Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 12:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Gnome 2.20.3 SFS (Only for Puppy4)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [131 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 12:19    Post subject:  

@Eyes-Only: Blimey, I seem to be missing a lot of thread-updated-email-notifications recently, ah well, c'est la vie.

Quote:
I'm curious about something: Anyone here in this thread ever try---with a hard drive install of 4.00---mounting the Gnome.sfs file and actually going through the daunting task of a manual install of this Gnome onto the drive to see whether it should work?


Yes! Me! Mind you I had to use a tool called unsquashfs, which I found from somewhere, can't remember where, as mounting gave a version mismatch error.

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 15:12    Post subject:  

Hiya Tom!

A "version mismatch number"? HUH? How so mate? I've been able to mount the .sfs file with my ROX and I haven't gotten any mismatch readings of any sort. Just tells me it's "mounted". Or do you mean after the fact? Like... let me see now... Like when you try booting into the Gnome desktop you then get the warning?

How curiously odd!

Have you ever gotten that with any other mounted and copied over .sfs file? I ask Tom because I've done this with OpenOffice (full) and I think it was the Xfce... never any problems there.

Thanks for your time Tom. Smile

Oh! And I'm not really sure whether I am going to do it or not. Godfrey! I've got so many desktops now on Puppy I think I classify as a bonafide "desktop junkie" now! LOL! I lack just the Gnome, KDE, and e17... I've got everything else offered around here. Wink Hmm... next pursuit? A bonafide incorporation of a session manager perhaps like XDM? LOL!

Cheers mate! And thanks for your time and input!

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 15:39    Post subject:  

Hiya Eyes-Only,

Oh right, I mean when I tried something like,

Code:
mount -o loop gnome.sfs /mnt/tmp


it said something like,

Code:
the SFS that you are trying to mount was compressed using a 'squasher' (I'm definitely making that word up!) version newer than than the 'unsquasher' that is available.


In the back of my mind wow says something somewhere about version 3 squashfs or something. Anyhow, before I came across the proper way to upgrade it or figure it out or whatever, I came across unsquashfs, which just automatically 'unzips', if you like, the SFS directly to a directory, without all the usual mounting, copying, then unmounting shenanigans.

Anyhow, it's all going well for me now, mostly I'm enjoying the desktop; resizeable icons, great right-click-menu integration, thumbnails, the transparent box that appears when you click and drag to select multiple icons, the little things you know.

Best Wishes,
tom Smile

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 17:17    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Have you gotten Gnome Commander or some other two-pane file manager to work in this distribution?

Well, yes. I was about to include gnome-commander to this SFS (test02) but if you have too many partitions (as I am) the main window becomes too wide, this was a bit annoying so I decided to remove it.
You can always try to compile it by yourself. I can't remember if it has more dependencies than gnome_xxx.sfs and dev_xxx.sfs, hopefully not.

Download the source code from: http://www.nongnu.org/gcmd/

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 20:07    Post subject:  

Eyes-Only wrote:
I've got everything else offered around here. Wink Hmm... next pursuit?
Did you try out virtual PC's f.e. in qemu?
Very interesting.
In this way I am running now puppy, openSUSE, ubuntu, kubuntu.
Qemu runs on my XP PC.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2008, 11:08    Post subject:  

@Beem: Actually, mon ami, when I'd written "my next persuit?" I meant for a desktop in my Puppy. Embarassed As for using VM, it's actually not something that interests me. I don't know how to describe "why not?" though. Sorry!

I do have a virtual machine which came installed with my Parsix (which I use about as much, if not moreso, than Puppy) but I've never bothered starting it up.

I've actually tried nearly all the major distros out there at one time or another over the past three years---some several times and for several months at that (I have a lot of free time on my hands where I don't work, ouais?). But Puppy, in one form or another, has always been my "base", or "default" distro really because of how quickly I can set it up (matter of minutes even with changes), get going, and later on configure it as much as I want and to my heart's content until nobody would even guess it was Puppy. LOL!

Oh yes: And no Windows on this computer. This was built as a Linux-only box. It doesn't know what Windows is. Wink My other computer had 2000 on it but I had them remove it years ago when I got it for 98se---and then I stripped that to the "bare bones" to create my own computer and desktop which ran off the Windows files (.dlls, .libs, etc.) and I used mainly OpenSource for programmes... For my desktop environment then I used AstonShell. Very nice! Smile

Seems so long ago... -sigh-

Amicalement mon ami,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge d'Acadie"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2008, 11:47    Post subject:  

WOW

Thanks, I compiled and installed Gnome Commander 1.2.7 with the source from the link you provided using Pup 4.1 alpha 7. It works perfectly and did not require any additional dependencies.

EDIT: Tried it with Pup 400 and got the following:
# ./configure
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/ginstall -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... ./install-sh -c -d
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
configure: error: gnome-doc-utils >= 0.3.2 not found
I'll not try to do any more with Pup 400 since 4.1 should be released this month and it works fine with the alpha.


Thanks again,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 13:18    Post subject:  

Eyes-Only wrote:
@Beem: Actually, mon ami, when I'd written "my next persuit?" I meant for a desktop in my Puppy. Embarassed As for using VM, it's actually not something that interests me. I don't know how to describe "why not?" though. Sorry!

I do have a virtual machine which came installed with my Parsix (which I use about as much, if not moreso, than Puppy) but I've never bothered starting it up.

I've actually tried nearly all the major distros out there at one time or another over the past three years---some several times and for several months at that (I have a lot of free time on my hands where I don't work, ouais?). But Puppy, in one form or another, has always been my "base", or "default" distro really because of how quickly I can set it up (matter of minutes even with changes), get going, and later on configure it as much as I want and to my heart's content until nobody would even guess it was Puppy. LOL!

Oh yes: And no Windows on this computer. This was built as a Linux-only box. It doesn't know what Windows is. Wink My other computer had 2000 on it but I had them remove it years ago when I got it for 98se---and then I stripped that to the "bare bones" to create my own computer and desktop which ran off the Windows files (.dlls, .libs, etc.) and I used mainly OpenSource for programmes... For my desktop environment then I used AstonShell. Very nice! Smile

Seems so long ago... -sigh-

Amicalement mon ami,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge d'Acadie"
Ne t'en fait pas.
I didn't bother about VM machines either, but now I have discovered it, it's fun.
I can try out distro's I never would try out for fear to brake my XP machine.

Amitiés.

Bernard

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alucinary


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2008, 19:09    Post subject: jwm desktop loading
Subject description: thanks a million for gnome on puppy!
 

wow wrote:
Béèm wrote:
I get first the jwm desktop for a short while and then the Gnome desktop

That's because 'xwin' runs /root/.xinitrd which start the ROX pinboard. To prevent desktop flicktering between ROX and Nautilus I added the command 'killall ROX-Filer' to the Autostart list(System(gnome menu)>Preferences>Sessions)


I am also finding that the jwm desktop is loading breifly just before the gnome one, i am running puppy 408 and tried really hard to follow your instructions to the letter, however it seems that late into the night my brain failed me and i forgot about not having a pup_save file.... :s the installation went ahead fine (after creating a linux swap partition) and gnome loaded but with the breif jwm desktop - is this purely because i had a pup_save? or is there something else im missing? i have tried altering the "killall rox-filer" order in the session settings but it always reverts to 50 and makes no difference to the boot

please let me know if i am missing something (being really nather new to puppy!) or if i simply have to start again without the pup_save...

Thanks for your help Smile

(and thanks a million times over for getting gnome onto puppy - it is awesome!)

_________________
"My Universe is what happens to my eyes and ears. Anything else is surmise and hearsay. For all I know, these people may not exist. You may not exist. I say what it occurs to me to say."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 988
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2008, 14:43    Post subject:  

@Alucinary: that "jwm desktop"(ROX's pinboard) is launched by the /root/.xinitrc script. Comment out this line in /root/.xinitrc to remove it:
Code:
#rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin

Now if you don't want to load the pinboard only for "gnome-session", add these lines just before the end:
Code:
if [ "$CURRENTWM" != "gnome-session" ];then
 rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
fi

Something like this:

Code:
if [ "$CURRENTWM" != "gnome-session" ];then
 rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
fi

#exec $CURRENTWM
#v2.11 GuestToo suggested this improvement...
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
exec jwm

###END###

Restart X.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alucinary


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Oct 2008, 09:27    Post subject:  

@ wow

Awesome! thats exactly what i needed Smile

_________________
"My Universe is what happens to my eyes and ears. Anything else is surmise and hearsay. For all I know, these people may not exist. You may not exist. I say what it occurs to me to say."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
madrunner

Joined: 02 Oct 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 02 Oct 2008, 20:21    Post subject:  

im new and need a little help i'll try to be as descriptive as humanly possible.
I downloaded the .pet first and installed it with no hitches
I then downloaded the gnome sfs into my /
I went into the System boot manager and selected the gnome sfs
I then reboot, exited X into prompt typed addgroup and adduser, i got user halaemon already exists, and already logged in.
I then typed xwin gnome-session and hit enter
my screen flashs black for a second then im right back in JWM with no changes, any help?
im on a full install of puppy4 on a 10 gig partition with basicly nothing installed yet. thank you for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Alucinary


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 05 Oct 2008, 20:03    Post subject:  

two things i did slightly different to that -

firstly i set up the user / haldaemon stuff from within the terminal while running xwin and it didnt come up with any "already exists" messages

secondly i also had to change the file "windowmanager" in /etc from jwm to gnome-session then reboot

(oh and my sfs files are in /initrid/mnt/dev_save and renamed so that the ending is _408 - or the number of your puppy version - but if your sfs has loaded then i dont think this would be the problem)

_________________
"My Universe is what happens to my eyes and ears. Anything else is surmise and hearsay. For all I know, these people may not exist. You may not exist. I say what it occurs to me to say."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Malachi

Joined: 30 Oct 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 30 Oct 2008, 20:33    Post subject:  

Okay, I'm a complete Puppy newbie... My laptop only has 191 MB of RAM, and I'm loving the speed (I never knew this old thing could be so fast!). However, the interface really leaves a lot to be desired...

Anyway, to "complete" my perfect OS, I wanted to try gnome on Puppy, but I don't think I have enough RAM to do it...

First, I downloaded the .sfs file and put it onto my hard drive, where the save file is, then deleted that save. I rebooted, entered those commands in the terminal, then downloaded the .PET file. I opened it, but it said I didn't have enough space. So, what do I do?

To anyone who can help me, thank you in advanced! Even if I can't get this resolved, I'll still be a Puppy fanatic Wink .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 30 Oct 2008, 21:35    Post subject:  

Malachi,
The mesage means you don't have enough space to expend and install the pet. Now you got two numbers, one saying what you still have left and one which is needed. Unfortunately the numbers speak of n° of blocks not MB. I think you can divide the numbers by 1024 to have the MB figure and then you can calculate how many MB you need.
In utility you will find 'resize your personal storage'.
Execute this and increase with the n° of MB calculated.
Reboot after this and try the install again.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [131 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1063s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]