - more mem
3. other goodies as dotpup fot those who require (may be i might include the session mgr in 1 - it is quite useful)
4. dotpup for gps - graphical proces lister (taskmanager for linux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 14:30    Post subject:  

Thank you,

I've installed it, it's working.

Quote:
some one with prior experience can help me configure it for puppy (menu and stuff)


I'll create a script to build the menu from a JWM configuration file.

What other 'stuff' do you want help with?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 15:40    Post subject: XFCE ready to published - almost  

i have earlier posted that a few things were not working but now i figured them out. take a look at the screen shot below i have the essential desktop ready and have made a dotpup for it. only thing not working is the menu

rarsa if you can make a dotpup for the menu than we can release these packages for general puppy use.

thanks for helping out

the dotpup can be downloaded from
http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?cat=other&file=xfce.pup
xfce2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   102.17 KB
 Viewed   4419 Time(s)

xfce2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 15:58    Post subject:  

I'm working on that right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 16:49    Post subject: minimum system requirements  

i would like to know what are the minimum system requirements for
xfce 3.8 and xfce 4.2.2

i believe xfce 4.2.2 would run slowly on older boxes and there xfce 3.8 can be used. the compete installation of xfce 3.8 takes about 5.0 mb , if stripped down will be much smaller and usable on older boxes.

i would like to know your opinions and experiences.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 17:08    Post subject:  

Fine Smile

2 things:

1. Some of my past Dotpups use imlib2.
XFCE4-Dotpup overwrites libimlib2 with an incompatible version.
To get it working again, simply re-install imlib2: http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/download.php?id=840
XFCE4 still works with that version.

2. XFCE uses "xfdesktop", which simply is a borderless backgroundwindow. It allows to open the XFCE-menue/Windowlist with Mousebuttons 2 and 3.

But it avoids ROX to be visible and the Puppy-Backgroundsetter from working.

So I modified .xinitrc and .xinitrc-xfce that way, that xfdesktop is not used (you can use the panel to open the menue, and the windowlist is not really needed because of the taskbar).
I also deactivated the cursor-entries, so that XFCE works with the Highcolor-cursors: http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2714


With these modifications XFCE works very fine for me, except one thing:
When you start a program in the panel, the cursor becomes a clock (waiting) for some seconds, even if the application already started. Strange, but not a real problem.

Dotpup attached: modified .xinitrc and .xinitrc-xfce

Mark
xfce4_with_rox-startupfiles.pup
Description 
pup

 Download 
Filename  xfce4_with_rox-startupfiles.pup 
Filesize  7.16 KB 
Downloaded  530 Time(s) 
xfce_rox.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.61 KB
 Viewed   4417 Time(s)

xfce_rox.jpg


Last edited by MU on Thu 27 Oct 2005, 06:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
data

Joined: 15 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 20:58    Post subject:  

I downloaded and installed pup file but how do I start xfce?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 21:36    Post subject:  

Here is the puppyfied xfce menu.

I'm working on the translator from JWM to Xfce4, right now it's hard coded.

Just extract it with
Code:
tar -xvzPf xfce-menu.tar.gz


It will put the file menu.xml into /root/.config/xfce4/desktop

I think that instead of a separate dotpup you should include it along with MU's modifications with your Xfce dotpup.

I mean, how usefull is xfce without being able to access the applications.
xfce-menu.tar.gz
Description  Puppyfied xfce4 menu
gz

 Download 
Filename  xfce-menu.tar.gz 
Filesize  3.5 KB 
Downloaded  456 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 22:02    Post subject:  

data wrote:
I downloaded and installed pup file but how do I start xfce?


Follow rarsas info above - might as well have the Puppy menu
Start / Exit to prompt
type xwin xfce4

Drop dead gorgeous Puppy (wolf whistles)
I have a feeling that this requires a bit more oomph from graphics and processor? So far (10 minutes) I likes it!

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dfv3

Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, CANADA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2005, 01:42    Post subject: Xfce  

I've just installed the xfce4 dotpup and the menu-builder script; but my installation is missing the icons from the sub-menus.

I've tried adding additional sub-menus (opera, etc.) with their icons --- using Xfce Settings Manager; but, is there a better way? Does anyone have a dot-pup script to transfer existing IceWM menu to Xfce4?

Aside from the above, my xfce desktop looks minimalist-cool!

Thanks,
dfv3
screenshot_xfce4.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  screenshot_xfce4.jpg 
Filesize  136.2 KB 
Downloaded  4322 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2005, 02:03    Post subject:  

Yes, I haven't finished the menu. I just posted it as quickly as possible so people could work with xfce.

I'm planning to create an JWM to Xfce4 menu converter to generate the Xfce4 dynamically at startup.

I'm wondering if it would be better altogether to do the JWM to XDG .desktop files.

Meanwhile not having icons ain't that bad, is it? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2005, 03:11    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:

Meanwhile not having icons ain't that bad, is it? Wink


My Cecil*,

Until you mentioned it, I had not noticed there were
no icons . . . (AND I have always been a big fan of icons)

With all the libraries and mods and stuff I wonder how much a complete Xfce is? I also wonder about differences in speed? It is fine on my system - though the dragging of filled windows (not just boxes) seems to "screen melt" - a concern in other Linuxes . . . throwing more hardware graphic welly at it might help?

I think I might have to add a new fav wm to my poll (clue: Xfce is very, very pleasant). Somebody recently quireied about moving the menu on the right - you can do this with Xfce.

I am gonna see about adding icons to the tool bar (I tend to move my icons to Macs default position)

Have started (see bottom of page) modifying this Puppian page:
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/wm
- which uses html in between the "" ""
this adds a level of complexity to the wiki (though it looks nice)
Smile

*Lobsters Open Source Deity "Cecil"
http://peace.wikicities.com/wiki/Cecil

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0848s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]